Author Topic: Builder's Double turn + Message #4 (Add a Landscape Tile) doubts  (Read 1318 times)

ac1982

  • Guest
Ok let's say I expand a city, and my builder is in it. I perform my action, score some points and I end up on a dark tile on the scoreboard. So I get a message and it's the "Add a Landscape Tile" one. So I draw a new tile out and I again expand the same city.
Did I just earned another turn on top of the one I already earned at the beginning?
Rules say "The builder can only ever grant one double turn at a time (no chain reaction)". But I didn't use the builder to expand the city again, it was the message.
Is this correct? I am honestly a little bit confused about the correct order of play in this rare but possible case. I couldn't find precise info on the web.
  • Expand a city with builder in it = EARN A NEW TURN
  • Score points and read a message => Get message #4 = EARN A NEW TURN
And now I'm lost. I do the red turn first (but can I earn new turns, as per previous question?) and then the blue turn, and I can end up on a dark tile again and earn a new message... and so on?
I'm lost.

Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5829.0

Offline corinthiens13

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 1004
  • Merit: 48
    • View Profile
    • Divider cards for C1 & C2 / C3 both in French & English:
Re: Builder's Double turn + Message #4 (Add a Landscape Tile) doubts
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2022, 12:54:18 PM »
See footnote #21 on https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Messages

Quote
If a tile is added to a feature with a builder and triggers the drawing of Message #4, The Message extra tile comes before the builder extra turn. If the extra tile from the Message is put on the builder's feature, this will create another builder extra turn. Thus, the events would be: initial turn => Message #4 turn => Message #4 builder turn => original tile's builder turn. (11/2013)

Hope this helps  :yellow-meeple:

ac1982

  • Guest
Re: Builder's Double turn + Message #4 (Add a Landscape Tile) doubts
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2022, 11:27:56 PM »
Thank you so much I use that wiki every day but I miss so many things! Problem, solved.

Offline corinthiens13

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 1004
  • Merit: 48
    • View Profile
    • Divider cards for C1 & C2 / C3 both in French & English:
Re: Builder's Double turn + Message #4 (Add a Landscape Tile) doubts
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2022, 11:31:49 PM »
You're welcome  :yellow-meeple:

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6351
  • Merit: 456
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Builder's Double turn + Message #4 (Add a Landscape Tile) doubts
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2022, 08:30:51 AM »
Thank you so much I use that wiki every day but I miss so many things! Problem, solved.

Let me know what things you are missing so we can add them.

All your suggestions will be most welcome. ;D
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

ac1982

  • Guest
Re: Builder's Double turn + Message #4 (Add a Landscape Tile) doubts
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2022, 11:21:46 AM »
Let me know what things you are missing so we can add them.;D
No, *I* miss things, as in "I still have to learn a million rules!"  :))

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6351
  • Merit: 456
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Builder's Double turn + Message #4 (Add a Landscape Tile) doubts
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2022, 01:10:04 AM »
Ah! Okay... You don't need to learn everything by heart. If you have a general view of the mechanics, you just need to know how to find the answers to particular issues... ;D

Happy exploring and learning!


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Big box 2016 rule clearification - builder and message 7

Started by Mikki1211

6 Replies
2571 Views
Last post January 09, 2018, 01:25:18 AM
by Sinscerly
xx
No bonus turn for builder due to volcano tile

Started by Hounk

2 Replies
2274 Views
Last post October 02, 2015, 06:37:15 AM
by Hounk
clip
Competition Rules Clarification: When is a U-turn not a U-turn?

Started by rfielder

9 Replies
10160 Views
Last post August 28, 2014, 03:13:33 PM
by Paul
xx
Can you get Message when you get negative points?

Started by Bumsakalaka

8 Replies
1607 Views
Last post August 14, 2022, 10:49:21 PM
by Scott
xx
Special message from Chris Korfmann

Started by Scott

3 Replies
8767 Views
Last post February 12, 2013, 11:23:41 AM
by gantry