Author Topic: The Count and Hills  (Read 293 times)

Offline carcie

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Merit: 3
  • I can C it all
    • View Profile
The Count and Hills
« on: October 14, 2021, 03:31:56 PM »
So I just played a competitive game of Carcassonne, combining Hills & Sheep and the Count mini-expansion, among others. While playing I stumbled upon the following case:

A city containing a hill is scored by red. Red’s meeple is on a normal (no hill) city tile. Blue has a meeple in the city of Carcassonne in the castle district and the count is not present there. Therefore, blue is now allowed to move his meeple to the just finished city to partake in scoring. Is he allowed to claim majority by placing his meeple on the hill tile of the city?

I hope someone can explain! Thanks.

Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5504.0

Offline corinthiens13

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 762
  • Merit: 43
    • View Profile
    • Order of play in french with every major expansions, mini expansions and promo tiles :
Re: The Count and Hills
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2021, 03:48:11 PM »
Order of play in french with every major expansions, minis and promos:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=346

Divider cards for CI & CII both in French & English:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=535

Online Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 4091
  • Merit: 263
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: The Count and Hills
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2021, 04:05:23 PM »
Yes, of course. Once the city is completed, all the players in turn will be able to move any number of meeples from the cathedral district in Carcassonne to the city right before scoring (in clockwise order starting from the player to the left of the active player, who will be the last one to place meeples). You can choose any tile of the competed city to do so.

As indicated in this clarification about the interaction between Exp. 6 and Exp. 9:

https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Hills_%26_Sheep#Hills_2

Quote
Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber: You may deploy a meeple from from the city of Carcassonne on a hill tile with a feature about to be evaluated. If you do, you gain the benefit of the hill.

So, Red had the majority in the city until Blue deployed a meeple to the city from the cathedral district. If Blue had chose a non-hill tile, both players would share the city and score points for it. However, if Blue places the meeple on the city tile with a hill, the hill would grant the majority to Blue and only Blue would score for the city.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2021, 04:08:16 PM by Meepledrone »
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline carcie

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Merit: 3
  • I can C it all
    • View Profile
Re: The Count and Hills
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2021, 01:21:16 AM »
Thanks both. Apparently I should just have visited the WICA for Hills instead of the Count.

Online Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 4091
  • Merit: 263
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: The Count and Hills
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2021, 01:39:35 AM »
For interactions, it is better to check always both expansions, since sometimes the clarification you are looking for may be included in only one of them. We try to replicate them when we notice one of these cases.

However, clarifications for mini expansions usually are kept in the mini only. Especially in C2, where HiG is not so prolific in clarifications about interactions with other expansions.

BTW, Exp. 6 page updated! Thanks! ;D
« Last Edit: October 15, 2021, 01:44:55 AM by Meepledrone »

Online Bumsakalaka

  • Chatelain
  • ******
  • Posts: 1236
  • Merit: 15
  • Fan of Fan expansions
    • View Profile
    • www.scifi.sk
Re: The Count and Hills
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2021, 04:45:37 AM »
Nice. I never look to Count this way. This case can be also used for Watchtowers! Or Ringmaster bonus. Nice!

Online Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 4091
  • Merit: 263
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: The Count and Hills
« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2021, 08:07:21 AM »
Certainly... you can steal a feature (imagine deploying a mayor onto a yummy city) and/or trigger bonuses during scoring as you mentioned.

Bear in mind that you can also deploy a meeple onto an unoccupied feature. So you could land a meeple on a unoccupied monastery just completed and score for it. You name it.

Have fun!


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
The Count of Carcassonne - Count Robber and King Expansion 6 deployment

Started by JoeSesquipedalian

4 Replies
4598 Views
Last post September 07, 2015, 04:49:49 AM
by JoeSesquipedalian
xx
Sheep & Hills - question regarding Hills

Started by Carcking

4 Replies
3500 Views
Last post May 02, 2014, 08:58:14 PM
by Scott
xx
Sheeps and Hills II... tiles and rules

Started by aenima

5 Replies
1970 Views
Last post February 06, 2018, 05:59:14 AM
by Decar
xx
WTB: Carcassonne I (Old design) - Hills & Sheep and Bridges, Castles and Bazaars

Started by ali3na

1 Replies
879 Views
Last post February 14, 2019, 01:11:45 AM
by Halfling
xx
WTS: The Count and River II in original art

Started by Halfling

0 Replies
604 Views
Last post April 18, 2019, 02:11:20 PM
by Halfling