Author Topic: King/Barron scoring on same size cities  (Read 3215 times)

Offline pigskinlover

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
King/Barron scoring on same size cities
« on: December 16, 2013, 07:50:52 AM »
I can't find anywhere that this gets addressed, so I wanted to hear your thoughts.  If player A completes a 7 tile city and becomes King, then later in the game player B completes a 7 tile city, how do you handle the King? 

My thinking: King stays with the player until someone completes a bigger city.

Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=548.0

Offline Fritz_Spinne

  • Authors
  • Viscount
  • *
  • Posts: 672
  • Merit: 20
    • View Profile
Re: King/Barron scoring on same size cities
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2013, 08:27:25 AM »
King stays with the player until someone completes a bigger city. :(y)

Offline obervet

  • Moderator
  • Count
  • *
  • Posts: 362
  • Merit: 36
    • View Profile
Re: King/Barron scoring on same size cities
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2013, 01:47:05 PM »
I can't find anywhere that this gets addressed, so I wanted to hear your thoughts.  If player A completes a 7 tile city and becomes King, then later in the game player B completes a 7 tile city, how do you handle the King? 

My thinking: King stays with the player until someone completes a bigger city.

You are correct. The King and Robber Baron only move when someone completes a larger feature -- they stay where they are if there's a tie.

The Complete Annotated Rules has the answer to this and trillions* of other questions. You can find the CAR right here:  http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=238

*May actually be slightly less than a trillion.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2013, 01:49:20 PM by obervet »

Offline Scott

  • Administrator
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2516
  • Merit: 66
    • View Profile
    • CarcassonneCentral
Re: King/Barron scoring on same size cities
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2013, 07:44:44 PM »
The CAR has answers to trillions of questions, just not all of them have been asked yet.

Offline pigskinlover

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: King/Barron scoring on same size cities
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2013, 08:06:04 AM »
Thank you to all.  I read through the CAR, but I wanted to make sure we were scoring correctly.  It reads:

"If, during the course of play, another player completes a larger city—which means he or she places the final tile of this city—then he or she receives the King."

I definitely was trying to add to it rather than take it for what was written.  Thank you for this site and for the rules.  The clarifications and ability to print some things out and leave them with the box is key.  This helps make sense of things without being called out for changing rules.

BTW, we are new to the game and do not have any expansions outside of the River that came with the original.  We just decided to add the King and Baron element without the extra tiles.  We have a couple of random pieces we use to signify these and then use the handy downloaded score sheets to keep track.  It is a cheap and quick way to add a wrinkle/expansion to the game.

Offline ARabidMeerkat

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Merit: 2
  • To play or not to play... that is the question!
    • View Profile
Re: King/Barron scoring on same size cities
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2015, 02:04:16 PM »
Going by this logic then, I would assume that if two people complete the largest city together, then they would both get the King tile, since the tile now applies to this new, larger city (albeit a shared one)
If only I had another Halfling.....

Offline Whaleyland

  • Great Khan
  • Authors
  • Marquis Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2637
  • Merit: 86
  • Toulouse: Carcassonne's insignificant neighbor.
    • View Profile
    • Derek R. Whaley | Historian & Writer
Re: King/Barron scoring on same size cities
« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2015, 02:23:14 PM »
Going by this logic then, I would assume that if two people complete the largest city together, then they would both get the King tile, since the tile now applies to this new, larger city (albeit a shared one)
The King goes to whoever completes the largest City, not whoever scores for it. The bonus tiles can only ever be held by a single player.

Offline Hounk

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
  • Merit: 15
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: King/Barron scoring on same size cities
« Reply #7 on: October 08, 2015, 03:46:46 PM »
And whoever completes the city, does not necessarily take part in the scoring in the city, not even must have a knight in the city..


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Are the tiles in Carcassonne für 2 same size as normal travel version?

Started by Vesselvessel

3 Replies
1213 Views
Last post May 16, 2019, 07:59:21 AM
by DrMeeple
xx
SAFARI - token gain and spending in same turn

Started by Maj. Frost

2 Replies
1887 Views
Last post October 12, 2018, 11:37:47 AM
by aenima
question
Abbot and regular meeple on same Monastery

Started by Ireneu

3 Replies
866 Views
Last post January 13, 2020, 11:05:43 AM
by Meepledrone
xx
Goldmines - can you claim gold bars on the same turn that you placed them?

Started by jungleboy

4 Replies
3006 Views
Last post September 18, 2015, 12:18:28 PM
by jungleboy
xx
Scoring Cities with Mayors and Cathedrals (involves two expansions)

Started by JGreystone

6 Replies
2896 Views
Last post March 21, 2016, 01:44:41 PM
by Rosco