Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Vital Pluymers

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 12
Anything Else / Re: Happy Birthday
« on: October 05, 2023, 09:24:15 AM »
Vacations are good and bad!!!

While I was away I forgot to check the calendar and wish happy birthday to many of you...

Just to mention a few, happy belated birthday to...

@Ratz65 , @gamgeefan2 , @Vital Pluymers , @Mikeagan , @smoula, @kiap1969 , @Kirk Sellman, @Scott, @Willem  ...

Hope you had a wonderful day to say the least!!!

:yellow-meeple: :neutral-meeple: :brown-meeple: :white-meeple: :orange-meeple: :pink-meeple: :violet-meeple: :gray-meeple: :red-meeple: :green-meeple: :blue-meeple: :black1-meeple:

Thank you!  ;D

Other Games / Re: Favorite Tile-Laying Games
« on: August 23, 2023, 08:21:31 AM »

Quizzes, Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« on: July 25, 2023, 02:53:52 AM »
I really like these "exercises"  :D

No, I don't agree. You are wrongly interpreting a conclusion of a single example as a rule that would be valid in all circumstances. That is what co-member Bagge also tried to explain and I fully support his interpretation.

The example is only explaining that a scoring castle A located in the fief of castle B is triggering also the scoring of castle B. So, in a case that castle B is not triggered by others scoring events, the conclusion is correct and both castles score the same.

However, in another scenario in which castle B would simultanuously be triggered by other scoring events as well, it is not obligatory that both castles score the same. Both castle owners can choose which points they would like to score.

You are treating a conclusion of one example as a rule valid for all cases, but that is not what is intended here.

Castles "must" not score the same number of points. Each castle owner can choose the points he wants to take.

I don't understand what you mean by "in case of a conflict".
Each castle owner chooses the points he would like to score for his castle. How can there ever be a conflict?

I think that there is a clear misinterpretation of the castle rules here. in my opinion, it is not mandatory that castles score the same number of points in case both castles are triggered by more than one completed feature.

The examples for both C1 and C2 handle examples in which only one castle is triggered by the scoring of multiple features. If there happens to be a second castle in the first castle's area, it is evident that both castles score the same number of points. These are just examples to show what happens if one castle is triggered by the scoring of another castle, and only by that other castle.

But if several castles are triggered individually by multiple scoring events, then each castle owner can choose which scoring feature he wants to take for his castle. In 99% of the cases, both owners will choose the highest score and will score the same number of points. But if you play with expansions like for instance the Messages, it could occur that a castle owner would accept a lower score.

Official Rules / Re: Carcassonne Maps - France
« on: July 21, 2022, 12:57:37 AM »
Thank you for the more detailed background of the footnote.
So I understand from this clarification that you can use the collected chips immediately in the same turn to sell wine.

Quizzes, Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« on: July 10, 2022, 11:12:25 PM »
2) sure, the city on the halfling adjacent works.

That's incorrect. According to the original rules, you can only move your wagon to another feature which is directly connected to the feature your wagon is standing on. So, that means that you can only move your wagon to the German Castle.

Official Rules / Re: Carcassonne Maps - France
« on: July 05, 2022, 08:44:25 AM »
Thank you, Scott, for your prompt reply!

I had checked Wikipedia too, but I do not really understand the footnote. A more detailed clarification might be needed.

Official Rules / Carcassonne Maps - France
« on: July 05, 2022, 08:10:38 AM »
Question regarding selling wine in Carcassonne Maps - France.
Can you use a chip you collect in the same turn to sell wine?

Voted, but I'm afraid it won't help this time...

Voted, but Carcassonne is still 13 votes behind...

Hi Decar, that's what I thought too, but I wasn't completely sure.
Thank you for the confirmation!

Official Rules / Re: Hunters and Gatherers (v2) : Rules Discrepancies
« on: March 21, 2022, 11:44:28 PM »
    • In the Log Boat Scoring Example, HiG, 999 and ZMG all suggest that Red could score 5 points closing a river section (occupied by Red's hut) as well as the 8 points for the log boat itself; the log boat tile also closes a 6-point river segment occupied by Blue's hut. I know it's only 1 point, but ...


    The difference is even two points as the road is three tiles long and contains four fishes.

    Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 12