Author Topic: Two castles close to each other: what happens in this case?  (Read 3569 times)

Online Snearone

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 231
  • Merit: 126
    • View Profile
Re: Two castles close to each other: what happens in this case?
« Reply #30 on: December 13, 2022, 11:57:01 AM »
I don't understand. Why don't the two castles overlap? Aren't the tiles marked in yellow shared between the red and blue castles on the right?


The areas do overlap, but in this case the red castle could get points from a blue castle, but not the other way arround.

For blue castle, to get points from that city, and not directly, but throught that red castle it would need to be placed like that:

Completed: Robber's Son | Gambler's Luck | Vistas Revisited | First Wells | The Flying Machines 2
WIP: The Occult Tower | Binding Deed | Wandering Preachers | City Gates Rebuilt | New King's Orders

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6261
  • Merit: 456
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Two castles close to each other: what happens in this case?
« Reply #31 on: December 13, 2022, 12:28:50 PM »
A castle triggers the scoring of another when the the castle overlaps the other castle fief (one of the 6 spaces in the vicinity of a castle). The overlapping of two castle fiefs is not always reason enough.

Please check this footnote on WICA for a detailed example:

https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Bridges,_Castles_and_Bazaars#cite_note-20
« Last Edit: December 13, 2022, 12:33:39 PM by Meepledrone »
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline joe_abbot

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
  • Merit: 1
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Two castles close to each other: what happens in this case?
« Reply #32 on: December 14, 2022, 11:02:11 AM »
Please check this footnote on WICA for a detailed example:
https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Bridges,_Castles_and_Bazaars#cite_note-20

Quote
"The blue castle overlaps the red castle fief but not vice versa"
I don't understand, how can red not overlap blue if blue overlaps red? Two tiles are always shared, aren't they? I feel like I'm missing something fundamental here.

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Count Chevalier
  • **
  • Posts: 2207
  • Merit: 31
  • Fan of Fan expansions
    • View Profile
    • www.scifi.sk
Re: Two castles close to each other: what happens in this case?
« Reply #33 on: December 14, 2022, 11:16:59 AM »
Quote
"The blue castle overlaps the red castle fief but not vice versa"
I don't understand, how can red not overlap blue if blue overlaps red? Two tiles are always shared, aren't they? I feel like I'm missing something fundamental here.
No. It's not.
Every Castle has it's own "radius" and there can have areas which are in "vicinity" of both castles, and there are also places which are on control of one castle and not of second one.

As vicinity of Castle is not "square", so areas depends of orientation of castle. And red and blue have different orientations.

Try to look, from point of view of blue which areas he controls. Do you see on those areas red castle?
So if red castle scores, blue will not score in the chain, because it is not in his vicinity.

Issue is, that trigger of scoring is not vicinity of scored feature (in this situation, red castle), but it's in other view.
If in castle vicinity is something scored, it triggers scoring of the castle.
(again, from scoring feature to score of the castle, and not from score a castle to score a feature in vicinity)
Check JCloisterZone Add-ons with fan expansions and also some Slovak sci/fi projects in English https://www.scifi.sk/en/

Offline Challa007

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 612
  • Merit: 34
  • Fight, Flight, Freeze ..... or Play :)
    • View Profile
Re: Two castles close to each other: what happens in this case?
« Reply #34 on: December 14, 2022, 11:18:46 AM »
@joe_abbot :forget the word "overlap" because it induces into error.

Look at it this way:
A castle scoring can only be triggered, if there is a feature finished in the 6 tiles zone.

Now look a the blue 6 tile zone. There is no feature there. So the blue castle cannot be triggered...
« Last Edit: December 14, 2022, 11:47:29 AM by Challa007 »

Offline corinthiens13

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 1002
  • Merit: 48
    • View Profile
    • Divider cards for C1 & C2 / C3 both in French & English:
Re: Two castles close to each other: what happens in this case?
« Reply #35 on: December 14, 2022, 12:28:34 PM »
And the castle itself is considered to be on two tiles only, not on 6.

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Count Chevalier
  • **
  • Posts: 2207
  • Merit: 31
  • Fan of Fan expansions
    • View Profile
    • www.scifi.sk
Re: Two castles close to each other: what happens in this case?
« Reply #36 on: December 14, 2022, 12:41:47 PM »
And the castle itself is considered to be on two tiles only, not on 6.

Not really true :D

Quote
The dragon cannot eat the following figures since they are not placed on a particular tile:
* A meeple in a castle (Exp. 8 - Bridges, Castles and Bazaars): meeple placed across the two tiles

So castle is not on tiles, castle is token placed across the two tiles. So none of tiles represent castle as a feature.

Offline corinthiens13

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 1002
  • Merit: 48
    • View Profile
    • Divider cards for C1 & C2 / C3 both in French & English:
Re: Two castles close to each other: what happens in this case?
« Reply #37 on: December 14, 2022, 12:48:27 PM »
Indeed, but for the case discussed above you consider the two tiles on which the castle is laid on. If one of the two tiles is in the other castle's fief, then the castle is in its fief. I was trying to explain with more simplicity  :yellow-meeple:

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Count Chevalier
  • **
  • Posts: 2207
  • Merit: 31
  • Fan of Fan expansions
    • View Profile
    • www.scifi.sk
Re: Two castles close to each other: what happens in this case?
« Reply #38 on: December 14, 2022, 01:09:27 PM »
Indeed, but for the case discussed above you consider the two tiles on which the castle is laid on. If one of the two tiles is in the other castle's fief, then the castle is in its fief. I was trying to explain with more simplicity  :yellow-meeple:

I wanted to be "clear" >:D


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Two castles next to each other

Started by Leven

6 Replies
4015 Views
Last post February 05, 2017, 02:58:54 PM
by Leven
xx
Only Wagon scored with Barger-Surgeon what happens?

Started by Bumsakalaka

12 Replies
1488 Views
Last post January 18, 2022, 03:04:32 PM
by Bumsakalaka
xx
What happens to the robber when the road he's on is not the longest one anymore?

Started by ac1982

14 Replies
1777 Views
Last post March 13, 2022, 11:41:47 AM
by ac1982
xx
Two Scoring Rules on Castles

Started by JGreystone

4 Replies
3252 Views
Last post May 11, 2015, 05:43:35 AM
by danisthirty
xx
Two doubts about German Castles expansion

Started by BBG

5 Replies
449 Views
Last post November 27, 2023, 11:42:08 AM
by NGC 54