Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - dsegel

Pages: [1]
Official Rules / Scoring Question
« on: May 03, 2017, 11:31:45 AM »
If you place a tile that completes more than one UNOCCUPIED cities and/or roads, do you get points for all completes or just one?

Theoretically, it would be like putting more than one  :neutral-meeple: down but I would like clarification, please.  I couldn't find this situation addressed in the rules.

Official Rules / Scoring Question
« on: February 22, 2017, 11:47:31 AM »
In the attached photo  :blue-meeple: places the lower right tile. He receives 4 points for the 2 tile city on the right. Does he also get to score the same two tiles again to complete the larger 6 tile city on the left for 16 points (counting the coats of arm)?

Normally you can't count the same tile twice in a turn but in this scenario he is completing two different cities on the same turn.

Official Rules / Re: How to "continue the landscape" in base game
« on: February 04, 2017, 06:54:40 AM »
I wonder why this isn't addressed in the rules?
Because the new rules main goal was to introduce a "cute baby language" rather then leave the rules as coherent, as they had been before. In the original rules there was a general paragraph:
•The new tile (with red borders in the examples) must be placed with at least one edge abutting one previously placed tile. The new tile may not simply be placed corner to corner with a previous tile.
•The new tile must be placed so that all field, city, and road segments on the new tile continue to field, city, and
road segments on all abutting tiles.
"At least one edge" means generally any type of edge can be connected, as long as it fits to the edge of the previouse tile. This, I believe, was better clarified then the case-by-case explanation done in the new edition, but it was not as easy to dumb down with encouraging filler statements like "Huzzah! There is one because both ends of the road are closed", "you score 3 points. Well done!" or "Sadly, all good things must come to an end, and the same goes for a game of Carcassonne. You may wish that it were otherwise, but there must be a winner!" So to summ it up, the new rules are a mess. Better to look out for a pdf of the old rules, which can be find here and use the new ones only for reference regarding Abbot and Gardens.

Thank you so much for the link to the original rules.  I was just about to ask yet another question that isn't addressed in my set of rules and, viola!, it was directly addressed in the original rules.

Official Rules / Re: How to "continue the landscape" in base game
« on: February 02, 2017, 08:18:46 AM »
I wonder why this isn't addressed in the rules?

Official Rules / How to "continue the landscape" in base game
« on: February 02, 2017, 08:15:46 AM »
I cannot find this addressed anywhere.

I understand that you must match a road to a road section and a city to a city section.  However, can a green field be matched to a green field if there are no monasteries on them?

In the attachment can I join the top right tile to the top left tile?

Pages: [1]