Author Topic: Questions about the Phantom  (Read 1267 times)

Offline JohannesD

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Merit: 3
    • View Profile
Questions about the Phantom
« on: March 14, 2021, 12:01:45 AM »
Hello everyone,

I am quite new to the world of Carcassonne and this forum (a year and a half) and I enjoy immensely playing the game and reading the various posts. It’s a great community; a big thank you to all contributors!

I would be really grateful if someone could answer a couple of questions I have concerning the deployment of the Phantom. Up to now I haven’t been able to find the answers neither in WikiCarpedia nor in this forum, but maybe I haven’t been searching the right way.... So, please consider the following situations:

    a. By placing a tile in one’s turn, two unoccupied features are completed. Can the player deploy a meeple and the phantom on each feature respectively and score points for both? I know that you can place a meeple in a feature you just completed, immediately score it, and then return the meeple to your supply. Does this apply to the phantom as well, it being the second meeple placed on a second just (or perhaps already?) completed feature?

    b. By placing a tile in one’s turn, one unoccupied feature is completed and another feature on the just placed tile remains incomplete e.g. a road is completed and the monastery on the tile is incomplete. Can the player place a meeple on the incomplete feature (i.e. the monastery in the example aforementioned) and then the phantom on the just completed feature (i.e. the road) and score the points, or must the player deploy first the “normal” meeple to the just completed feature and then the phantom to the incomplete feature?

I hope my questions are clear and that I haven’t confused you. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you beforehand.
Johannes


Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5109.0

Offline Gagoune

  • Nobleman
  • ******
  • Posts: 116
  • Merit: 14
  • To place or not to place...?
    • View Profile
Re: Questions about the Phantom
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2021, 12:16:54 AM »
Hello JohannesD,
Thanks for your questions. Those two questions have the same answer...
The meeple and the Phantom are placed in the "2. Place a meeple" part of your turn. This part happen before the next one "3. Scoring a feature".
So your meeple and your Phanthom are placed before scoring the features.  :))
Have a look at the turn sequence on the WiCa.  ;)
I hope I didn't write anything wrong. In that case, other people will correct me.  ;D

Offline JohannesD

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Merit: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Questions about the Phantom
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2021, 12:44:41 AM »
Dear Cagoune,

Thank you very much for your prompt reply! You must be right! I hadn't thought of checking the order of play using only the Phantom expansion, which makes it quite clear.
Thanks again :)

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6318
  • Merit: 456
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions about the Phantom
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2021, 01:09:14 AM »
Hello everyone,

I am quite new to the world of Carcassonne and this forum (a year and a half) and I enjoy immensely playing the game and reading the various posts. It’s a great community; a big thank you to all contributors!

Hi JohannesD!

Congrats for your first post! Glad to hear you are enjoying the forum.

I would be really grateful if someone could answer a couple of questions I have concerning the deployment of the Phantom. Up to now I haven’t been able to find the answers neither in WikiCarpedia nor in this forum, but maybe I haven’t been searching the right way.... So, please consider the following situations:

    a. By placing a tile in one’s turn, two unoccupied features are completed. Can the player deploy a meeple and the phantom on each feature respectively and score points for both? I know that you can place a meeple in a feature you just completed, immediately score it, and then return the meeple to your supply. Does this apply to the phantom as well, it being the second meeple placed on a second just (or perhaps already?) completed feature?

The phantom behaves as a regular meeple but with special placement rules. The turn sequence goes as follows...

1. Placing a tile
    - Draw tile and place it taking into consideration any possible actions triggered at this point
2. Placing a meeple
    - Place a wooden meeple, a wooden figure or a token, if you decide so and you are allowed (you cannot have removed a knight with a princess tile). Note that at this step other actions are possible: removing an abbot, removing a meeple with a festival tile,...
    - Place your phantom, if you decide so and you are allowed (you cannot have removed a knight with a princess tile)
    - Perform other actions related to shepherds and/or fruit-bearing trees.
3. Scoring a feature
    - Score any features completed and remove the meeples on them

So, as you can see, you can occupy up to two features with direct placement and, of course, score them both. If you use a magic portal or a flying machine with one wooden meeple or the phantom, it can only land on an incomplete feature that cannot be scored on this turn.

As Gagoune commented, have a look to the Order of Play and select the expansions you want to analyze to see how they affect the turn sequence:
https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Order_of_Play

    b. By placing a tile in one’s turn, one unoccupied feature is completed and another feature on the just placed tile remains incomplete e.g. a road is completed and the monastery on the tile is incomplete. Can the player place a meeple on the incomplete feature (i.e. the monastery in the example aforementioned) and then the phantom on the just completed feature (i.e. the road) and score the points, or must the player deploy first the “normal” meeple to the just completed feature and then the phantom to the incomplete feature?

The restrictions for the phantom only affect the placement order of the phantom but not the order the features have to be occupied. The phantom has to be placed as second figure but you can decide any valid feature for it (incomplete or just completed). During a game, you may prefer to place the phantom on a feature about to be score of that would be easily completed, so you can get it back as soon as possible. But this falls on the strategy side in order to increase the odds to occupy and score more features.

The placement restrictions of the phantom will allow you to occupy a city just vacated and completed with a tower piece but will not allow you to place the phantom as a farmer and then a pig in the same field or place the phantom in a city and then the builder. The phantom will be placed after placing a meeple, a pig, a builder, a tower piece, removing an abbot...

To see an example using a tower piece and a phantom to take over and score a city, check here (scroll down to section The Phantom):
https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Tower#Other_expansions

I hope my questions are clear and that I haven’t confused you. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you beforehand.
Johannes

Your questions were perfect. Hope my answers helped too.
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline JohannesD

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Merit: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Questions about the Phantom
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2021, 12:56:30 PM »
Hi Meepledrone!

Thank you very much for your thorough and detailed reply! It is perfectly clear to me now. I realise now that it was quite elementary and simple but somehow I got confused.
All the best.
Johannes

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6318
  • Merit: 456
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Questions about the Phantom
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2021, 01:25:11 PM »
No problem!

Happy to help.  ;D


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Mage & Witch, and Phantom questions

Started by danisthirty

6 Replies
11210 Views
Last post October 15, 2013, 09:20:50 AM
by danisthirty
xx
Tower, Builder, Phantom combo

Started by PapaGeek

4 Replies
942 Views
Last post June 04, 2022, 06:40:00 AM
by Bumsakalaka
xx
Carcassonne iOS: The Phantom

Started by Jéré

19 Replies
15566 Views
Last post May 28, 2014, 06:12:35 PM
by evmillan
xx
The Festival Phantom

Started by PapaGeek

4 Replies
864 Views
Last post April 09, 2023, 09:38:56 AM
by Meepledrone
xx
WTB Phantom

Started by quevy

3 Replies
2649 Views
Last post May 07, 2015, 11:26:10 AM
by Matt