Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Topics - Meepledrone

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5
1
General / New Logo for WICA
« on: January 19, 2022, 01:03:52 PM »
Dear all,

As commented here, we were thinking of updating the WICA logo. Based on the same idea as Carcassonne Central, it shares the same little icon displayed on browser tabs. As a consequence, you cannot tell apart tabs with CarcC and WICA pages, which is very common in my case. ???

Snearone volunteered for the task right away (Thank you so much! ;D) and he sent us a bunch of different options. You can see a nice showcase of the ones Sinscerly and I liked best... We would like to share them with you so you can also cast you vote and help us pick one.

The new options show a dark blue background decorated the a filigree inspired by the back of the tiles and the C2 rulebooks. This dark blue background, which echoes the design of the 20th Anniversary Edition, serves as perfect contrast for a capital letter in gold or silver with a polished metallic finish adding some relief. The are two options for the letter as well: A "C" represesenting the letter on the back of the tiles or a "W" as a reference to WikiCarpedia or WICA.

The animated image below presents 5 options:
0 - Current one: no change
1 - Golden C
2 - Golden W
3 - Silver C
4 - Silver W

Please let us now your preference. Thank you in advance for your help!


2
ML07. For each scoring of a completed monastery (as well for monasteries of other players), each player with a meeple in the Bookbinders quarter will receive 4 bonus points. Does this only apply to occupied completed monasteries or do players also receive the bonus for unoccupied completed monasteries?


Example: Red completes an unoccupied monastery. Does Red receive the Bookbinders quarter bonus for this monastery?

3
ML06. Let’s assume multiple roads are completed and scored on the same turn a meeple on one of them is sent to the Wainwrights quarter. Which option is the correct one?
   A. Only the road with the meeple sent to Leipzig may get the Wainwrights bonus. No other road in the current turn may receive the bonus.
   B. All the roads may get the Wainwrights quarter bonus. All the roads scored in the current turn may benefit from the bonus right away, but the one sending the meeple to Leipzig has to comply with the conditions for the edge case (the road would need more than one meeple on it to score and get the bonus).
   C. It depends on the order the roads are scored:
       a. Those roads scored before the one used to send a meeple to Leipzig will not get the bonus.
       b. The road sending the meeple to Leipzig only if it complies with the edge case.
       c. The roads scored after the one sending the meeple to Leipzig will get the bonus.
   D. Another option. Please explain.


Example: Red completes two roads with the same tile and sends a meeple from one of them to the Wainwrights quarter. Can Red get the Wainwrights quarter bonus for the other road in the same turn?

Current understanding:
* We assume answer A for the time being. We assume all the bonuses are not active until the following turn (or round of scoring on a double turn). Only the edge case for the Wainwrights quarter bonus is the exception.

4
Official Rules / Clarification of rules (The Gifts) - with HiG - 17 12 2021
« on: December 17, 2021, 04:06:17 PM »
I sent a question about The Gifts to Cundco and we got the following clarification from Johannes Natterer and Andreas Kramer (HiG).

Following Kettlefish's tradition...

Question in BLUE

Answer in GREEN

Still open in RED

My own comments in  MAROON

5
ML02. When sending a meeple to Leipzig, a meeple has to be on a road connected to Leipzig via villages. If any crossroads is occupied by trees instead, the connection is not possible and the meeple will not be allowed to be sent to Leipzig.


Example: The meeple on the road connected to Leipzig via a crossroads with trees cannot be sent to Leipzig.
 
Current understanding:
* The rules require villages so trees or any other feature (monasteries, castles, crop circles, the Bogatyr stone, bazaars, festival fairs…) on a crossroads will not be allowed.

Proposals:
* Comunity Rule clarifying this case

6
ML01. Any meeple on a road can be sent to Leipzig. Is it correct?


Example: Any meeple valid for a road could be sent to Leipzig.

Current understanding:
* We are assuming that any meeple participating in the scoring of a road could be sent to Leipzig (normal meeples, large meeple, wagon, ringmaster, phantom)

Proposals:
* Community Rule covering this generalization, although it is a direct conclusion of the rules.

7
ML10. The rules state that the Tanners quarter bonus is applied to fields during final scoring. Should this bonus be applied to fields scored with the barn at the end of the game?


Example: Does Red receive the Tanners quarter bonus for field with a barn scored after the game?

Notes:
* The rules were designed with the base game in mind, so we would like to verify if this limitation was caused by this fact or it should be extended to the barn scoring after the game.

Current understanding:
* We are considering the explicit limitation in the rules, so we are only applying the Tanners quarter bonus to fields scored after the game.
* The barn will not benefit from the Tanners quarter bonus since the bonus is only applicable to fields being scored by farmers.

See also:
* Discussion thread:
    https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5595.0

Proposals:
* No additional actions needed

8
ML09. The rules state that the Tanners quarter bonus is applied to fields during final scoring. Should this bonus be applied to other field scorings happening during the game, e.g. when placing a barn or connecting a field with a barn?


Example: Does Red receive the Tanners quarter bonus for this farmer scored during the game?

Notes:
* The rules were designed with the base game in mind, so we would like to verify if this limitation (only affecting fields at the end of the game) was caused by this fact or it should be extended to other field scorings during the game.

Current understanding:
* We are considering the explicit limitation in the rules, so we are only applying the Tanners quarter bonus to fields scored after the game.

See also:
* Discussion thread:
  https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5595.0

Proposals:
* Community Rule to extend the Tanners quarter bonus to fields scored during the game, for example, triggered by barns or Message #8.

9
AB05. As indicated in the 20th Anniversary Edition rules, you remove the abbot in 2. Placing a meeple but you score it in 3. Scoring a feature. This means that, if you placed a dragon tile, you will be able to remove the abbot before the dragon moves, and you will score it afterwards. Is it correct?


Example: The placement of the dragon tile will trigger the movement of the dragon. Since the garden is not completed, Red would be able to remove their abbot before the dragon moves, and score the points for the abbot afterwards

Notes:
* Deferring the scoring of the abbot until 3. Scoring a feature represents a change from the turn sequence included in Big Box 6. ZMG explicitly indicated that the abbot was scored in 2. Placing a meeple.
* This change would also override a clarification provided by Georg Wild in 3/2015 (please ignore the references to Messages):
Quote
The scoring occurs immediately after the Abbot was taken back (move wood phase). That means, the dragon can't eat the Abbot and the Messages gets again a scoring round. After that the normal scoring phase takes place (score finished features).
* This change also overrides the turn sequence in Big Box 6:


Current understanding:
* After the latest clarifications about the scoring of the abbot, we are assuming the abbot is removed in 2. Placing a meeple but its points are scored in 3. Scoring a feature.
* As a result, a player may remove the abbot before the dragon moves, and score the points for the abbot after the dragon movement has ended.

10
Community Rules (Meepledrone & Friends) / The Abbot - Role on a garden
« on: December 07, 2021, 09:35:57 AM »
AB01. An abbot placed on a monastery is a monk, but what is the role of an abbot placed on a garden?


Example: Placing the abbot on a garden. We don’t know its role.

Notes:
* This is relevant for the Inquisition event of the Wheel of Fortune whereby players receive 2 points for each monk they have.

Current understanding:
* An abbots placed on a garden should not be considered a monk since the feature is not a monastery.

Proposals:
* Community role indicating the abbot placed on a garden is not a monk but a gardener (or an abbot).
* Avoid any confusion with meeples placed as abbots on special monasteries (if the abbot role is also considered)

EDIT: Included proposal summary

11
Community Rules (Meepledrone & Friends) / Base Game - Table edges
« on: December 07, 2021, 09:03:33 AM »
BG01. During a game, the playing area may reach the edge of the table. Should those open road and city
edges facing the edge of the table be considered as closed? What about features like monasteries that
cannot be completely surrounded by tiles? Put in other words, should the edge of the table be considered as
the border of a Carcassonne Map?


Example: Several features at the edge of the table cannot be completed, since the playing area cannot be extended to close them. Should city 1, monastery 2 and road 3 be considered as completed features the same as if placed on the border of a Carcassonne Map?

Notes:
* This is relevant because this situation can happen in official competitions and there are cases where an extra table cannot be added to extend the playing area.

Current understanding:
* The playing area has no limit, so tile edges are not considered closed when at the edge of the table. Therefore, city 1, monastery 2 and road 3 in the example above should be considered uncompleted features.
* When reaching the edge of the table, players may make more room if required and/or possible:
   * The table should be extended if possible (adding another table)
   * The tiles on the board could be shifted unless otherwise agreed at the beginning of the game.
   
Proposals:
* No additional Community Rule is necessary
* Rewording of the "Use of a Table" on WICA could be advisable.
   https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Base_game#Use_of_a_table

EDIT: Included additional info

12
A recurring discussion on this forum is how HiG does not provide clarifications about some open issues in the rules and even less if they involve interactions with minor expansions.

Since 2016, a disclaimer is included in the rulebooks of all the mini expansions stating their will be no official rules or clarifications when combining the mini expansion with others... What I call (tongue in cheek) the Prime Directive:
Quote
This expansion has been developed for the Carcassonne basic game. All the basic game rules still apply. You can combine it with other expansions - but at your own risk – that is, there will be no official rules for these combinations.

This is really frustrating since you may feel like combining several of them in a game. And you can't get an simple answer from HiG (after more than a year asking) about scenarios as trivial as the abbot and the dragon when combined... First answer: we should not answer your question, since it involves a mini expansion (The Abbot)... Come on! It comes with the base game... You should address all its interactions properly.

For more than a year, I've trying different approaches to get questions from HiG though Christof Tisch, Andreas Kramer and since January 2021 though Jonannes Natterer on Discord (#rules-questions channel). The latter helped us (Bumsakalaka and Sinscerly were also pushing there for answers) a lot but the channel went silent and dozens of questions remained unanswered... After several months Johannes asked me to put all my questions in a document and send it to him by email. I did so and added all the other pending questions I had...  This was the end of September 2021. I have updated the document twice since and have some additional questions for them...

It's been a busy year for HiG full of challenges and production issues... and Paleo's success. So I understand it would take them some time (if not a long time) to reply... If they comply in the end.

My list of questions is a mix of open issues affecting one expansions and tons of questions about (forbidden shameful I interactions. So the Prime Directive may be the answer to many of them.

So this morning Danisthirty suggested again to prepare a set of unofficial clarifications (Meepledrone & Friends, or MDF for short as it was coined on the spot) to cover all those open issues not addressed by HiG. Some sort of companion set of rules approved by the Community that would go beyond the realm of house rules (not just a particular rules tweak). This concept of Community Rules was first suggested by Decar when we had to integrate the clarifications from 10/2015 affecting Halflings into WICA (these clarifications are now obsolete by the way). Back then we noticed that these clarifications fell short, so some gaps had to filled in to cover all the expansions not considered directly in the clarifications.

I will create some threads covering different topics in this board away from official and unofficial clarifications. I will be pulling materials from the document I prepared for HiG (so this endeavor can be useful after all). Your comments are most welcome. Hope the experience and the outcome will be useful to all.

13
Quizzes, Puzzles and Challenges / Carcassonne Central: Advent Quiz MMXXI
« on: November 29, 2021, 03:00:47 AM »
Hi all,

For those unaware of what it is really going on, I will just break it for you: Christmas is coming!!! Again... So does Winter... at least in the Northern Hemisphere!

In preparation of the coming events, here at Carcassonne Central, a lot is happening behind the scenes. The Meeple Council is in session discussing whether phantoms should be allowed to be acrobats...

This is just a smoke screen, because the real agenda for today is...

The Advent Calendar Quiz MMXXI

Stay tuned, because on December 1st you have a date... Ahem... a date with DESTINY'S CHILD!

14
The Marketplace / Sheet with 3 sets of Russian Promos on sale
« on: November 21, 2021, 01:59:04 AM »
These days we can find a punchboard with 3 sets of Russian Promos at a bargain price: €250 (negotiable). The offer is on eBay-Kleinanzeigen:

https://www.ebay-kleinanzeigen.de/s-anzeige/promo-for-carcassonne-original-sheet-/1938484910-23-8868?utm_source=sharesheet&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=socialbuttons&utm_content=app_android

Anyone interested?  :o

15
Today I exchanged some emails with Hobby World about the Solovei Razboynik and Vodyanoy tiles, and these are the clarifications I got from the designer of the tiles.

Following Kettlefish's tradition...

Question in BLUE

Answer in GREEN

Still open in RED

My own comments in  MAROON

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5