Author Topic: question about the gifts  (Read 344 times)

Offline davide

  • Vassal
  • *****
  • Posts: 73
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
question about the gifts
« on: October 13, 2021, 07:08:50 PM »
After the road has been scored, the player's meeple is put back into their supply.
this rule is not clear, it makes me think that the text says that you can withdraw a meeple after scoring  the road, the example shows your own meeple, but the rule says that the meeple in the road must be withdrawn after scoring, so it can be any meeple? it is a strong doubt that I have.
thanks for your attention!

Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5499.0
« Last Edit: October 14, 2021, 06:56:02 PM by davide »

Online Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 4401
  • Merit: 368
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: the gift
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2021, 12:10:58 AM »
The rules are a bit fuzzy, and the recent ruling that "meeple" is invariable does not help either.

The Road Sweeper gift card allows you to score any incomplete road of your choosing, empty or occupied. As you mention, the active player seem to have to remove one of their meeples, if any is present on the chosen road. But the rules address the simplest case only even in the example, so there are many moving parts here, I reckon.

I sent a couple of questions to HiG about this. I hope they reply soon.

EDIT: This interpretation of the rules was wrong. The post below clarifies their real intent.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2021, 05:16:48 PM by Meepledrone »
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Online Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 4401
  • Merit: 368
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: question about the gifts
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2021, 05:13:23 PM »
This evening I got the answer from HiG.

The Road Sweeper gift card allows you to trigger the scoring of any road occupied by you or not. This means that:
* The majority rule is applied to this scoring
* Any meeples on the road will be returned to their owners
Since this happens before the tile is placed, you may later occupy the road just vacated.

HiG didn't clarified whether the road is scored as if during the game or after the game, but it seems more than reasonable that the road is scored as an incomplete feature at the end of the game.

Check the clarification here:
https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5615.0


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
clip
The Gifts - New mini expansion announced

Started by Meepledrone

65 Replies
4206 Views
Last post November 23, 2021, 12:46:21 AM
by Willem
xx
Clarification of rules (The Gifts) - with HiG - 17 12 2021

Started by Meepledrone

1 Replies
97 Views
Last post December 17, 2021, 04:16:45 PM
by Meepledrone
xx
Quick question about Essen 2016

Started by Jéré

18 Replies
6871 Views
Last post January 07, 2016, 08:24:40 AM
by Decar
xx
newbie question about scoring

Started by ngkeith

9 Replies
4026 Views
Last post April 10, 2016, 08:12:27 AM
by SRBO
xx
Another Bridge Question

Started by kothmann

6 Replies
159 Views
Last post December 26, 2021, 08:46:49 AM
by Carcassonne93