Author Topic: Scoring Question  (Read 3045 times)

Offline Spamless

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Merit: 0
    • View Profile
Scoring Question
« on: April 07, 2013, 02:00:46 PM »
Hey I am a relatively new player to carcassonne and I just have a quick question on scoring for cities.  Namely when a city is completed with a tile with that has 2 city end caps.  When you finish a city with one of these tile be it the one with the caps on opposite ends or the one where the caps are on two of the four corners.  My question is when you one of these tiles to finish a city if both parts of that same tile cap off 2 separate parts of the same city do you count the points two times as if you had finished two cities or is it only counted as one?

Linkback: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=228.0

Offline koschei

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Merit: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring Question
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2013, 02:38:17 PM »
Scoring is Always for the tile
You just count the tile for 2 Points not  the separate parts of the city on that tile.

Offline Spamless

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Merit: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring Question
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2013, 02:49:47 PM »
If the tile had completed 2 cities it is also only counted as one as well in that instance right?

Offline koschei

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Merit: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring Question
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2013, 02:52:44 PM »
Nope the tile is counted 1 time for each city i.e two times

Offline Spamless

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Merit: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring Question
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2013, 03:38:26 PM »
OK so so if you complete one city by capping it in two places with 1 tile you only count it one time.  If the one tile used completes 2 separate cities it is counted twice, once for each city.  Do I got that right now lol?  Me and a friend were playing and this scenario arose and we couldn't locate an answer in the rules although it is possible I missed it.

Thanks for the help and quick responses.  I am so glad to have found a board game that actually combines strategy game elements without becoming to intricate for younger players to pick up and enjoy as well.

Offline Scott

  • Administrator
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2516
  • Merit: 66
    • View Profile
    • CarcassonneCentral
Re: Scoring Question
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2013, 04:25:30 PM »
This situation is illustrated at the top of page 12 of the Complete Annotated Rules. When both city segments on a tile are in a single city, they only count as one segment.

Offline Carcking

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1853
  • Merit: 31
  • I call Red!
    • View Profile
Re: Scoring Question
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2013, 04:29:46 PM »
Correct, any tile only counts one time for each feature - no matter how many segments of the feature are on the tile.

...and welcome to the CC forum!
I just drew the perfect tile for my MonKnighThieFarmer!


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
question
Scoring Question

Started by dsegel

15 Replies
3331 Views
Last post May 06, 2017, 01:40:54 PM
by Willem
clip
Scoring Question

Started by dsegel

2 Replies
1127 Views
Last post February 22, 2017, 01:29:41 PM
by Chuck
xx
Castle scoring question

Started by RitaC

1 Replies
1448 Views
Last post April 19, 2015, 07:35:54 PM
by DLloyd09
xx
newbie question about scoring

Started by ngkeith

9 Replies
3407 Views
Last post April 10, 2016, 08:12:27 AM
by SRBO
xx
Castle scoring with a witch in that adjacent city question.

Started by Paul

1 Replies
1837 Views
Last post April 19, 2014, 09:59:09 PM
by Carcking