Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - jungleboy

Pages: 1 ... 181 182 [183] 184
General / Re: Carc Tactics - Farms - When do you start your first one?
« on: April 15, 2014, 09:47:53 AM »
There's lots of great discussion in this thread! Here are some of my thoughts.

Maybe it's just me but in 2-player games I find it actually quite difficult to steer the Dragon towards anything in particular as my opponent will usually be trying just as hard to steer it away and we both get an equal say in where it goes.

This is absolutely true. Unfortunately I usually play only two-player games and I've never played the dragon with more than two people. I can't wait to play it with more people to see what kind of damage the dragon can do.

In the games that I've played, farms tended to get very large, so in the group that I played with it was important to get a farmer down early
Scott - what expansions are you playing with, for games like this?

Another thing to take into account here is that players can (artificially) increase the size of farms, which I do if I have control of it and/or back myself to win it. Some ways to do this are by creating loop roads as mentioned upthread, using the FFRF title with a cloister, and using the rare FFCR tiles and then making that city a two-tile city.

Admittedly I've only played three or four games with The Tower but on balance I've always felt that the mechanics of the towers have taken more away from the game than they've added to it.

I've played with the tower three or four times as well and I like it more and more each time I play it. A couple of days ago I played a two-player game with the tower and traders and builders, and I lost to someone I usually beat because she played the towers better than me and managed to hold on to the biggest farm because I was unable to use a tower to kidnap her meeple. Using the tower adds some really great layers of complexity that add to the strategy experience for me.

General / Re: Carc Tactics - Farms - When do you start your first one?
« on: April 15, 2014, 05:46:26 AM »
If I get the tile with four individual city segments on it though (Inns & Cathedrals) I almost always drop a farmer in the middle and try to complete four separate cities around it for 12 points.

I LOVE doing this because I think it just looks so cool, and it's funny to imagine a real life farmer with this tiny patch of grass supplying four different cities, as though they all really depend on him for their food supply. Also, obviously, no one else can steal your farm. But if it's early in the game, and you're playing with a lot of tiles, the 12-point maximum seems a bit low of a return for one meeple that you won't get back. So sometimes I am forced to forego this farm even though in my heart I always want to take it :)

I just ordered a copy too, along with the River I which I somehow don't already have. But it's my first order at Cundco and I don't speak German and I'm not sure that it worked. I went through all the steps and received a confirmation email from them ... but I never entered any payment information. Is it normal that you somehow pay a bit later or did I mess this up?

Edit: OK, now I see that I have to do the transfer manually. OK, all good!

General / Re: Carc Tactics - Farms - When do you start your first one?
« on: April 09, 2014, 12:05:56 PM »
I think it also depends on what expansions you're playing with. If I'm using non-destructive expansions, I place a farmer virtually straight away and then try to manipulate that farm in successive turns to make it bigger, by turning roads away from it (I especially like making a four-tile loop road from corner road CRRC or equivalent tiles), or placing tiles with multiple cities on it (especially CFCF tiles which can be brilliant ways to get small cities completed). But if I'm playing with something like the dragon or especially the tower, an early placed farmer is likely to be taken off the board at some point, so I find it can often be better to wait and swoop in on a farm later in the game.

For those people who have ordered the expansion, when it arrives can you please let us know if you have a watermark missing from one of the tiles as kettlefish mentioned on page 12 of this thread? This is the kind of thing that would really annoy me so I am holding off on ordering it for now. Plus I just got the winter edition in the post yesterday so I'm not feeling super desperate to add to my collection, it helps to space these things out a bit :)

A bit off-topic here: on the Z-Man homepage they will have the "Kids of Carcassonne" too, but they call it "My First Carcassonne".

That's the same as the French version, which is called Mon Premier Carcassonne.

Sheep and Hills (err, Hills and Sheep) seems to be available on, with 2-4 week shipping time at the moment. Has anyone bought it yet?

Yeah, I prefer Sheep and Hills too.

News and Events / Re: Kids of Carcassonne - to be REPRINTED in 2014
« on: January 05, 2014, 01:33:10 PM »
I'm a little surprised that the Kids of Carcassonne has been unavailable in English. Here in Francophone land (Geneva), I see 'Mon Premier Carcassonne' quite often in stores - more than most expansions for Carcassonne itself.

Official Rules / Re: Bridges, Castles & Bazaars - Cloister in City tile
« on: January 02, 2014, 11:01:05 AM »
This came up in a game I played today with the Princess and the Dragon. I wanted to place a monk on the cloister within the city, and I already had a knight in the city. To differentiate between the two, I played the monk on his back on top of the cloister (like a farmer). I think that helped - there was now a clear difference between my two meeples within the city, and there's no way the monk on his side could have been mistaken for a farmer because he was inside a city and not on a field.

News and Events / Re: Dragon and princess ios expansion
« on: December 05, 2013, 06:48:34 AM »
They have already announced that the next one will be Abbey and Mayor and it will be out next year.

I like the dragon footsteps, but the dragon itself seems a bit too pink in the screenshots. I guess that's because there is already a purple player in the iOS version.

Official Rules / Re: Rule question about The Tower
« on: November 30, 2013, 06:19:46 AM »
What other expansions do people recommend combining with the Tower?

I recommend "The Phantom".

Thanks, but unfortunately I don't have the phantom yet. I should have added the other expansions I own, which are: I&C, T&B, A&M, KC&C, P&D, The Plague and The Cathars.

Official Rules / Re: Rule question about The Tower
« on: November 30, 2013, 05:13:32 AM »
Thanks for the clarification Kettlefish.

I'm looking forward to playing with the Tower again. What other expansions do people recommend combining with the Tower? It seems like using the Princess and the Dragon would create massive destruction and loss of meeples all over the board, which could be fun or it could be too much.

Official Rules / Re: Rule question about The Tower
« on: November 21, 2013, 01:43:16 PM »
That was indeed the basis for my question, and thanks for the answer! But should I now infer from your edited reply that it's not certain one way or the other if the tower remains closed after the meeple on top of it is imprisoned?

Official Rules / Rule question about The Tower
« on: November 21, 2013, 11:35:32 AM »
Hi all,

I just played with The Tower for the first time several days ago and enjoyed it. But there was one aspect that both players were a bit confused about. The situation was:

A tile had three towers on it and to prevent a fourth piece going on it (which would have eliminated an important meeple for her four tiles away), my opponent placed a meeple on top of the tower to close it. However, an adjacent tile was also a tower tile, so I was able to place a tower piece on it on my next turn to take the meeple she had just placed on top of the tower as my prisoner.

My question is: is the tower that just had a meeple removed from it still in play? Could I then put an extra tower piece on it to imprison the meeple she was originally trying to protect? Could this cat-and-mouse game continue, whereby she puts a meeple on top of the tower only for me to imprison it on my next turn, etc? Or does that tower, which was closed when she placed her meeple on it, remain closed even after the meeple itself was taken prisoner?

Thanks for your help!


Pages: 1 ... 181 182 [183] 184