Author Topic: Ghosts, Abbots and Spell Circles - Clarifications by Cundco - 13 03 2024  (Read 437 times)

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6325
  • Merit: 456
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
I contacted Cundco about the ghosts, abbots and spell circles, and I received the following clarifications on March 13th 2024...

Following Kettlefish's tradition...

Question in BLUE

Answer in GREEN

Still open in RED

My own comments in MAROON

Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=6618.0
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6325
  • Merit: 456
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
[Q1] If you remove an abbot with one ghost from a garden, we are considering that the player will score -2 points for the ghost, the same as for any other scorings during the game. Removing the abbot without penalty from the ghost seems an extremely easy way out. Is this correct?

[A1] The ghost should simply score -2 points, no matter if you scored the abbot early or not.

As a general case, ghosts should be considered in all scorings involving features or meeples during the game. Each ghost will be worth -2 points.

Therefore, these scorings will take into consideration any ghosts added to meeples:
* The scoring of a road with a Road Sweeper gift (The Gifts)
* The removal of an abbot (The Abbot)
* The scoring of an acrobat pyramid (Exp. 10 - Under the Bit Top)
* The scoring of a field due to a barn placement or to connecting fields with barns (Exp. 5 - Abbey & Mayor)
* The scoring of a feature just completed (base game and expansions)
* The scoring of a meeple with Message #8 (Mini 2 - The Messengers)


Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6325
  • Merit: 456
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
[Q2.1] As per the rules, it seems that the ghosts placed on a tile with spell circles just placed cannot be added to meeples until a later turn, no matter if the mist is completed or not during this turn. Is this correct?

[A2.1] No, this is a special case. Ghosts from the spell circles are not added directly, when placing the spell circle tile. However, if you complete a mist with a spell circle tile, you move all the ghosts in the mist bank, including those just placed on the spell circle tile.



[Q2.2] Red and Blue are playing a game. If Red completes this mist with a spell circle tile, does the player add the ghosts on it to the Blue's meeple?



[A2.2] Yes, you add all 3 ghosts, as shown in the picture (1 ghost from the supply for extending the mist and the 2 ghosts on spell circles in the mist since the it was just completed).

The ghosts on the spell circles will be added to Blue's meeple as a special case, since Red completed the mist. If Red hadn't completed the mist, only one of the meeples on the spell circles would be added to Blue's meeple.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2024, 01:59:17 AM by Meepledrone »


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Abbots, Monks, Heretics, Bishops and... Abbots.

Started by Christopher

2 Replies
3423 Views
Last post March 23, 2016, 09:48:18 AM
by Christopher
xx
Spell Circles Seconds Review?

Started by chris6507

4 Replies
727 Views
Last post November 29, 2023, 04:45:23 AM
by BBG
xx
Wonders of Humanity - Clarification by Cundco - 08 03 2024

Started by Meepledrone

4 Replies
374 Views
Last post March 08, 2024, 10:14:04 AM
by Meepledrone
xx
April 2024 novelties…

Started by supertopix

2 Replies
116 Views
Last post April 24, 2024, 04:24:05 PM
by Meepledrone
clip
Carcassonne Central: Easter Quiz 2024

Started by Meepledrone

0 Replies
366 Views
Last post March 30, 2024, 02:59:42 PM
by Meepledrone