Author Topic: Can a Tower Floor capture more than one meeple?  (Read 179 times)

Offline PapaGeek

  • Nobleman
  • ******
  • Posts: 141
  • Merit: 13
  • The box needs a highly addictive warning label
    • View Profile
Can a Tower Floor capture more than one meeple?
« on: May 25, 2022, 09:06:32 AM »
When you are playing with The Tower AND The Flier expansions, it is possible that the tile that you choose to attack after placing your tower floor could have more than one meeple on it.

Do you capture all of the meeples on the tile you choose, or do you have to select which meeple you are going to capture?

PS: to the admins: The “Other expansions” section of the WikiCarPedia page does not mention The Flier (Flying Machines)!


Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5950.0
Totally addicted to this game

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5117
  • Merit: 404
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Can a Tower Floor capture more than one meeple?
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2022, 09:58:30 AM »
A tower can only capture a meeple at a time.

As the rules say:

Quote
Whenever you place a tower floor, you may immediately take 1 meeple off the board

What would you like to clarify about The Flier and the Tower in particular? This situation about multiple meeples on a tile is not only linked to The Filer. There are several mechanics that allow you to place several meeples on one tile, or even the same feature depending on the mechanic:
* Using a magic portal (Exp. 3)
* Moving a wagon after scoring (Exp. 5)
* Deploying a meeple from Carcassonne (Exp. 6)  - Does not matter if target feature is occupied (meeples are scored right a way, so the tower cannot affect them)
* Placing an acrobat (Exp. 10)
* Using a flying machine (Mini #1) - Does not matter if target feature is occupied
* Add a meeple with a crop circle (Mini #7)
* Using the Add a Meeple/Place a Meeple action (20th Anniversary expansion)
* Using Synod/Change Position gift (The Gifts) - Does not matter if target feature is occupied
* Placing a phantom as a second figure on a tile (The Phantom)
* Trapping a meeple by Solovei Razboynik/Vodyanoy (Russian Promos)
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline PapaGeek

  • Nobleman
  • ******
  • Posts: 141
  • Merit: 13
  • The box needs a highly addictive warning label
    • View Profile
Re: Can a Tower Floor capture more than one meeple?
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2022, 10:39:54 AM »
The rule for Exchanging Prisoners is very specific when multiple meeples are involved: “If you or the other player have more than one prisoner belonging to the other, the owner chooses which prisoner to take back.”

The instructions for Capturing a Meeple number each tile from which you can capture a meeple and states: “The level where you placed your tower floor determines the tiles from which you may capture a meeple.”  If a single player has more than one meeple on a tile, who chooses which meeple is taken prisoner?  A similar phrase would help: “If there is more than one meeple on the tile chosen, the player laying the Tower Floor chooses which meeple to capture.”

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5117
  • Merit: 404
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Can a Tower Floor capture more than one meeple?
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2022, 11:25:07 AM »
The rule for Exchanging Prisoners is very specific when multiple meeples are involved: “If you or the other player have more than one prisoner belonging to the other, the owner chooses which prisoner to take back.”

This applies in a case like this one:
* Red has captured two meeples from Blue: the large meeple and the abbot.
* Now Blue places a tower floor and captures a normal meeple from Red.
* As soon as this happens, both players have to return one of their captures meeples to the other player:
   - Red will recover their normal meeple.
   - Blue may choose between getting back their mayor or their abbot.

As you can see, Blue will have to decide which captured meeple gets back. The other meeple will stay captured by Red.


The instructions for Capturing a Meeple number each tile from which you can capture a meeple and states: “The level where you placed your tower floor determines the tiles from which you may capture a meeple.”  If a single player has more than one meeple on a tile, who chooses which meeple is taken prisoner?  A similar phrase would help: “If there is more than one meeple on the tile chosen, the player laying the Tower Floor chooses which meeple to capture.”

In the rules, "you" always references the active player by convention, that is, the player placing the tile, placing the tower floor, and making the decision in this case. Therefore, the player placing the tower floor is the one deciding to meeple to be captured.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2022, 11:26:54 AM by Meepledrone »


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
When can I place a Tower Floor

Started by PapaGeek

5 Replies
348 Views
Last post February 21, 2022, 05:04:36 AM
by Meepledrone
xx
Can I place more than one Bridge?

Started by PapaGeek

6 Replies
314 Views
Last post December 21, 2021, 04:39:08 AM
by Bumsakalaka
xx
Pig's bonus point on "famine" of wheel of fortune (whit more than one farmer)

Started by claudio_ferra

3 Replies
2328 Views
Last post May 21, 2016, 09:25:35 PM
by Whaleyland
question
Carcassonne for more than 6 players?

Started by Nebus

19 Replies
17074 Views
Last post September 22, 2014, 11:12:47 AM
by SRBO
xx
How many meeples can be placed one tile in a game - Challenge by LunarHexagon

Started by Bumsakalaka

10 Replies
850 Views
Last post September 25, 2021, 04:21:55 AM
by Bumsakalaka