Author Topic: Which fan expansions do you regularly play?  (Read 6342 times)

Offline Rosco

• Duke Chevalier
  • Merit: 41
  • Racing, and playing hard!
    • View Profile
Which fan expansions do you regularly play?
« on: October 15, 2014, 11:15:14 PM »
Hi all,

When I started playing Carcassonne and then heard about Carcassonne central fan expansions, I went a little crazy and downloaded and printed most of them. I haven't even used 90% of them. What is your favourite fan expansion? Do you have any which you haven't published?

Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=1137.0
Just lay the damn tile!

Offline Paul

• Marquis Chevalier
  • Merit: 86
    • View Profile
    • sydby.com
Re: Which fan expansions do you regularly play?
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2014, 02:26:42 AM »
I haven't printed out and tested a single expansion yet. But I have dabbled with some digitally testing them when I code etc.
  Today I have no means of printing out any tiles, but rest assure, next year I will make this happen. Just lacking blank tiles.

As to what expansion I like in general, it's usually those that have extra tiles. I like less wooden figures, or extra rules that takes time to learn.
  One good example is the nature disaster idea, which could open up a whole lotta fun and crazyness. Sort of an amped version of the Dragon.  ^-^

The lake. Also one I like very much.
  Come to think of it, maybe I like fan expansions that have a visual concept art to  make beautiful scenery rather than playing the games.  :@
World record holder for a single game of Carcassonne using 10 007 tiles!

Gerry

« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2014, 06:44:26 AM »
The main roadblock with using fan expansions is getting the spare tiles to stick them on.  I prefer expansions that have new concepts for reusing the existing tile sets.  Problem here is coming up with game play ideas that are different and  interesting without getting too complex.