Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - Leven

Pages: [1]
A friend of mine has only 32 bit Windows therefore he can't use recent JCZ versions.
Does anyone know whether it is possible to host games with the legacy (4.6.1. or older) versions of JClositerZone? I haven't tried it for years, and now it doesn't seem to work for me but maybe I'm just missing something. I think port forwarding is OK.

JCloisterZone FAQ, Suggestions & Bug Reports / Engine error
« on: November 19, 2021, 02:10:28 PM »

Is this error message familiar to anyone? I cannot start a game with the new v5.9.0 JCZ, it says Engine error every time.

Official Rules / Magic portal and volcano
« on: February 19, 2021, 04:40:39 AM »

Do you think it is allowed to move a follower to a volcano tile by a magic portal? I mean if the dragon isn't standing there, of course.
(It seems that it isn't possible on BoardGameArena. Is that a bug?)

I can't find the clear answer to this question either in the CAR or in the WICA. Though WICA says that "you may not place a meeple on a Volcano tile" but I assume that this sentence applies to the player who's just placed the volcano tile.

What do you think?

General / Dark colours of the 6th expansion
« on: January 22, 2018, 02:59:20 AM »
Do you know if there are any differences between the various editions of the (old-style) 6th expansion (Count, King & Robber) regarding the colour shades on the tiles? My copy has significantly darker colours, both the fields and the cities have much more saturation than the tiles of the basegame (and other big expansions).

Unofficial Rules / (Friar and) Farmhand
« on: October 02, 2017, 08:56:55 AM »
Rules of the Friar and Farmhand expansion state that
"As soon as a player deploys the first farmer, he or she should take the Farmhand tile. If, during the course of play, another player establishes a larger farm – which means, he or she has the majority of followers occupying the farm – then he or she receives the Farmhand."

What do you think "larger farm" means? A farm that has more completed cities around it than the previously "largest" farm? So if I get majority on this largest farm, I even get a bonus by the Farmhand?

JCloisterZone FAQ, Suggestions & Bug Reports / Chain reaction of bazaars
« on: February 22, 2017, 04:35:46 PM »
I don't know if this is well known but I was surprised to see a chain reaction of bazaars in a JCZ game.

Quote from CAR 7.4. page 95.:
"No chain reaction: If, through the placement of a bazaar tile, another bazaar tile is purchased and placed, no further tiles should be uncovered and auctioned."

Yet, in JCZ the chain reaction happens, but only if a bazaar tile is the last auctioned tile.

Example 1.: In a two-player game player A draws a bazaar tile and an auction takes place. Player B gets another bazaar tile then player A receives a tile without bazaar. In this case there is no chain reacton.
Example 2.: In a two-player game player A draws a bazaar tile and an auction takes place. Player B gets a tile without bazaar then player A receives a tile with bazaar. After both players placed their tiles, another auction happens.

Official Rules / Two castles next to each other
« on: February 05, 2017, 12:51:51 PM »
Initial situation:
These two castles (occupied by RED and GREEN) are in the vicinity of each other. Besides, there are some incomplete roads on the adjacent tiles.

GREEN places an RRRF tile to complete two roads: one of them is worth 4 pts and is in the vicinity of GREEN's castle, the other one is worth 3 pts and is in the vicinity of RED's castle.

Question: how many points do the players score for their castles considering that both castles are in the vicinity of each other?

Unofficial Rules / Natural disasters - rule questions
« on: July 23, 2013, 04:36:44 PM »
One of my favourite CarcC-expansions is the Natural disasters by CKorfmann and Gwommy, but some rules are not quite clear for me, even after reading the discussions at the topic of the expansion here:
It would be great if either one of the authors or someone else here could help.

So, the rules say the following about what to do when the flood tile comes into play:
"...choose a river, spring or lake tile and remove that tile from the game while replacing it with the flood tile. Any features that touch the flood tile are considered uncompleted and can't be completed for the rest of the game.
On your next turn, the flood continues to spread. Before you draw a tile, take the large flood cut-out piece and place it so that it covers the 8 surrounding tiles around the flood tile. Now, even more features will not be able to be completed."

If you take a look at the attached image, you can see that in this game the flood cut-out piece covered an area without tiles, as well. Now what do you think: can a new tile be placed now "under the flood"? It may seem a strange idea, but it wouldn't be completely useless as this "flooded" tile could even connect two farms.
An other question: it's clear that the roads running to the flood cannot be completed for the rest of the game, but how many points are they worth at the end of the game? I mean: do the small parts that can be seen on the flooded tiles count, as well?
And what about already completed features (e.g. the city to the right of the flood)? Do they count at the final scoring of farms?

I have a question about the moving of the tornado, as well. The rules say that "starting with the player who placed the tornado tile, each player takes turn in a clockwise order moving the tornado 2 spaces orthogonally from its current position and may not be moved to the same tile twice per turn." In my interpretation this means that the tornado may move onto the same tile twice (or more), the only restriction is that it may not do this within the turn of a given player (i.e. with the second movement the player may not move the tornado back where it was before the first movement). Am I right? Or should the tornado rather move like the dragon, without crossing the same tile during its whole route?

Pages: [1]