Author Topic: When can I move a ferry?  (Read 6133 times)

Offline Andreas

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
When can I move a ferry?
« on: February 05, 2015, 07:35:27 AM »
I have a ferry tile with 3 piers, and one white wooden piece that interconnect two them. If  I build a road that connects to the third pier, the unconnected one, can I then change the connection do my road gets connected with one of the other two piers?

In the rules for ferries it's stated that "Whenever a player extends a road that contains one or more ferries...". I'm not sure whether I should interpret this as "one or more ferry tiles" or "one or more white wooden pieces".

Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=1505.0

Offline obervet

  • Moderator
  • Count
  • *
  • Posts: 362
  • Merit: 36
    • View Profile
Re: When can I move a ferry?
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2015, 07:52:46 AM »
The ferry is the wooden piece itself. Thus, movement of a ferry (wooden piece) is only allowed when a road on the new tile connects to the wooden piece. A road connected to an empty pier will not allow movement of the wooden piece. (See CAR v. 7.3, p. 148, fn 442)

The tiles themselves are referred to as "tiles with lakes" (not "ferry tiles") to try to help reduce confusion. Of course, there is still possible confusion with "tiles with inns by lakes," so nothing's perfect.

Offline DLloyd09

  • Vassal
  • *****
  • Posts: 91
  • Merit: 2
    • View Profile
Re: When can I move a ferry?
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2015, 07:53:39 AM »
Edit: obervet beat me to it by a few seconds!

No, that's not allowed -- your second suggested interpretation is the right one. The road has to include the ferry piece in order for it to be moved. If the road ends at the lake, it doesn't "include" the ferry. (S-CAR 7.3, p.148 fn.442)

Good question, though!

Offline obervet

  • Moderator
  • Count
  • *
  • Posts: 362
  • Merit: 36
    • View Profile
Re: When can I move a ferry?
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2015, 07:55:50 AM »
Ha ha! Rules ninja gets there first!

Offline BabyGamer

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 227
  • Merit: 12
  • Aloha! =^_^=
    • View Profile
Re: When can I move a ferry?
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2015, 08:48:55 AM »

I have problems with ferries too!!  :(

They are sometimes very hard to handle.. and placing meeples, so then there will be 2 meeples on same road, that has a ferry... hmm... problematic.  :-\

Offline Carcking

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1853
  • Merit: 33
  • I call Red!
    • View Profile
Re: When can I move a ferry?
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2015, 09:01:15 AM »
...so then there will be 2 meeples on same road, that has a ferry... hmm... problematic.  :-\

This is one of the strategic jewels of the expansion. Glomming onto your neighbor's road in a sneaky way!   >:D
I just drew the perfect tile for my MonKnighThieFarmer!

Offline Andreas

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: When can I move a ferry?
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2015, 10:55:21 PM »
Thanks a lot guys!  :(y)

Offline jungleboy

  • Viscount Chevalier
  • ****
  • Posts: 3040
  • Merit: 89
  • Nine points!
    • View Profile
    • English in 10 Minutes
Re: When can I move a ferry?
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2015, 11:24:14 PM »
Edit: obervet beat me to it by a few seconds!

No, that's not allowed -- your second suggested interpretation is the right one. The road has to include the ferry piece in order for it to be moved. If the road ends at the lake, it doesn't "include" the ferry. (S-CAR 7.3, p.148 fn.442)

Good question, though!

We had been playing this wrongly before this thread started - we were allowing players to move the ferry whenever they placed a road tile that connected to the lake, regardless of whether the ferry itself was connected to that road. Last time we played the proper rules, but to be honest I prefer the first way because it brings the expansion into the game more. So we might house-rule it this way from now on.

Offline MrNumbers

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1828
  • Merit: 91
    • View Profile
    • Carcassonne Latvia
Re: When can I move a ferry?
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2015, 11:36:16 PM »
We had been playing this wrongly before this thread started - we were allowing players to move the ferry whenever they placed a road tile that connected to the lake, regardless of whether the ferry itself was connected to that road. Last time we played the proper rules, but to be honest I prefer the first way because it brings the expansion into the game more. So we might house-rule it this way from now on.

But this doesn't make any sense! How can you move a ferry, if you cannot reach it? Be more realistic! :))
"I never lose. Either I win or I learn." (Nelson Mandela)

Offline jungleboy

  • Viscount Chevalier
  • ****
  • Posts: 3040
  • Merit: 89
  • Nine points!
    • View Profile
    • English in 10 Minutes
Re: When can I move a ferry?
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2015, 11:44:44 PM »
We had been playing this wrongly before this thread started - we were allowing players to move the ferry whenever they placed a road tile that connected to the lake, regardless of whether the ferry itself was connected to that road. Last time we played the proper rules, but to be honest I prefer the first way because it brings the expansion into the game more. So we might house-rule it this way from now on.

But this doesn't make any sense! How can you move a ferry, if you cannot reach it? Be more realistic! :))

Haha. Well it's a ferry and not a bridge (although it looks and functions more like a bridge). So I just call out to the ferryman and he comes to pick me up. All his passengers are thieves anyway so it doesn't really matter to him :)

Offline MrNumbers

  • Global Moderator
  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1828
  • Merit: 91
    • View Profile
    • Carcassonne Latvia
Re: When can I move a ferry?
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2015, 11:47:50 PM »
So I just call out to the ferryman and he comes to pick me up.

Mobile phones in Middle Ages? :o :))

Offline jungleboy

  • Viscount Chevalier
  • ****
  • Posts: 3040
  • Merit: 89
  • Nine points!
    • View Profile
    • English in 10 Minutes
Re: When can I move a ferry?
« Reply #11 on: February 26, 2015, 05:44:57 AM »


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
You can move back a tile ?

Started by jma03

4 Replies
2785 Views
Last post March 03, 2015, 03:11:44 AM
by jma03
xx
The Fairy - can I move it when I have no followers left to place?

Started by saery

1 Replies
1601 Views
Last post September 16, 2015, 08:34:36 PM
by Fritz_Spinne
xx
Expansion Ferry

Started by Bartari

4 Replies
493 Views
Last post December 07, 2020, 04:23:20 AM
by Meepledrone
xx
Any suggested house rules for Ferry + Robber Baron?

Started by jvnoledawg

6 Replies
4666 Views
Last post April 15, 2013, 08:27:46 AM
by Carcking
xx
Wagon move after the turn

Started by MrNumbers

2 Replies
1815 Views
Last post July 14, 2015, 01:53:05 PM
by farin