Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - ny1050220

Pages: [1]
JCloisterZone FAQ, Suggestions & Bug Reports / JCZ 5.5.1, no AI?
« on: March 01, 2021, 07:56:52 PM »
So, I can no longer play against computers in this version?

Unofficial Rules / Including all three sets of cloisters?
« on: September 26, 2017, 03:00:47 PM »
I understand that the official ruling is that the German cloisters replace the regular ones in the base game, and the same for the Dutch and Belgian ones. And I guess this idea will get frowned upon, but I still want to bring it up, as this is what we do with the physical game anyway. Can we have the option of including all these cloisters in JCZ? I remember there were discussions on the forum about the (low) number of cloisters when many other expansion are added.

Upon reading the discussion about official names of expansions in the profile, I became curious about the German, Belgian, Dutch, and Japanese buildings depicted in the game. I am very grateful that the CAR has rather detailed descriptions on Germany Castles, German Monasteries, Dutch and Belgian Monasteries. Japanese buildings are only available in Carc II, so I suppose the descriptions will come in (the section of) the CAR for Carc II (is that right? :)).
I did find it a little frustrating after I did a quick search on "The Catholic Church of St. Louis of Toulouse", one of the three tiles in Darmstadt Promo; I could not figure out where this church is in the world. Any help on this will be greatly appreciated. And maybe a mention of the city could appear in the new version of CAR?
Games aren't just pieces that occupy the shelf and the table. They inspire us to explore the real world, eh?

Official Rules / Downloadable rules of the New Edition
« on: May 03, 2017, 08:41:16 AM »
Does any one know if there downloadable English rules of the New Edition?
I've found those for the base game and the first two expansion on zman's website. Simply changing the number "2" in the last address does not yield anything other than an error 404. Thanks to Folkydokey who inspired me in looking for these files in another thread.

Well, I don't think we'll get another version of the annotated official rules any time soon, so I might as well starting collecting the files for Carc II. Thanks for your help!

I noticed that Blokus has been mentioned a few times in the forum, but never really discussed.
We had this question today, as the title reads. In a cooperative game, is it possible to play all pieces?
We will try to construct such a pattern some time this weekend, but I would like to ask if anyone has managed to do this before. Or did anyone prove that this is not possible?

For those not familiar with the game, here's a short summary of the rule.
The play area is a 20 squares * 20 squares board. There are four colours. Each colour has all the n-ominoes, where n = 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.
An n-omino is n unit squares joined by sides, sides matching each other completely. There are 1 kind of monomino, 1 kind of domino, 2 kinds of triomino, 5 kinds of tetromino, and 12 kinds of pentomino. One way to remember the pentomino is: (I should give reference here but I can't remember) FIL(i)P(i)N(o), TUVWXYZ. Each capital letter has a pentomino featuring it. I can't remember the reference.
So each player/colour has 21 pieces or 89 area units. Each player starts from a corner, and the first piece has to cover the corner square. Each following piece touches one or more corners of his/her own colour. It's okay to touch other colours by side.

Official Rules / When is one allowed to use a tower piece?
« on: October 29, 2015, 02:01:36 PM »
When is one allowed to use a tower piece? Anytime s/he wants to? Or does one need to wait until s/he draws a tile with a tower foundation?

Official Rules / Barn on A Hill? - Expansions Interactions
« on: January 09, 2015, 10:20:59 PM »
We got this question last night while playing with the barn and the hill, and other expansions, naturally. We weren't sure whether one can put a barn on a corner that where one of the four tiles features a hill and thus higher than the other three. My friend and I agreed that it's okay to put the barn there, even when it seems like aftermath of a landslide. I didn't get an answer in CAR (maybe there is one, but I simply skipped it.). Do all the four tiles have to be on the same level to build a barn or does it not matter to have a tilted building?

Pages: [1]