Author Topic: Number of knights allowed in a city  (Read 584 times)

Offline Oregonholly

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Number of knights allowed in a city
« on: July 10, 2023, 12:19:30 AM »
I am fairly new to the game, having purchased the base game only two months ago.  When playing the base game, we stuck to the rule only 1 knight was allowed  in a city.  With the recent addition of Expansion Pack #1, and the Large Meeple, knight placement rules in a developing city has become a source of confusion for me.  Can the large meeple be placed on a city tile immediately adjacent to a tile that has another opponents’s small meeple placed on the city?  I am assuming yes.  If this is allowed, how many total meeples of one color can occupy a city in all?  Is it possible to continue adding meeples to a city above 3 meeples ( one small meeple + the large meeple)?

Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=6408.0
« Last Edit: July 10, 2023, 12:24:13 AM by Oregonholly »

Offline patounet99

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Merit: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Number of knights allowed in a city
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2023, 12:45:36 AM »
Hello,

First, sorry for my english, i'm not used to write in this language...
Cities, roads and farms work in the same way : you are not allowed to place a meeple on a zone (city, road or farm) already occupied by any player (even you).
So, if a city is occupied by a meeple, you can place a tile to complete it, but not a meeple. By doing that, you just virtually add points to the city's owner.
If you want to "take" a city, you have to place a meeple on another city tile around the first city and on next turns, try to assemble them with other(s) city tile(s).
Here is the interest of the big meeple, which counts for 2, and allows you to score all the city points if your opponent had placed an only "usual" meeple.

For visual explanations, see "Special cases" on the base game page on Wikicarpedia.

Good game !

Offline NGC 54

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 540
  • Merit: 10
  • HiG must provide clarifications for all expansions
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia user page
I translate WikiCarpedia in Romanian (https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Main_Page/ro). I have 45,600+ edits at WICA. My WICA user page: https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/User:NGC_54. Romanian translation of WICA: https://wikicarpedia.com/car/Special:LanguageStats?language=ro&x=D#sortable:3=desc.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
C2 The Messengers, Mayor, Big Meeple, Knights - query

Started by Allograft

5 Replies
1342 Views
Last post February 07, 2021, 02:23:04 PM
by Allograft
exclamation
Meepledrone is NOT allowed to read this!! All others are... :-)

Started by Challa007

19 Replies
2401 Views
Last post December 29, 2022, 05:00:58 AM
by carlium
xx
When is one allowed to use a tower piece?

Started by ny1050220

2 Replies
2568 Views
Last post October 29, 2015, 09:18:59 PM
by ny1050220
xx
What is your number 2?

Started by chris6507

31 Replies
4566 Views
Last post May 23, 2022, 05:56:22 AM
by Bumsakalaka
xx
Replacement Tower Piece for 'The City' Version

Started by GreyMeeple

3 Replies
1674 Views
Last post March 12, 2019, 01:18:52 PM
by GreyMeeple