Author Topic: Tower, Builder, Phantom combo  (Read 1013 times)

Offline PapaGeek

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 293
  • Merit: 18
  • The box needs a highly addictive warning label
    • View Profile
Tower, Builder, Phantom combo
« on: June 03, 2022, 07:49:08 PM »
Would this be a legal move?

I draw a CCRR tile which I can add to the City that contains my Builder.  The tile also completes an unoccupied road. Two of my opponents are also building a large shared city on a different location on the map.

I do not place my meeple on the newly completed road, instead a place a Tower Floor on a tower base that is next to shared large city and capture one of my opponent’s meeples. Then I place my Phantom on the completed road to score an instant 3 points and get my Phantom back.

Now for my Builder Second Turn:
I am lucky and draw a tile that will complete what was the large shared city at the start of my turn.  Instead of placing the second turn meeple, I place another Tower Floor on the tower base and capture the second opponent’s meeple from the large city. Finally I place my Phantom (which I just got back) on the new tile to capture the large city for myself. Then, in the second turn scoring phase, I score the large city and get my Phantom back.

This sounds too good to be true, but I think it does follow all of the rules!

Totally addicted to this game

Offline corinthiens13

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 1004
  • Merit: 48
    • View Profile
    • Divider cards for C1 & C2 / C3 both in French & English:
Re: Tower, Builder, Phantom combo
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2022, 08:53:34 PM »
It's a legal move, note that both of your opponent's meeples have to be aligned with the tower  :yellow-meeple:

Offline PapaGeek

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 293
  • Merit: 18
  • The box needs a highly addictive warning label
    • View Profile
Re: Tower, Builder, Phantom combo
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2022, 12:02:20 AM »
Let me expand a little on my first post!

If a player has a Meeple and their Builder on a feature, and another player places a Tower Floor and captures their Meeple; does their builder remain on the feature, or is it returned to that player's supply? If it does remain on the feature, does it prevent other players from placing their meeple on the feature?

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6352
  • Merit: 456
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Tower, Builder, Phantom combo
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2022, 12:11:17 AM »
As soon as the opponent's last meeple leaves the city, the builder would also be removed. The builder (and the pig) cannot be alone on a feature. They require to be along with a meeple from the same player.
Questions about rules? Check WICA:

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Count Chevalier
  • **
  • Posts: 2243
  • Merit: 31
  • Fan of Fan expansions
    • View Profile
Re: Tower, Builder, Phantom combo
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2022, 06:40:00 AM »
Ha. Imagine this situation.
You have meeole and builder in city.
With some expansion (tower, princes, vodyanoy, etc ) other player remove your last meeple from that city.
Imagine that you builder will kept there.
If some player will block that city for finishing, you'll be not able to get your builder back and also you will not get any points from builder because in that city is your power zero because none of your meeole is in city.

Odoslané z SM-A202F pomocou Tapatalku

Check JCloisterZone Add-ons with fan expansions and also some Slovak sci/fi projects in English

Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
quirky Spiele 2020 barn combo ...

Started by cicerunner

7 Replies
Last post November 24, 2020, 05:17:38 AM
by Decar
Is this combo legal? (Bridges, Castles & Bazaar)

Started by Piancol

3 Replies
Last post April 03, 2020, 01:52:03 AM
by Meepledrone
Tower and Builder, and Shepherd questions

Started by MrNumbers

12 Replies
Last post July 07, 2014, 12:04:28 PM
by kettlefish
Tower and Phantom

Started by SRBO

16 Replies
Last post January 05, 2015, 03:23:08 PM
by obervet
What if a player draws a tower tile but they don't have any more tower floors?

Started by carca82

5 Replies
Last post September 27, 2022, 01:12:49 AM
by Bumsakalaka