Author Topic: Is this combo legal? (Bridges, Castles & Bazaar)  (Read 1550 times)

Offline Piancol

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Is this combo legal? (Bridges, Castles & Bazaar)
« on: April 02, 2020, 07:20:13 AM »
Last night we played this expansion for the first time and I was able to complete this monster combo which gave me 112 points in a single turn! (28 city + three times that, once for each castle touching the city). I couldn't find anything in the rules that would make it illegal but the craziness of the points makes me feel like something's wrong lol

Am I missing something or is it legal?  :blue-meeple:


Offline Willem

  • Chatelain
  • ******
  • Posts: 1490
  • Merit: 118
  • Keeper of the Carcassonne Museum
    • View Profile
    • The Carcassonne Museum
Re: Is this combo legal? (Bridges, Castles & Bazaar)
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2020, 01:50:56 PM »
Depends on a few things.

1. When was the road next to the left castle completed? Shouldn't you have gotten those points with that castle?
2. Is the road next to the top castle completed? If so, same question as above.
3. When was the road to the right of the top castle finished? Same as above

Other than these roads, it could be that you get the points for the city 4 times.
Btw, I count the city as 26 points (12 tiles + 1 shield). Or are your lines covering a second shield?
Join me on the journey through the history and oddities of Carcassonne, on My Instagram
1 0 days since i've bought more Carcassonne

Offline Piancol

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Is this combo legal? (Bridges, Castles & Bazaar)
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2020, 08:08:12 PM »
Thanks for your answer!

So, about the roads, they were all either incomplete when I scored the city or had been completed before I put down the castles, I was very vigilant about that.

About the city points, I think you're right, I might have counted the top tile with two ends twice.

I'm really surprised that this massive combo of points was then completely legal. That means in my book that these Castles expansion is much more strategic than it seemed at first. Also, I know that this kind of situation won't happen again easily cause my wife now knows and understands this new expansion well enough so she won't let it happen again lol

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6352
  • Merit: 456
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Is this combo legal? (Bridges, Castles & Bazaar)
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2020, 01:52:03 AM »
Hi Piancol,

Welcome to the forum. Hope you enjoy the discussions and all the stuff you can find here.

Regarding your question, I would just say that if your opponents allowed to you complete such a juicy city plus three castles, they had it coming. The points galore is perfectly valid after scoring 4 times the city, once for the city itself and three more times for the castles.

Other players could have tried to block the city or complete some roads to trigger castle scoring with less points. This is why it is important to keep an eye on other player's castles and try to disable them even by sacrificing some points "for a greater good."  :o

As pointed out by Willem, the only issue is that the city scored 2 extra points and therefore each castle as well. I agree the issue may come from the tile marked with a black square that could be counted twice in the heat of the moment (see image attached). ;D

In any case is a master move, so congratulations for completing the city and the three neighboring castles.

Questions about rules? Check WICA:

Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
What happen when there is no legal place for bazaar auctioned tile?

Started by farin

4 Replies
Last post August 21, 2017, 12:03:11 AM
by farin
Bridges, Castles & Bazaars League: Bridges

Started by MrNumbers

25 Replies
Last post March 16, 2017, 03:23:09 PM
by MrNumbers
Is this bridge placement legal? (+ another question about castles and fields)

Started by ac1982

6 Replies
Last post May 01, 2022, 11:23:56 PM
by Meepledrone
Bridges, Castles & Bazaars League: Castles

Started by MrNumbers

45 Replies
Last post March 22, 2017, 02:41:32 PM
by MrNumbers
quirky Spiele 2020 barn combo ...

Started by cicerunner

7 Replies
Last post November 24, 2020, 05:17:38 AM
by Decar