Author Topic: Robber Scoring  (Read 1169 times)

Offline PapaGeek

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 293
  • Merit: 18
  • The box needs a highly addictive warning label
    • View Profile
Robber Scoring
« on: April 07, 2022, 01:09:25 AM »
Your Green robber plus Yellow’s and Red’s robbers are all on the scoreboard with the Red, Blue, and Yellow scoring meeples. You score a city that you share with Red worth 20 points, and your tile also completed a road that Blue owns for 5 points.

Yellow will only score 3 Robbed points. Blue will score 5 road points. Red will score 20 city points and 3 Rogue points. Red decides to move the 3 Rogue points first, then score the 20 city points.

Does Green have the right to move his robber to follow Red’s 3 Rogue points, then score 10 robbed points from Red plus the 20 points for the city?



Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5867.0
Totally addicted to this game

Offline PapaGeek

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 293
  • Merit: 18
  • The box needs a highly addictive warning label
    • View Profile
Re: Robber Scoring
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2022, 06:24:26 AM »
Let me toss another situation into the mix.

The Green robber is on the scoreboard (point 12) with the Red meeple. Red plays a tile that results in completing two features, a 5 point road plus a 20 point city.  Red doesn’t want to give Green too many points so he decides to score the road first, then score the city. Green only gets 3 robbed points!

What happens if the Yellow robber and the Blue meeple are also on the scoreboard (point 17) so that the first 5 points from Red also places the Red meeple on the scoreboard (point 17)? When Red performs his second 20 point score, can Yellow score 10 robbed points?

There are multiple reasons where multiple players can score multiple points for different reasons, some scored, and some robbed. The order in which each player scores those points is up to each player.

The rules are clear that a robber can’t wait for a better scoring opportunity.  But what happens when the scoring opportunity happens in the middle of a multiple scoring phase?



Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6352
  • Merit: 456
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Robber Scoring
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2022, 02:34:37 AM »
Your Green robber plus Yellow’s and Red’s robbers are all on the scoreboard with the Red, Blue, and Yellow scoring meeples. You score a city that you share with Red worth 20 points, and your tile also completed a road that Blue owns for 5 points.

Yellow will only score 3 Robbed points. Blue will score 5 road points. Red will score 20 city points and 3 Rogue points. Red decides to move the 3 Rogue points first, then score the 20 city points.

Does Green have the right to move his robber to follow Red’s 3 Rogue points, then score 10 robbed points from Red plus the 20 points for the city?

If I got it right, the situation on the scoreboard is as follows:

On one space, we have:
* The Green (you) robber
* The Yellow scoring meeple
* The Yellow robber
* The Red scoring meeple - scoring 20 points for a city
* The Red robber
* The Blue scoring meeple - scoring 5 points for a road

On a different space, we have:
* The Green (you) scoring meeple - scoring 20 points for a city

On an unknown, irrelevant location for this scenario, we have:
* The Blue robber

If this is corect, then all the players scoring points only receive points for one feature and only have one scoring figure to do so (no messengers). The scoring sequence will be as follows:
1) All players scoring points will move their scoring meeples (the order is irrelevant):
   - The Green scoring meeple will score 20 points (affecting no robbers)
   - The Red scoring meeple will score 20 points (affecting the Green robber and the Yellow obber)
   - The Blue scoring meeple will score 5 points (affecting the Green robber, the Yellow Robber and the Red robber)
2) The robbers will take into sccount what opponents' scoring meeples left the space shared with them to decide which points to rob:
   - The Green robber can steal 10 points from the Red scoring meeple or 3 points from the Blue scoring meeple
   - The Yellow robber can steal 10 points from the Red scoring meeple or 3 points from the Blue scoring meeple
   - The Red robber can only steal 3 points from the Blue scoring meeple (Red cannot steal points from themself)
3) If we assume each player wants to steal the most points, then you will have the additional following scorings:
   - The Green scoring meeple will score 10 rogue points from Red
   - The Yellow scoring meeple will score 10 rogue points from Red
   - The Red scoring meeple will score 3 rogue points from Blue
4) The following robbers will be returned to their owners after stealing points:
   - The Green robber
   - The Yellow robber
   - The Red robber

Bottomline:
* Green scores 30 points (20 points for the city + 10 rogue points from Red)
* Red scores 23 points (20 points for the city + 3 rogue points from Blue)
* Blue scores 5 points for the road
* Yellow scores 10 rogue points from Red
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6352
  • Merit: 456
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Robber Scoring
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2022, 03:34:12 AM »
Let me toss another situation into the mix.

The Green robber is on the scoreboard (point 12) with the Red meeple. Red plays a tile that results in completing two features, a 5 point road plus a 20 point city.  Red doesn’t want to give Green too many points so he decides to score the road first, then score the city. Green only gets 3 robbed points!

Correct.

What happens if the Yellow robber and the Blue meeple are also on the scoreboard (point 17) so that the first 5 points from Red also places the Red meeple on the scoreboard (point 17)? When Red performs his second 20 point score, can Yellow score 10 robbed points?

Bad luck! Yellow will steal the 10 points. From Yllow's perspective it is the first scoring happening on its space on the scoreboard.

There are multiple reasons where multiple players can score multiple points for different reasons, some scored, and some robbed. The order in which each player scores those points is up to each player.

Correct.

The rules are clear that a robber can’t wait for a better scoring opportunity.  But what happens when the scoring opportunity happens in the middle of a multiple scoring phase?

You will have to handle this case as usual: a robber steals points from a scoring figure leaving the same space on the scoreboard.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
The Robbers (mini #6). Robber tile and Deploying/Scoring

Started by Yashin-n

5 Replies
3465 Views
Last post April 04, 2016, 11:41:19 AM
by Yashin-n
xx
Saint Nicholas Scoring Board why not Santa Claus scoring board?

Started by Windekind

7 Replies
3939 Views
Last post December 06, 2019, 12:31:54 AM
by Murphy013
clip
WTS Original Expansions: Tower, Princess/Dragon, Robber, Count

Started by Howdypoopy

0 Replies
1233 Views
Last post August 20, 2020, 04:19:01 PM
by Howdypoopy
xx
WTB: Original Artwork "Expansion 6: Count, King & Robber"

Started by chris6507

5 Replies
1516 Views
Last post January 22, 2022, 08:31:10 PM
by chris6507
xx
WTB: Old artwork Carcassonne Hills and Sheep and/or Count, King and Robber

Started by nblack27

15 Replies
1854 Views
Last post June 08, 2023, 02:07:33 AM
by oldbonz