Author Topic: Is this bridge placement legal? (+ another question about castles and fields)  (Read 352 times)

Offline ac1982

  • Vassal
  • *****
  • Posts: 94
  • Merit: 6
  • Is forgetting to score the Fairy point a hobby?
    • View Profile
I put the tile in the bottom-right corner, and then I placed a bridge continuing the road on the left. My adversary said this was not legal because "there was not enough field on the tile to place the bridge on". Was she right?



Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5926.0
« Last Edit: April 30, 2022, 10:25:55 AM by ac1982 »
0 days since last game

Offline corinthiens13

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 873
  • Merit: 46
    • View Profile
    • Order of play in french with every major expansions, mini expansions and promo tiles :
Re: Is this bridge placement legal?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2022, 10:12:57 AM »
There is no "enough or not enough" condition in the rules. The border of the tile is made of field, so a bridge may be placed over it  :yellow-meeple:
Order of play in french with every major expansions, minis and promos:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=346

Divider cards for CI & CII both in French & English:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=535

Offline corinthiens13

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 873
  • Merit: 46
    • View Profile
    • Order of play in french with every major expansions, mini expansions and promo tiles :
Re: Is this bridge placement legal?
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2022, 10:15:47 AM »
By the way, depending on the print run, the field may be bigger for this same tile. Yours seems to be tilted a bit on the left while printing (or while cutting), making the left field smaller, the city's point a little chopped, and the road not centered...

Offline ac1982

  • Vassal
  • *****
  • Posts: 94
  • Merit: 6
  • Is forgetting to score the Fairy point a hobby?
    • View Profile
Re: Is this bridge placement legal?
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2022, 10:25:33 AM »
I understand. Thank you. I have a second question, also about farms. Is the farm indicated by the yellow arrow interrupted? I mean, does the castle occupy the exact same space of the city underneath, or is it smaller and add some field around?


Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5209
  • Merit: 404
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Even if the castle token is smaller, the fields are still separated, the same as the underlying small city did..
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline ac1982

  • Vassal
  • *****
  • Posts: 94
  • Merit: 6
  • Is forgetting to score the Fairy point a hobby?
    • View Profile
Even if the castle token is smaller, the fields are still separated, the same as the underlying small city did..
Ok thanks, even if this is a little bit counter-intuitive...

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5209
  • Merit: 404
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Yep. It may seem ambiguous visually, but the castle token does not change the previous field connectivity.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
clip
B, C and B - rules question for Bridge placement

Started by JaelynRae

3 Replies
2856 Views
Last post November 26, 2014, 04:42:56 AM
by JaelynRae
xx
Another Bridge Question

Started by kothmann

6 Replies
424 Views
Last post December 26, 2021, 08:46:49 AM
by Carcassonne93
clip
Is this combo legal? (Bridges, Castles & Bazaar)

Started by Piancol

3 Replies
920 Views
Last post April 03, 2020, 01:52:03 AM
by Meepledrone
xx
What happen when there is no legal place for bazaar auctioned tile?

Started by farin

4 Replies
1715 Views
Last post August 21, 2017, 12:03:11 AM
by farin
xx
Legal ways to un-trap.

Started by PapaGeek

16 Replies
780 Views
Last post January 27, 2022, 04:41:50 PM
by kothmann