Author Topic: City/Count of Carcassonne: sending meeples to the Cathedral  (Read 694 times)

Offline joe_abbot

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
  • Merit: 1
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
City/Count of Carcassonne: sending meeples to the Cathedral
« on: January 07, 2023, 02:33:01 AM »
Sorry if this has been discussed before. From the wiki:
Quote
You can only place your Abbot in the cathedral in Carcassonne.

This sentence is not present in the paper rules I have and it seems contradicted by the image the game itself presents to show a move from the City Cathedral to a monastery or shrine, that is this one, showing a meeple and not an abbott being deployed to a monastery:


Can I have more info on this?

Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=6231.0
« Last Edit: January 07, 2023, 02:36:07 AM by joe_abbot »

Offline Whaleyland

  • Great Khan
  • Global Moderator
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2743
  • Merit: 101
  • Toulouse: Carcassonne's insignificant neighbor.
    • View Profile
    • Derek R. Whaley, PhD | Librarian, Historian, and Writer
Re: City/Count of Carcassonne: sending meeples to the Cathedral
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2023, 02:39:45 AM »
You are missing the point. Other meeples can also go in the Cathedral in the City, but the Abbot can only go in the Cathedral, since the features it can claim are only religious institutions (e.g., Monasteries, Gardens, Shrines). Therefore, the Abbot is restricted to the Cathedral, whereas other meeples can go elsewhere in the City (some with their own restrictions). A longer list of restrictions is listed later on the page:

Quote
The following figures can be placed in a district of the city of Carcassonne:
Normal meeple, the standard option (Base game)
Abbot, only in the cathedral (Base game - The Abbot)
Large meeple (Exp. 1 - Inns and Cathedrals)
Wagon, not in the market (Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor)
Mayor, only in the castle (Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor)
Ringmaster (Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top)
Phantom (The Phantom)

The reason the Abbot is called out twice is because it is included in the base game, so requires immediate clarification. The others are expansion components, so they are only clarified in their own expansions.

Offline joe_abbot

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
  • Merit: 1
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: City/Count of Carcassonne: sending meeples to the Cathedral
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2023, 02:52:37 AM »
You are missing the point.
I understand, I was lost in translation. Thanks for the clarification! Just one thought: wouldn't
Quote
You can place your Abbot only in the cathedral in Carcassonne.
be better than
Quote
You can only place your Abbot in the cathedral in Carcassonne.
then?

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6261
  • Merit: 456
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: City/Count of Carcassonne: sending meeples to the Cathedral
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2023, 10:53:29 AM »
Sorry if this has been discussed before. From the wiki:
Quote
You can only place your Abbot in the cathedral in Carcassonne.

This sentence is not present in the paper rules I have and it seems contradicted by the image the game itself presents to show a move from the City Cathedral to a monastery or shrine, that is this one, showing a meeple and not an abbott being deployed to a monastery:


Can I have more info on this?

Ths sentence was included by ZMG in their rules. In other editions, you have this as part of the interactions of the expansion with others (see page 6).

Don't know why you don't like the wording they chose... >:D
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Deployment out of Carcassonne cathedral district

Started by tothederby

2 Replies
1827 Views
Last post March 20, 2019, 02:06:13 PM
by tothederby
xx
Labirinth + Cathedral + Wheel of fortune questions

Started by aenima

5 Replies
2468 Views
Last post July 10, 2016, 10:03:38 AM
by aenima
xx
Clarification of rules (Sending meeple to Carcassonne) - with HiG - 29 01 2021

Started by Meepledrone

15 Replies
2800 Views
Last post February 11, 2021, 06:19:00 AM
by Bumsakalaka
xx
The Count of Carcassonne - Count Robber and King Expansion 6 deployment

Started by JoeSesquipedalian

4 Replies
6087 Views
Last post September 07, 2015, 04:49:49 AM
by JoeSesquipedalian
xx
Clarification -- "Count, King & Robber" -- how many meeples can be played?

Started by RJ-NoVA

2 Replies
301 Views
Last post January 16, 2024, 06:54:23 AM
by RJ-NoVA