Author Topic: Labyrinth - small riddle  (Read 5581 times)

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 4666
  • Merit: 126
    • View Profile
Labyrinth - small riddle
« on: April 02, 2016, 04:18:12 AM »
Labyrinth

I have created a small riddle for the score...

Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=2584.0
« Last Edit: April 02, 2016, 04:20:51 AM by kettlefish »

Offline Halfling

  • Chatelain
  • ******
  • Posts: 1269
  • Merit: 49
  • Welcome tournament 2015 winner.
    • View Profile
Re: Labyrinth - small riddle
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2016, 05:42:20 AM »
Red, Blue & Green - 2 meeples = 42 points
Yellow - 1 meeple = 0 points

12 different road tiles x 3 (Inn & German Cathedral) = 36 points  (I am counting both Halfling tiles separately)
2 x German Castles = 6 points  (1 castle connected twice, but cannot be scored twice?)
The Geek shall inherit the earth if we get a good die role

Offline Leven

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 652
  • Merit: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Labyrinth - small riddle
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2016, 08:02:46 AM »
My guess is that only red gets points (the majority is decided by the hill tile):

  13 x 3  (12 tiles + a well with the effects of the Inn and the German Cathedral)
 + 7 x 2  (Labyrinth rule: 2 pts per follower)
 + 2 x 3  (by the connected German Castles)
------------
 = 59 pts

(I'm not sure about the Halflings. Do both tiles count?)

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 4666
  • Merit: 126
    • View Profile
Re: Labyrinth - small riddle
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2016, 09:17:52 AM »
Leven,
why did you use a score for a well?

Offline Leven

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 652
  • Merit: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Labyrinth - small riddle
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2016, 09:54:57 AM »
Leven,
why did you use a score for a well?

Out of habit. I had the unofficial Wells expansion in mind.

Offline kettlefish

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 4666
  • Merit: 126
    • View Profile
Re: Labyrinth - small riddle
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2016, 02:51:06 PM »
here comes the result for the score:

NOTE: This answer only covers the rules for the classic edition with the clarifications from 10/2015 (now outdated). For an answer covering the new edition, please see this post below.

https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=2584.msg80348#msg80348
« Last Edit: November 01, 2021, 04:32:42 AM by Meepledrone »

Offline Nazarentsy

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Labyrinth - small riddle
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2019, 04:43:38 AM »
here comes the result for the score:


One more question. If blue or red or green players had a big meeple instead of regular meeple, then he would win the tie and get all the points. Is it right?

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5304
  • Merit: 408
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Labyrinth - small riddle
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2019, 07:05:35 AM »
Hi Nazarentsy!

here comes the result for the score:


One more question. If blue or red or green players had a big meeple instead of regular meeple, then he would win the tie and get all the points. Is it right?

You are right. If one of the blue, red or green players had a big meeple instead of a regular one, there will be no tie and the hill would have no impact on the majority count either. The player with the big meeple would then get the points all alone.

Cheers!
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline Nazarentsy

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Labyrinth - small riddle
« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2019, 06:18:21 AM »
Hi Nazarentsy!

here comes the result for the score:


One more question. If blue or red or green players had a big meeple instead of regular meeple, then he would win the tie and get all the points. Is it right?

You are right. If one of the blue, red or green players had a big meeple instead of a regular one, there will be no tie and the hill would have no impact on the majority count either. The player with the big meeple would then get the points all alone.

Cheers!

Thank you! One more question :)

If at the end of the game a meeple of any player was on the tile of the cathedral, this player would get (24+1+1)=26 points. Is it right?

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5304
  • Merit: 408
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Labyrinth - small riddle
« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2019, 02:47:43 PM »
Hi Nazarentsy,

Hi Nazarentsy!

here comes the result for the score:


One more question. If blue or red or green players had a big meeple instead of regular meeple, then he would win the tie and get all the points. Is it right?

You are right. If one of the blue, red or green players had a big meeple instead of a regular one, there will be no tie and the hill would have no impact on the majority count either. The player with the big meeple would then get the points all alone.

Cheers!

Thank you! One more question :)

If at the end of the game a meeple of any player was on the tile of the cathedral, this player would get (24+1+1)=26 points. Is it right?

CORRECT.

* The finished road with the labytinth has 12 tiles (the Halfling tiles are counted individually). Each tile gets 2 points due to the inn on the road --> 24 points.
* The road segments on the Cathedral tile are counted separately, so besides the road segment part of the closed road containing the labyrinth, the other two road segments on the cathedral tile have to be considered. They count as two 1-tile unfinished roads --> 1 + 1 points.

Cheers!

Offline Nazarentsy

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Labyrinth - small riddle
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2019, 12:45:41 AM »
Hi Nazarentsy,

Hi Nazarentsy!

here comes the result for the score:


One more question. If blue or red or green players had a big meeple instead of regular meeple, then he would win the tie and get all the points. Is it right?

You are right. If one of the blue, red or green players had a big meeple instead of a regular one, there will be no tie and the hill would have no impact on the majority count either. The player with the big meeple would then get the points all alone.

Cheers!

Thank you! One more question :)

If at the end of the game a meeple of any player was on the tile of the cathedral, this player would get (24+1+1)=26 points. Is it right?

CORRECT.

* The finished road with the labytinth has 12 tiles (the Halfling tiles are counted individually). Each tile gets 2 points due to the inn on the road --> 24 points.
* The road segments on the Cathedral tile are counted separately, so besides the road segment part of the closed road containing the labyrinth, the other two road segments on the cathedral tile have to be considered. They count as two 1-tile unfinished roads --> 1 + 1 points.

Cheers!

Thank you very much!

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5304
  • Merit: 408
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Labyrinth - small riddle
« Reply #11 on: November 01, 2021, 04:29:23 AM »
here comes the result for the score:




Although the number of points does not change, the way the number of tiles of the road network in this riddle has changed from the old edition (C1 for short) to the new edition (C2 for short). This also affects the answers to the questions above, only valid for the C1 rules.

The answer to this riddle reflected the C1 rules after the clarifications from 10/2015, where each tile was counted individually no matter its shape. This post shows this rules update for Halflings in C1, now outdated for C2:

http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=2125.msg29727#msg29727

But later, HiG provided clarifications with additional changes for C2 (overriding the latest rules for C1 and returning to the original ones from 2014). Here you can see a topic discussing the rules updates for Halflings and double-sized tiles:

https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5021.0

The image attached reflects both rulesets and their impact on the answer to the riddle. Where as in C1 each tile is counted individually no matter its shape, in C2, features are evaluated by the number of spaces they occupy. Therefore, the two Halflings count like one tile and the German castle on the right counts like two tiles (each half is a occupies a separate square). This means that the number of tiles does not change between C1 and C2 in this case, but this has been the a lucky coincidence.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
clip
small riddle about score: German Castles

Started by kettlefish

14 Replies
5978 Views
Last post November 01, 2021, 09:25:02 AM
by Meepledrone
clip
German Cathedrals and Castles - Small Riddle

Started by kettlefish

8 Replies
4003 Views
Last post May 12, 2022, 11:45:39 AM
by Meepledrone
clip
CC-MasterMind-Landscape 3x3-tiles - riddle 2

Started by kettlefish

15 Replies
5025 Views
Last post July 31, 2017, 04:47:42 PM
by wolnic
clip
Meeple Tile Tower - a small contest

Started by kettlefish

16 Replies
9485 Views
Last post August 22, 2015, 12:55:53 PM
by Paul
xx
Another small question..

Started by coyote

9 Replies
5846 Views
Last post May 06, 2014, 05:05:59 PM
by Andrew the Ambo