Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - obervet

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 22
Thank you for all of these clarifications, kettlefish! However, there are two of the rulings that i don't like.

11. Can the abbot from Carcassonne II be placed on a tower? (Presumably not, since he must be played to a monastery or garden.)
The figure Abbot is a follower. That means the Abbot can be placed on a tower, but it is a waste to abstain from the special property of the Abbot. Also it would not easy to put the Abbot on the top of a tower tile.

As has been noted in comments above, this contradicts the base rule that the abbot must be placed on either a cloister or garden. It also contradicts previous clarifications regarding other limited followers (mayor, wagon). I don't have a problem with the abbot using a "movement feature" (flier or magic portal), since he doesn't end up on that feature, but it doesn't make sense to end up on a feature/structure that is outside the basic text of his rule. If we say that we can put an abbot on a tower, why can't he go in a city? Followers can go there, too.

14. What happens when a player is in possession of the Teacher, and another (unoccupied) road from the school is completed before any points are scored? Presumably the holder of the Teacher receives those points for the unoccupied road, as other expansions (castles, Count) indicate that all completed features “score,” even if nobody receives the points.
No, there are no points for the player who finished the (unoccupied) school road and also no scoring points for the owner of the teacher. The teacher goes back to the school and the ohter player who finished the school road gets the teacher.

This is probably the correct call, but I'm still not sure that I like it.  I agree that the first holder of the teacher shouldn't get points, since the rule states that the points are awarded "when the next feature is completed and scored" (and castles and Count don't require the "scoring" part of the equation). The rule also states that the teacher is returned to the school "after scoring points with the teacher." Since that doesn't happen here, the first player should get to hold onto the teacher. BUT, the first part of the rule states that the player who completed the road obtains the teacher after scoring; it doesn't say that the player has to take the teacher from the school. In this case, the second player should actually be taking the teacher directly from the first player. The overall result is as kettlefish describes it though -- player 2 now has the teacher, and nobody got points.

Clarifications up to this point have been added to the upcoming CAR.

5a. Do half-tile holes in the map stop the chain of scoring for German and Dutch/Belgian Monasteries? (Probably not, since cloisters are complete even with only one Halfling tile.)
The triangle tiles uses the place of a regular landscape tile. That means a single triangle hole doesn't stop the rows for scoring for the German Monasteries.
Only a hole of a complete regular landscape tile interrupts the scoring.

5b.Similarly, does a Halfling gap prevent spread of the Plague in that direction? (Again, probably not, as a lone Halfling seems to have full-tile status.)

Sorry this part we didn't read - that means it is open

Please don't put two different questions into one point - then it happens that something get lost for our clarification... - It is easier for us if you use two more question points than to put many questions into one question point.

What has the plague to do with the German Monasteries?

The Plague doesn't have anything to do with the Monasteries directly. I was thinking of the Halflings as the subject of the question, so in simplest form, the question(s) would have read "How do the Halflings interact with Monasteries and the Plague in terms of apparent interruptions in the geography?" That's why I put those 2 parts in the same question. However, based on the answer to the first part, it seems that the Plague question is answered anyway (a triangle hole is functionally not a hole at all).

General / Re: Carcassonne 2.0.. poll
« on: March 12, 2015, 07:58:09 AM »
You could always use one of the other expansions that you don't usually use and decide that the special features on those are "gardens." For example, the fairs from Catapult or the bazaars from Bridges, Castles, & Bazaars could easily become house-rule surrogate "gardens."

General / Re: The Sheep – Element of the Week #26
« on: March 09, 2015, 11:27:58 AM »
Looks like they have made the correction on the ZMG - H&S on-line rules:

Tending the flock: Whenever a player places a tile that expands the field occupied by her own shepherd, she must choose one of two different actions (after placing a follower, or not, according to the normal rules):
• Grow the flock (draw another token from the bag) OR
• Gather the flock (score points)

Good catch! I hadn't noticed that ZMG had made the correction. Although going back through my files, this is ZMG's 3rd version of the rules. Version 2 had the correct sequence of events too, but some of the wording in other areas was different. In any event, I have updated the CAR.

Edit: I was incorrect about the versions of the rules. What I thought was Z-Man's 2nd version was actually wamboyil's translation from the original German. No wonder it was correct!

Official Rules / Re: New Complete Annotated Rules
« on: February 24, 2015, 02:20:30 PM »
I must say, I do not really see the point, why you do not treat German and Dutch Monasteries in just one paragraph. However footnote 515 belongs to the Dutch version, but still referees to the German one.

I missed that spot in the edits for CAR v 7.3. But the monasteries will all be combined into one section for the next CAR, so that shouldn't be an issue in the future. In fact, that merging has already been done -- the new docx file is sitting on my desktop, waiting for release to the world. I'm just going to wait for answers to the most recent round of clarifications that I sent to kettlefish, then CAR 7.4 will be able to sprout wings and fly.

General / Re: Wheel of Fortune – Element of the Week #24
« on: February 23, 2015, 11:02:21 AM »
My experience is pretty much exactly as whaleyland describes. I basically never put followers on the rim, because it's too much of a wait for too few points. The effects are fine when they happen, but I never really base my strategy on them other than possibly having a plan for when I have to remove a follower.

News and Events / Re: New edition of Hunters and Gatherers
« on: February 16, 2015, 02:02:51 PM »
The beard of the man of has no mustache hair. Does the man have a shaver?

Sure he does -- that spear he's holding.  :)

Official Rules / Re: New Complete Annotated Rules
« on: February 16, 2015, 11:40:05 AM »
Obervet, don't you think that we should include in footnote 482 also Messages?

You are correct. Good catch! I'll add it to the new version.

General / Hidden meeple
« on: February 11, 2015, 06:20:46 AM »
The other day I was reading a CT scan of a dog, and as I was looking at the spine a hidden meeple leaped out at me! The problem is, I can't identify the meeple. He has a pointy head/hat like the mage and witch, but he also has 2 legs like a normal follower. Additionally, his arms are raised up. To me, that makes him look like a zombie meeple giving chase. What are your thoughts about this new species of meeple?



4th point:
the landscape tiles will be double landscape tiles.

Does this mean they are double the size of a normal tile? Or double-sided? Either way, they're not going to be something that can be drawn randomly. (Okay, you could draw double-sided tiles randomly from a bag, but not from all mechanisms like the tower.) And either way, I like it.

General / Re: The Bazaars – Element of the Week #22
« on: February 09, 2015, 10:27:01 AM »
We don't play with bazaars too much anymore. In a 2-player game they're not too bad, since you can choose your tile and get on with the game. In a 4- or 5-player game, though, analysis paralysis becomes a huge issue and the game often comes to a grinding halt with each bazaar, since you have to consider all possible tile placements for each tile in the auction. Some people are bad enough about placing the one tile that they drew; if they have to decide which tile to take and how much it's worth to them, we're going to be here for a while.

General / Re: Developing a mobile scoreboard
« on: February 09, 2015, 10:18:55 AM »
I would choose Simple mode for scoring in my games. I could certainly see the benefits of the Beginners' mode, as long as it didn't take too many keystrokes to enter a score. I never get very interested in stat tracking, so Advanced mode wouldn't hold any real appeal for me.

Official Rules / Re: The Robber, The Tower, and Bazaars
« on: February 09, 2015, 09:50:25 AM »
Yes, the payment of a ransom or the payment at an auction does score points for the robber, as the counting figure is moving forward. Omission of that in the Order of Play was my oversight.

(Interestingly, payment of points for ransoming a follower or bidding in a bazaar does not count as a round of scoring for the purposes of the Messages.)

We don't have an answer for the situation of negative movement of the counting follower -- that's one of the questions that kettlefish has for HiG now. My guess is that the robber just keeps hanging on to the counting follower until the next positive movement, but that's not official.

Official Rules / Re: When can I move a ferry?
« on: February 05, 2015, 07:55:50 AM »
Ha ha! Rules ninja gets there first!

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 22