Author Topic: 20th anniversary large meeple  (Read 903 times)

Offline PapaGeek

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 293
  • Merit: 18
  • The box needs a highly addictive warning label
    • View Profile
20th anniversary large meeple
« on: February 11, 2023, 09:07:21 PM »
The double meeple arrow says “You are allowed to add your meeple next to any of your previously-placed meeples in the playing area, so there will be 2 (there can be a maximum of 2 meeples at a time).”

The only mention of the “Large” meeple is in footnote 6 which talks about how the second meeple added to a feature is to “pay homage to the large meeple”.

So the question is, are you allowed to add your “large” meeple next to any of your previously placed meeples?  If so, it would seem to contradict the “maximum of 2 meeples at a time” provision.

But I would think that the single meeple arrow with the curved line would allow you to place your large meeple on any unoccupied, incomplete feature.


Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=6275.0
Totally addicted to this game

Offline Challa007

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 612
  • Merit: 34
  • Fight, Flight, Freeze ..... or Play :)
    • View Profile
Re: 20th anniversary large meeple
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2023, 10:35:14 PM »
Only normal meeples can be used with the arrows in the 20th anniversary expansion …
… at least this is my understanding  :)

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Count Chevalier
  • **
  • Posts: 2209
  • Merit: 31
  • Fan of Fan expansions
    • View Profile
    • www.scifi.sk
Re: 20th anniversary large meeple
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2023, 01:34:12 AM »
Only normal meeples can be used with the arrows in the 20th anniversary expansion …
… at least this is my understanding  :)

Nope. In rules is specified meeple, not normal meeple.

If it will be restricted to normal meeple, it has to be written there, like in the Under the Big Top, where is exactly specified, that to Acrobats space can be placed normal meeple.

If it well be restricted, then you will not able to place for example large meeple to German Cathedral, or to Messenger (Flying Machines) hill.
Check JCloisterZone Add-ons with fan expansions and also some Slovak sci/fi projects in English https://www.scifi.sk/en/

Offline PapaGeek

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 293
  • Merit: 18
  • The box needs a highly addictive warning label
    • View Profile
Re: 20th anniversary large meeple
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2023, 02:03:18 AM »
Yes, the rules say meeple, but they do not say that you can’t use an Abbot, Phantom, Ringmaster, or Wagon to add a single meeple next to another single meeple.  And, yes, for claiming an unoccupied feature, there is no rule on the size of what is on the feature when you are done, so a Large Meeple or Mayor should be allowed.

The issue deals with the wording on the double meeple tile rules that specifically states that after you have placed your second meeple, there can only be a maximum of 2 on the feature.  Adding a double meeple to a single meeple would give you the power of 3 on the feature’s tile.

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Count Chevalier
  • **
  • Posts: 2209
  • Merit: 31
  • Fan of Fan expansions
    • View Profile
    • www.scifi.sk
Re: 20th anniversary large meeple
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2023, 02:28:19 AM »
Yes. That's true. But Imagine situation, you double your meeple in city and you place there Mayor and in a city are 3 cote of arms.
So You placed there meeple with power 3.


It's beauty of the Carcassonne. You can never be safe!


Word meeple is used everywhere. And it means any figure which is meeple type. Including: Normal Meeple, Large Meeple, Wagon, Mayor, Shepherd, Guard Meeple, Ringmaster. As Large Meeple was introduced in 2001, and in all other newer expansions were always used same approach, where word Meeple includes Normal Meeple from base game and Large Meeple from Expansion 1, then words Meeple without any other specification means in this moment (12.2.2023) these official meeples: Normal Meeple, Large Meeple, Abbot, Wagon, Mayor, Shepherd, Guard Meeple, Ringmaster.


And back to Base game:
Monastery rules:
2. Place a meeple as a monk


You can place a meeple on the monastery as a monk


Abbot rules:
2. Placing a meeple OR the Abbot

When you place a tile with a monastery or garden, you may either place a normal meeple or your abbot meeple.
If you place an abbot, you must place it on the monastery or garden you just placed.


Roles for Large Meeple:
2. Placing a Meeple

Instead of placing a normal meeple on your turn, you may place your large meeple, following the normal rules.


So, Large meeple is considered as meeple


Summary in Bog Box 2017

2. PLACE A MEEPLE
Place a meeple (Carcassonne) or abbot (The Abbot) or large meeple (Inns & Cathedrals)
or
place a meeple or large meeple on the flying machine (The Flying Machines)
or
place the builder or
the pig (Traders & Builders)
or
remove and score the abbot (The Abbot).

As you see, to flying machine is possible to place also Large Meeple but in Messenger rules are only this:

2. Placing a Meeple

After placing a tile with a flying machine on it, you may choose to place a meeple either normally (and then follow all normal rules of placement) or on the flying machine.


So they used word meeple which means any kind of meeple.

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6268
  • Merit: 456
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: 20th anniversary large meeple
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2023, 04:36:49 AM »
As per the wording of the Add Meeple action, any meeple standing alone on a tile can be added a second meeple but not more (a third, a fourth...).

So you may have two meeples in a city, and you could add a second meeple to each of them. So for each meeple you would like to add, there should be a meeple stading alone on the tile.

Whether this action should only apply to normal meeples, the rules do not give any hints besides the lack of limitation for the abbot. It would not affect gardens, but abbots on a monastery may be added a normal meeple and vice versa, a normal meeple on a monastery could be added an abbot.

Restricting the addition of meeples to normal meeples would be similar to assuming that the Place Meeple action can only consider features or meeples included in the base game: normal meeples with roads, cities, monasteries and fields (No abbots and gardens then, for example, since the rules do not say a thing about them).
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Large meeple vs. small meeple farmers

Started by rbanks88

3 Replies
1610 Views
Last post May 17, 2021, 12:18:24 AM
by Meepledrone
xx
Carcassonne 20th anniversary edition 2021

Started by Christianmocking

10 Replies
8259 Views
Last post January 16, 2021, 05:48:06 AM
by Decar
xx
Carcassonne 20th Anniversary Edition featured in Spielbox 2021/4

Started by Meepledrone

18 Replies
3772 Views
Last post September 01, 2021, 02:40:48 AM
by Bumsakalaka
xx
Pre-orders for Carcassonne 20th Anniversary from around the world

Started by Sinscerly

11 Replies
3079 Views
Last post May 12, 2021, 01:16:38 PM
by Bumsakalaka
question
Best expansions to complement 20th Anniversary Edition

Started by h0bbitses

7 Replies
3090 Views
Last post December 06, 2021, 01:14:39 PM
by Willem