Author Topic: The Phantom Festival  (Read 3489 times)

Offline Tilehunt

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 27
  • Merit: 1
    • View Profile
The Phantom Festival
« on: August 15, 2013, 08:15:31 AM »
Hey guys, so here was my question on bordgamegeek.
Quote from: BlueMeeple
Here's a question about the rules when combining the phantom with the festival.
As a brief summary of the rules, the festival allows you to
(a) place one follower on a feature or
(b) remove one of your piece from the board
whereas the phantom allows you to place the phantom as a follower after your original turn.
In the festival rules (which I saw in carcassonne CAR) it clearly states to deploy one of one's own pieces. However, the phantom expansion was released after the festival so I was wondering
(1)does that mean you cannot place a phantom in the festival turn?
(2)if not, can you choose two different options? That is, can you remove one of your pieces and place a phantom as an extra?
The festival and the phantom keeps confusing me, so i hope i get an answer soon.
And this was what I got.
Quote from: DoomTurtle
The festival tile does not change any rules when it comes to placing a meeple. You place a festival tile. You then place a meeple on a feature on this tile as normal. If you have the phantom, you can also place that. Or you can place the phantom on its own.

The only special rule with a festival tile is this: If you decide not to place a meeple on the tile, than you can remove one of your meeples from anywhere on the board.

So that's it. Place as normal and be done. Or not place anything and remove something.
But the harder I thought about it, I became more and more confused. According to the CAR:
Quote from: Complete Annotated Rules
Question: Does the phantom have to be second to a true follower, or can it be placed in addition to a non-follower piece? The phantom may also be placed as a second piece in addition to the builder, pig, or any other “move the wood” piece such as movement of the fairy or placement of a tower piece.
So since removing a follower is part of moving the wood, should'nt you be able to remove a follower and place a phantom? Or am I missing something?

« Last Edit: August 15, 2013, 07:12:22 PM by Tilehunt »
Hello, I'm the Blue Meeple!

Offline Scott

  • Administrator
  • Viscount Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 3150
  • Merit: 113
    • View Profile
    • CarcassonneCentral
Re: The Phantom Festival
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2013, 12:47:14 PM »
As the rules are worded, you would not be able to use your phantom if you remove a follower from a tile. However, it may be acceptable to do so. Perhaps kettlefish can get an official ruling?

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 4682
  • Merit: 127
    • View Profile
Re: The Phantom Festival
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2013, 12:55:09 PM »
At Spiel 2013 in Essen - I will have my appointment with Georg Wild - HiG.
There I will ask him all the open questions about the rules...

Offline Tilehunt

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 27
  • Merit: 1
    • View Profile
Re: The Phantom Festival
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2013, 07:22:51 PM »
Thanks kettlefish! I wish you could ask him if the wagon can pass through the little road in Inns & Cathedrals. Here was the question:

Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
The Festival Phantom

Started by PapaGeek

4 Replies
Last post April 09, 2023, 09:38:56 AM
by Meepledrone
The Festival & Traders & builders

Started by aenima

2 Replies
Last post December 23, 2018, 02:35:27 PM
by aenima
Trade For River 1 Or Festival

Started by ARabidMeerkat

10 Replies
Last post June 04, 2015, 10:33:04 PM
by danisthirty
WTB: Das Fest/The Festival, Carc 2.0 edition

Started by GinCarc

2 Replies
Last post January 31, 2017, 09:34:53 PM
by GinCarc
WTB The Festival 10th Anniversary (CundCo Ver.)

Started by Xanderx12

3 Replies
Last post December 01, 2017, 08:36:19 AM
by Halfling