Carc Central Community > Official Rules

Helpful checklists for Mists over Carcassonne (standalone game)

<< < (2/5) > >>

WOW @Challa007 !!!

This looks amazing! Impatient to start working on this...

+1 merit from me.

Updated: February 25th, 2023

Checklist for a game with 2 players, level 5

English (German is further down):

2 players
Level 5

To Do's before the game (applies to all levels and any number of players)
- Place the starting tile in the middle of the table (the starting tile consists of 4 tiles, each of which is considered separately during the game. On the back of the tile, you can see the subdivision).
- Place 3 ghosts on it (2 and 1).
- Place the scoring track near the edge of the table, clearly visible to all players.

Game preparation Level 5
- Place the hound 1 token with the colored side facing up on space 15 of the scoring track.
- Place the hound 2 token with the colored side facing up on space 0/50 of the scoring track.
- Place the goal token with the grey side facing up on space 0/50 of the scoring track.
- Shuffle all the tiles and divide them into 3 piles of 20 tiles each. Use one pile as the active pile. Move the other 2 piles aside a bit.
- Each player chooses two colors and takes three meeple of each color and places them in front of him on the table.
- Two colors do not take part in the game, place one meeple of one of these colors on space (0/50) of the scoring track.
- put all remaining meeple back into the box
- place 10 ghosts next to the scoring track, put 2 ghosts back into the box.

Gameplay - for each player's turn, follow this exact order:

A) Place a  landscape tile
- Landscape tiles may only be drawn from the active pile.
- When placing tiles, you do not need to pay attention to the mist, i.e. the mist does not always have to "match exactly". Sometimes it is even strategically better to leave the mist open.
- If there are already hidden tiles in the game: follow the rules for placing normal tiles adjacent to hidden tiles (see at the end of this checklist).

B) Has a mist tile been placed, thus finishing a mist bank?
- If so, immediately remove all ghosts from the finished mist bank and return them to the general supply of ghosts next to the scoring track.

C) Has a cemetery been completely surrounded with 8 tiles (whether face-down or face-up tiles)?
- If so, immediately lie down (bury) one meeple (any meeple which is already on the board) on the cemetery.
- The buried meeple doesn't have to be from the active player, it can also be a meeple from the other player.
- If by chance, at this moment, there are no meeple in the game or only buried meeple, then you have to pick a meeple from your supplies.
- If the meeple you want to bury has a hound token next to it, the hound token will be removed from the game (without scoring any points).
- If there is only one meeple with a hound token next to it left in the game, you will unfortunately have to bury this meeple. The hound token will be removed from the game.

D) Has a tile with mist been placed (without finishing a mist bank)?
- When placing a tile with mist, the player must place as many ghosts on the tile as are shown on the tile. Exception: If you expanded at least one mist bank (i.e. matched at least one side of the tile you just placed with mist already on the board), then you place one fewer ghost on the tile.

E) Was a tile with a cemetery placed?
- Place 1 ghost on each directly surrounding tile which shows mist. It does not matter if the mist is finished or not, or if there are already ghosts there or not.

F) Place a meeple
- The active player can place a meeple of any of his two colors (no color sequence needs to be respected).

G) Have features been completed?  If yes: Meeple scoring
- Attention: Hidden tiles NEVER complete features!
- For the scoring of each feature, the active player can decide:
EITHER he scores the points and advances the scoring meeple on the scoring track accordingly
OR he removes a maximum of 3 ghosts from exactly one tile of his choice and puts them back into the general supply of ghosts.
- What does this mean exactly: "for the scoring of each feature"?
In most cases where applicable, when a tile is placed, 1 feature is completed, for example a city. For the scoring of this feature, you can decide to score points or to remove ghosts.
If by chance two or more features are completed simultaneously when a tile is placed, a new decision can be made for each feature separately.
The following is not allowed: if, for example, a city was completed in which there are meeple from 3 different colors, you may not decide anew for each color. The decision applies to all colors in the feature.

a) Either remove ghosts
- When removing ghosts from the starting tile, keep in mind that the starting tile consists of 4 individual tiles, so you may remove a maximum of 3 ghosts from only one of these four.

b) or score points
- As in the normal Carcassonne game, the majority rule applies, i.e., the points are awarded to the color that has the majority in the feature (the color with the most meeple in the feature).
- However, in the cooperative variant, it is not a matter of gaining the majority in a feature, but of achieving a tie with as many different colors as possible. Because the more colors there are in the feature (with a tie!), the more points you get and you need a lot of points quickly.
Example: a city with 4 meeples of different colors scores the city's points four times. The points for the city are calculated normally and then multiplied by 4. Thus, the scoring meeple on the scoring track moves forward the points for the city four times.
- Concerning scoring on the scoring track:
1) Hound tokens:
- When the scoring meeple passes a hound token, the hound must be "deployed" immediately. The scoring meeple does not need to stop at the space with the hound token for this, you may advance the full score first and then deploy the hound.
- The hound token is placed on the board next to any unburied meeple. It can be a meeple from the active player or from the other player. If there is no meeple in the game or only buried meeple, the hound token becomes useless and is removed from the game (without removing any ghosts).
- Once you have placed a hound token next to a meeple on a tile, have a close look to this tile and the surrounding 8 tiles. Because you may now remove up to 3 ghosts each from 2 of these 9 tiles and put them back into the general supply of ghosts.
- After that, the next pile of tiles is activated. You can put the remaining tiles of the previous pile on top of it and now take this pile as the active pile.
- If in your turn you scored so many points that you passed both hound token, apply this procedure twice
2) Goal token
- When the scoring meeple reaches or passes the goal token for the first time (grey side face-up), flip it over so that the colored side is face-up. When the scoring meeple reaches the goal token the second time (colored side face up), you win.

H) Was there a hound token next to a meeple that has just scored? If yes: Hound scoring
- If there is a hound token next to a meeple that is being scored, an additional scoring for the hound takes place: You get as many points for the hound as there are ghosts on the board at that moment. 1 point per ghost. During the hound scoring you have no choice, you can only score points (you don't have the option to remove ghosts instead of scoring points).
- After the hound scoring, the hound token is removed from the game and put back into the box.
The explanations under "Concerning scoring on the scoring track" under G) apply here in exactly the same way

I) Place a hidden tile
- As long as there is at least one open cemetery, draw 1 tile without looking at it and place it face-down adjacent to any open cemetery (on one of the 8 directly surrounding spaces, following the rules for hidden tiles - see at the end of this checklist).
- If this tile closes the cemetery, you must bury a Meeple. The same rules apply as for C)

Rules for tile placement in relation with hidden tiles
- A face-down tile may only be placed within the direct vicinity of a cemetery (the 8 spaces surrounding the cemetery). But you must place it so it touches at least 1 other tile with one of its sides (orthogonally). It is not enough for the tile to touch another tile with a corner (diagonally).
- A face-down tile may be placed adjacent to any type of terrain
- A face-down tile may also be placed directly adjacent to another face-down tile
- New face-up tiles can only be placed adjacent to face-down tiles if they also share at least one edge with a different face-up tile already added to the board.


2 Spieler
Level 5

Generelles vor dem Spiel (gilt für alle Level und jede Anzahl von Spielern)
-   Das Startplättchen in die Mitte des Spielfelds legen (das Startplättchen besteht aus 4 Plättchen, die während des Spiels jedes für sich allein betrachtet werden. Auf der Rückseite des Plättchens sieht man die Unterteilung.)
-   3 Geister darauf stellen (2 und 1)
-   Die Wertungstafel gut sichtbar für alle Spieler an den Rand legen

Spielvorbereitung Level 5
-   Das Hundeplättchen 1 mit der farbigen Seite nach oben auf Feld 15 der Wertungstafel legen
-   Das Hundeplättchen 2 mit der farbigen Seite nach oben auf Feld 0/50 der Wertungstafel legen
-   Das Zielplättchen mit der grauen Seite nach oben auf Feld 0/50 der Wertungstafel legen
-   Alle Plättchen mischen und auf 3 Stapel à je 20 Plättchen verteilen. Einen Stapel davon als aktiven Stapel hernehmen. Die anderen 2 Stapel ein bisschen beiseite schieben.
-   Jeder Spieler wählt für sich zwei Farben aus und nimmt sich jeweils drei Meeple für jede seiner Farben und legt sie vor sich auf den Tisch
-   Zwei Farben nehmen nun nicht am Spiel teil, von einer dieser Farben wird nun ein Meeple auf das Startfeld (0/50) der Wertungstafel gestellt.
-   alle übrigen Meeple werden in die Schachtel zurückgelegt
-   10 Geister am Spielrand bereitlegen, 2 Geister zurück in die Schachtel legen

Spielablauf – für jeden Zug eines Spielers genau diese Reihenfolge einhalten:

A)   Landschaftsplättchen anlegen
-   Landschaftsplättchen dürfen immer nur vom aktiven Stapel gezogen werden.
-   Beim Anlegen von Plättchen braucht man nicht auf den Nebel zu achten, d.h. der Nebel muss nicht immer „genau passen“. Manchmal ist es sogar strategisch besser, den Nebel offen zu lassen.
-   Falls bereits verdeckte Plättchen im Spiel sind: die Regeln beachten, wie man normale Plättchen an verdeckte Plättchen anlegt (siehe am Ende dieser Checkliste)

B)   Wurde ein Plättchen mit Nebel angelegt und damit ein Nebelfeld abgeschlossen?
-   Wenn ja, sofort alle Geister des abgeschlossenen Nebelfelds vom Spielfeld nehmen und zu den übrigen Geistern am Rande des Spielfelds zurücklegen

C)   Wurde ein Friedhof mit 8 Plättchen rundherum vollständig umbaut (egal ob verdeckte oder offene Plättchen)?
-   Wenn ja, sofort einen beliebigen Meeple, der sich bereits auf dem Spielfeld befindet, auf den Friedhof legen (beerdigen)
-   Der beerdigte Meeple muss nicht vom aktiven Spieler sein, es kann auch ein Meeple des anderen Spielers sein
-   Falls sich gerade keine Meeple im Spiel befinden sollten oder nur bereits beerdigte Meeple, dann müsst ihr einen Meeple aus euren Vorräten wählen
-   Sollte bei dem Meeple, den ihr beerdigen wollt, ein Hund liegen, wird der Hund leider gegenstandslos und wird aus dem Spiel genommen (ohne dass ihr dafür Punkte bekommt).
-   Falls nur noch ein Meeple mit Hund im Spiel ist, müsst ihr leider diesen Meeple beerdigen. Der Hund wird aus dem Spiel genommen.

D)   Wurde ein Plättchen mit Nebel angelegt (ohne ein Nebelfeld abzuschliessen)?
-   Beim Anlegen von Plättchen mit Nebel muss der Spieler so viele Geister auf das Plättchen stellen, wie dort abgebildet sind. Ausnahme: wurde das Plättchen an mindestens einer Seite an einen bereits bestehenden Nebel angelegt (also Nebel erweitert), muss ein Geist weniger als abgebildet auf das Plättchen gestellt werden.

E)   Wurde ein Plättchen mit Friedhof angelegt?
-   Je 1 Geist auf jedes direkt umliegende Plättchen mit Nebel stellen. Es spielt dabei keine Rolle, ob der Nebel abgeschlossen ist oder nicht, ob bereits Geister dort stehen oder nicht.

F)   Einen Meeple einsetzen
-   Der Spieler am Zug kann einen Meeple irgendeiner seiner beiden Farben einsetzen (es braucht keine Farbreihenfolge eingehalten zu werden)

G)   Wurden Gebiete abgeschlossen?  Wenn ja: Meeplewertung
-   Achtung: Verdeckte Plättchen schliessen NIEMALS Gebiete ab!
-   Für die Wertung jedes Gebiets kann der Spieler erneut entscheiden:
ENTWEDER er wertet die Punkte und geht mit dem Zählmeeple auf der Wertungstafel entsprechend vorwärts
ODER er entfernt maximal 3 Geister von genau einem Plättchen seiner Wahl und legt sie zurück zu den anderen Geistern
-   Was heisst das genau: „für die Wertung jedes Gebiets kann der Spieler neu entscheiden“?
In den meisten Fällen wird beim Anlegen eines Plättchens ggf. 1 Gebiet abgeschlossen, z.B. eine Stadt. Für die Wertung dieses Gebiets gilt die Entscheidung Punkte oder Geister.
Falls zufälligerweise mit dem Anlegen eines Plättchens gleich zwei oder mehr Gebiete abgeschlossen werden, kann für jedes Gebiet neu entschieden werden.
Was nicht erlaubt ist: wenn z.B. eine Stadt abgeschlossen wurde, in der Meeple in 3 verschiedenen Farben stehen, darf man nicht für jede Farbe neu entscheiden. Die Entscheidung gilt für alle Farben in dem Gebiet.

a)   Entweder Geister entfernen
-   Beim Entfernen von Geistern vom Startplättchen beachtet, dass das Startplättchen aus 4 individuellen Plättchen besteht und ihr somit nur von einem von diesen vieren maximal 3 Geister entfernen dürft

b)   oder Punkte werten
-   wie beim normalen Carcassonne Spiel gilt die Mehrheitsregel, d.h. die Punkte bekommt die Farbe, die die Mehrheit in dem Gebiet hat (von der am meisten Meeple in dem Gebiet stehen)
-   Allerdings geht es hier in der kooperativen Variante nicht darum, in einem Gebiet die Mehrheit zu erlangen, sondern darum, mit soviel wie möglich verschiedenen Farben einen Gleichstand zu erzielen. Denn je mehr Farben im Gebiet (mit Gleichstand!), desto mehr Punkte bekommt man und man braucht ja schnell viele Punkte.
Beispiel: eine Stadt, in der je 1 Meeple von 4 verschiedenen Farben steht, wertet die Punkte der Stadt vier Mal. Die Punkte für die Stadt werden ganz normal berechnet und dann mit 4 multipliziert. Der Zählmeeple auf der Wertungstafel geht also vier Mal die Punkte der Stadt vorwärts.
-   Zur Wertung auf der Wertungstafel:
1) Hundeplättchen:
-   Wenn der Zählmeeple bei einem Hund vorbeikommt, muss der Hund sofort „eingesetzt“ werden. Der Zählmeeple braucht dafür nicht beim Hund stehen zu bleiben, ihr dürft zuerst die volle Punktzahl vorwärtsgehen und euch dann um den Hund kümmern.
-   Das Hundeplättchen wird zu einem beliebigen, nicht beerdigten Meeple auf das Spielfeld gelegt. Es kann sich um einen Meeple vom aktiven Spieler oder vom anderen Spieler handeln. Sollte gerade kein Meeple im Spiel sein oder nur beerdigte Meeple, wird der Hund leider gegenstandslos und wird aus dem Spiel genommen (ohne Geister zu entfernen)
-   Sobald ihr einen Hund zu einem Meeple auf ein Plättchen gelegt habt, schaut euch das Plättchen selbst und die umliegenden 8 Plättchen genau an. Ihr dürft nämlich nun von 2 dieser 9 Plättchen jeweils bis zu 3 Geister entfernen und zurück zu den anderen Geistern legen.
-   Danach wird der nächste Stapel aktiviert. Ihr könnt die verbleibenden Plättchen des vorherigen Stapels darauf legen und jetzt diesen Stapel als aktiven Stapel hernehmen.
-   Solltet ihr mit einem Zug so viele Punkte gemacht haben, dass ihr an beiden Hunden vorbeikommt, dann macht ihr das ganze Prozedere natürlich zweimal.
2) Zielplättchen
-   Wenn der Zählmeeple das 1. Mal am Zielplättchen vorbeikommt (da liegt es mit grauer Seite oben), wird das Zielplättchen umgedreht. Erreicht ihr es das 2. Mal (also mit farbiger Seite oben), habt ihr gewonnen.

H)   Lag bei einem gerade gewerteten Meeple ein Hund? Wenn ja: Hundewertung
-   Wenn bei einem Meeple, der gewertet wird, ein Hund liegt, gibt es nochmal eine Punktewertung für den Hund: Ihr bekommt für den Hund so viele Punkte, wie sich in diesem Moment  Geister auf dem Spielfeld befinden. Pro Geist 1 Punkt. Bei der Hundewertung darf man nicht wählen, man kann nur die Punkte bekommen (man hat nicht die Option, auf die Punkte zu verzichten und dafür Geister zu entfernen). Nach der Hundewertung wird der Hund aus dem Spiel genommen und in die Schachtel zurückgelegt.
Die Erläuterungen unter „Zur Wertung auf der Wertungstafel“ unter G) gelten hierbei ganz genauso

I)   Verdecktes Plättchen legen
-   Solange noch mindestens ein Friedhof offen ist, jetzt ein weiteres Plättchen ziehen ohne es anzusehen und als verdecktes Plättchen an irgendeinen offenen Friedhof anlegen (auf eins der 8 direkt umliegenden Felder, unter Beachtung der Regeln für verdeckte Plättchen- siehe am Ende dieser Checkliste)
-   Sollte durch dieses Plättchen der Friedhof abgeschlossen werden, müsst ihr einen Meeple beerdigen. Es gelten die Regeln wie bei C)

Regeln zum Anlegen bei verdeckten Plättchen
-   Ein verdecktes Plättchen darf nur im Umkreis eines Friedhofs angelegt werden (die 8 Felder um den Friedhof herum). Aber ihr müsst es so anlegen, dass mindestens eine Seite waagerecht oder senkrecht an ein bereits ausliegendes Plättchen angelegt wird. Es reicht nicht, dass das neue Plättchen ein anderes Plättchen nur mit der Spitze einer Ecke berührt (diagonal).
-   Ein verdecktes Plättchen darf an jede Landschaft angelegt werden
-   Ein verdecktes Plättchen darf auch direkt an ein anderes verdecktes Plättchen angelegt werden
-   An verdeckte Plättchen dürfen neue, offene Plättchen nur dann angelegt werden, wenn sie mit mindestens 1 Seite auch an ein bereits gelegtes, offenes Plättchen angrenzen.

I just found this official FAQ covering MoC on Dized (the company preparing tutorials and digital rules for Carcassonne and other games):

Don't know if it provides anything out of the ordinary.


--- Quote from: Meepledrone on February 01, 2023, 03:53:19 PM ---I just found this official FAQ covering MoC on Dized (the company preparing tutorials and digital rules for Carcassonne and other games):

Don't know if it provides anything out of the ordinary.

--- End quote ---

Great find, Meepledrone, but I highly recommend NOT to refer to this. Without making any distinction, they are mixing up questions concerning MoC as standalone game and MoC as 11th expansion. It is completely confusing!!!
Furthermore I am not sure about the correctness of some answers. This will have to be investigated first…

Concerning the Dized FAQ:
I am inclined to heavily doubt the correctness of the answers, when I find in their rules this illustration for a completed mist bank (and in addition, there is a tile placement error).  :o


[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

[*] Previous page

Go to full version
Powered by SMFPacks SEO Pro Mod