Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - BBG

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5
Hi. I was updating my collection and for doing this I always use the "Collections and Expansions" page on WikiCarpedia (thank you to whoever created it! It's perfect for completionists)
I noticed that the Wonders of Humanity expansion - while correctly listed subsequently along with its image - is not part of the C1/C2/C3 first inventory tables. Is this wanted or is it just an oversight?

General / Carcassonne, videogames and the olympic torch
« on: March 27, 2024, 02:16:21 PM »
Not sure if this the right place to share this, feel free to move the thread elsewhere if you deem it appropriate. I also don't know if this has been posted before, I tried to search for these but I didn't get any results.

Recently I stumbled upon two different videogames involving Carcassonne and I thought it would be cool to share, even if it's about the real life city and not strictly the game.

The first one is Serious Sam 4, a not-so-serious shooter where your goal is to kill everything that moves, while proceeding through scenarios. One of the levels is set in Carcassonne and the environment is enjoyable, there are not alot of images online but you can look for a video to have an idea of what the did.

The second one is A Plague Tale: Innocence, a quite dark stealth base game with ALOT of rats. One of the levels shows how the game city is based on Carcassone, as you can see from this video.

Finally, completely unrelated, I just read that the Olympic Torch will pass through Carcassonne on the 16th of May. You can see the full route here.

Official Rules / Re: The Catapult
« on: January 29, 2024, 02:18:59 AM »
Since I don't think there are official rules for any of these, I'll offer my two cents, i.e. the house rules I use for my games:

I understand each player, during its turn, can place the catapult wherever he wants on the table / the playing area. Is that correct?
yes but being careful that the catapult actually touches the table, even if only by a bit

The rules don't specify that the catapult should be placer on the table. This means we can use it by keeping it in hands, or even with only a side of it touching the table to get some angle before shooting?
see answer above: if any part of the catapult touches the table, that's a permitted position. From here it follows that you can't keep the catapult in hand or suspended over the game table

The rules don't specify that the token should be placed at the top of the catapult, even if it's the most obvious way to place it. Can we place it lower on the catapult?
Similar to above: you can place the token anywhere on the catapult, even the lowest part. But, the launch must be a proper launch, that is: the token must fly in a trajectory, it's not allowed to just let it fall from the catapult or something like that.

As I said, these are not official rules, just some house rules of mine

Official Rules / Re: The Wonders of Humanity – Rules
« on: January 28, 2024, 02:45:59 AM »
Sorry I meant 6 instead of 7, I was writing about roads but thinking about cities for some reason  O:-)

This road would score 7 points. The number of occupied square spaces is counted, even if that starting tile is a single 2x2 large tile.

So a large/irregular tile is to be counted as one unique tile in some cases (e.g. dragon moves) and as made of different tiles/spaces in some others (e.g. counting points)?

Official Rules / Re: The Wonders of Humanity – Rules
« on: January 24, 2024, 05:40:29 AM »
So, since you have to count the tiles and not the road pieces while scoring a feature, this road would be worth 6 points and not 7? (Originally I wrote 12 and 14 by mistake)

This really doesn't make any sense  C:-) Allowing something that's 100% stylistic (lines looking bad on tiles) to impact game mechanics and scoring... is just weird.

Official Rules / Re: The Wonders of Humanity – Rules
« on: January 13, 2024, 12:27:05 PM »
I still don't understand why some printed lines - so not a game feature but something "outside" of said tiles - should be considered to make a rule.
So if I get a custom 3x4 tableau without printed lines, it won't allow the dragon to enter if the fairy is present on any tile?
You said "Each one of those tiles is independent", referring to the 3x4 tableau. Why aren't the 4 tiles in the 2x2 Expansion 11 independent? Just because they didn't draw a line?
This is chaotic

When required
My problem here is that there seems to miss a requirement. It's... random?

Official Rules / Re: The Wonders of Humanity – Rules
« on: January 12, 2024, 07:20:06 AM »
Ok thanks for the reply. It doesn't make sense to me that the dragon eats meeples from ALL squares of a multi-tile and I'll keep playing it as he can only move and eat from one square at a time

This is valid for all tiles which not have preprinted lines like in City of Carcassonne. On City of Carcassonne, there is obvious, which "tile" is protected by fairy, and where is placed dragon.
I think it's quite OK to say that it is obvious to tell where a tile starts and ends even if there's no pre-printed lines. Definitely not following the most recent clarification

Official Rules / Re: The Wonders of Humanity – Rules
« on: January 11, 2024, 10:47:57 PM »
If you place a the fairy next to a meeple on the wonder tile, it will protect its 5 square spaces from the dragon. Therefore, the dragon will not be able to land on the wonder tile.

What, why is that? This means if I have a fairy on the left side of the double river tile the dragon can't enter the right side?

Or that the dragon can't enter the whole City of Carcassonne 3x4 tile if the fairy is present on any of the 5 border spaces with a feature in it?

Or that the dragon can't enter the whole starting tile from Expansion 11 if the fairy is present at all on it?

Official Rules / Re: The Wonders of Humanity – Rules
« on: January 06, 2024, 04:25:45 PM »
Hi, sorry to reopen the thread after more than two months but we saw that the WikiCarpedia Wonders of Humanity page doesn't reference the Princess & Dragon expansion at all, so we had a couple doubts during our latest game that involved both. The situation:

We assumed that:
  • the dragon can't ever eat the "marker meeple", since that's not linked to a specific tile: the player will always maintain "ownership" of their selected Wonder
  • the dragon can eat any meeple placed on any of the Wonder's five tiles (not in this case since the only meeple there is protected by the fairy)

Is this correct? In our game the dragon moved to 1, then to 3, then left and then down to the monastery, eating the abbot.

General / Re: What's up with the River 3?
« on: December 07, 2023, 01:25:55 PM »
No need to get angry, your wrath won't change the fact that it's not River III

Aah the boomer thumb up... I guess it's settled then now  ;D

General / Re: What's up with the River 3?
« on: December 04, 2023, 01:52:11 AM »
First thing I'll do when I become emperor of the Universe is to ban everyone from calling "River 3" the river from the BB5. It's a slightly modified River I FFS, no need to give it a separate numeration! :))

News and Events / Re: The Drawbridges - New mini coming soon
« on: November 30, 2023, 07:16:00 AM »
The empty ditches are for dumping all the misprinted Spell Circles tiles that will be unsold.

General / Re: Drawbridges
« on: November 30, 2023, 12:10:39 AM »
Definitely a good expansion, one of those minor ones I'll likely include often during a game. It adds tension to fights for cities, that is very fun (contrary to fighting for fields, that is stressful and bad for your health  ;D )

General / Re: Spell Circles Seconds Review?
« on: November 29, 2023, 04:45:23 AM »
I have Spell Circles and if I hadn’t known in advance I would not have suspected any problems.
For what it's worth, I received my Spell Circles today and it was the same for me: if I hadn’t known in advance I would not have suspected any issue of any kind... tiles looks good, I wouldn't even know what to check

Official Rules / Re: Two doubts about German Castles expansion
« on: November 27, 2023, 11:09:08 AM »
Thank you for the clarification. Is there any "general/global rule" on why something is "part" of a feature or not, or is just decided depending on the specific case? I really can't understand what differentiates the german castle bonus from the watchtower bonus, so that they have different way to handle the scoring.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5