Author Topic: Sunday Quiz 2022  (Read 19124 times)

Offline Challa007

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 557
  • Merit: 34
  • Fight, Flight, Freeze ..... or Play :)
    • View Profile
Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« Reply #150 on: February 06, 2023, 09:47:11 AM »
hahaha,
yes I knew you were only posting answers
no, unfortunately I do not have the time right now to do them all. But it's not lost, I can do them one day  >:D

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5854
  • Merit: 433
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« Reply #151 on: February 06, 2023, 12:59:31 PM »
I will post one answer a week... Hi hi hi!

Now you have no excuse to not try them out. ;)
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5854
  • Merit: 433
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« Reply #152 on: February 11, 2023, 04:48:56 AM »
Question #01: Red has two meeples left in their supply and these two gifts cards. If Red draws and places this tile, the player has the following questions:

a) Is it possible for Red to take over the city?
b.1) If possible, what sequence should Red follow?
b.2) If not possible, what sequence should Red follow to score some points for the city at least?
c) How many points would each player score?



Answer #01: Yellow has the majority in the city but Red wants to close the city and score points for it.

Red can take over the city by adding meeples to it. In order to do so, Red should open a Change Position gift as soon as the tile is drawn and move the Red Farmer from the field into the city. At this point, Red would share the city with Yellow when completed.

Since Red has two meeples in their supply, when Red places the tile, he should activate the Add Meeple symbol and add a second meeple to the city next to the farmer turned into a knight.

The completed city is worth 12 points ( (5 tiles + 1 coat of arms) x 2 points = 6 x 12 points )

Note:
* The Add Meeple action has no limitation if the target meeple is in a feature completed by the tile placement. The Place Meeple action in the 20th Anniversary Expansion has this limitation however, following the lead of magic portals: the Place Meeple action can only add a meeple to an uncompleted, unoccupied feature. The Add Meeple action does not require the meeple is added to an uncompleted feature when the tile is placed.

So the answer to the questions is as follows:
a) Yes, Red can take over the city.
b.1) The sequence to take over the city is:
   1) Open a Change Position gift to move the Red Meeple from the field to the city
   2) Add a Red Meeple form the supply next to the meeple just placed in the city by activating the Add Meeple symbol.
b.2) N/A
c) Red scores 12 points for the city. Yellow scores no points after losing the majority.

Can anyone tell me why Red cannot use the Cash Out gift to remove the Yellow meeple meeple from the city and then occupy the city with a Red meeple? ;D

Offline Challa007

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 557
  • Merit: 34
  • Fight, Flight, Freeze ..... or Play :)
    • View Profile
Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« Reply #153 on: February 11, 2023, 05:24:46 AM »
Question #01: Red has two meeples left in their supply and these two gifts cards. If Red draws and places this tile, the player has the following questions:

a) Is it possible for Red to take over the city?
b.1) If possible, what sequence should Red follow?
b.2) If not possible, what sequence should Red follow to score some points for the city at least?
c) How many points would each player score?



Answer #01: Yellow has the majority in the city but Red wants to close the city and score points for it.

Red can take over the city by adding meeples to it. In order to do so, Red should open a Change Position gift as soon as the tile is drawn and move the Red Farmer from the field into the city. At this point, Red would share the city with Yellow when completed.

Since Red has two meeples in their supply, when Red places the tile, he should activate the Add Meeple symbol and add a second meeple to the city next to the farmer turned into a knight.

The completed city is worth 12 points ( (5 tiles + 1 coat of arms) x 2 points = 6 x 12 points )

Note:
* The Add Meeple action has no limitation if the target meeple is in a feature completed by the tile placement. The Place Meeple action in the 20th Anniversary Expansion has this limitation however, following the lead of magic portals: the Place Meeple action can only add a meeple to an uncompleted, unoccupied feature. The Add Meeple action does not require the meeple is added to an uncompleted feature when the tile is placed.

So the answer to the questions is as follows:
a) Yes, Red can take over the city.
b.1) The sequence to take over the city is:
   1) Open a Change Position gift to move the Red Meeple from the field to the city
   2) Add a Red Meeple form the supply next to the meeple just placed in the city by activating the Add Meeple symbol.
b.2) N/A
c) Red scores 12 points for the city. Yellow scores no points after losing the majority.

Can anyone tell me why Red cannot use the Cash Out gift to remove the Yellow meeple meeple from the city and then occupy the city with a Red meeple? ;D

Sure, with Cash Out you can only take your own meeple back  ;D

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5854
  • Merit: 433
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« Reply #154 on: February 12, 2023, 01:34:09 AM »
Correct! Wooohoooo!  :(y) :(y)

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5854
  • Merit: 433
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« Reply #155 on: February 12, 2023, 01:45:11 AM »
Here you are another answer to the Sunday Quiz...

Enjoy your weekend!!!

:black1-meeple: :blue-meeple: :green-meeple: :red-meeple: :gray-meeple: :violet-meeple: :pink-meeple: :orange-meeple: :white-meeple: :brown-meeple: :neutral-meeple: :yellow-meeple:

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5854
  • Merit: 433
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« Reply #156 on: February 12, 2023, 01:45:20 AM »
Question #02: How many points does Red score for this archbishop at the end of the game?



Answer #02: Red will score 3 points for this archbishop (1 + 2 + 0 points):
* 1 point for the left road segment on the German cathedral tile (1 road segment x 1 point).
* 2 points for the closed road below ( (1 road segment + 1 tile) x 1 point/tile = 2 x 1 points)
* 0 points for the right road due to the inn ( (1 road segment + 2 tiles) x 0 points/tile = 3 x 0 points)

Notes:
* We are considering the road segments on the German cathedral tile individually. They are equivalent to tiles in this case, since there are no roads looping back to the German cathedral tile.
* German castles do not affect the scoring of German cathedrals, even if evaluating a completed road at the end of the game.

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5854
  • Merit: 433
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« Reply #157 on: February 19, 2023, 02:09:48 AM »
Question #03: How many points does Red score for this road at the end of the game?

Note: If anyone asks, the meeple landed on that road with a magic portal. :o



Answer #03:

At the end of the game, Red occupies an incomplete road with an inn, a German castle, the Mage and a Little Building (a shed).

Depending on the ruleset used for double-sized tiles, there will be two different outcomes.
- The C1 rules consider each tile individually no matter their shape, so one double-sized tile counts as 1 tile.
- The C2/C3 rules consider occupied spaces when scoring features, so one double-sized tile counts as 2 tiles (except when scoring a long road on a Leipzig tile).

Let's see the result depending on each ruleset...

C2/C3 Rules

The road occupies 6 spaces (Note that the road segments in different halves of the German castle are counted separately). Therefore this road is scored as if it has 6 tiles.

In order to score this road, the inn is evaluated first, then the Mage, and finally the shed:
* The uncompleted road with the inn is worth 0 points (6 tiles x 0 points/tile)
* The Mage bonus is worth 6 points (6 tiles x 1 points/tile)
* The shed bonus is worth 1 point (it is irrelevant if the normal or the variant rules is applied).

Note: German castles do not grant bonus points at the end of the game.

Red will score 7 points for this road (0 points for the road + 6 points the Mage + 1 point for the shed).

C1 Rules

The road occupies 5 spaces (Note that the German castle is counted as one tile). Therefore this road is scored as if it has 5 tiles.

In order to score this road, the inn is evaluated first, then the Mage, and finally the shed:
* The uncompleted road with the inn is worth 0 points (5 tiles x 0 points/tile)
* The Mage bonus is worth 5 points (5 tiles x 1 points/tile)
* The shed bonus is worth 1 point (it is irrelevant if the normal or the variant rules is applied).

Note: German castles do not grant bonus points at the end of the game.

Red will score 6 points for this road (0 points for the road + 5 points the Mage + 1 point for the shed).

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5854
  • Merit: 433
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« Reply #158 on: February 26, 2023, 04:00:20 AM »
Were you looking forward to another answer?

Well, here you are then...

Enjoy your day!  ^-^

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5854
  • Merit: 433
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« Reply #159 on: February 26, 2023, 04:00:39 AM »
Question #04: It's Yellow's turn. The player draws the following tile and decides to use this gift on their normal meeple in this city. How many points does each player score?



Answer #04: By opening the Cash Out gift, Yellow will remove their normal meeple before placing the tile. Since the city had 3 meeples right before the meeple is removed, Yellow will score 6 points right away (3 meeples x 2 points).

Once the tile is placed, the city is completed with 2 normal meeples from Red and one mayor from Yellow. The mayor has strength 2 since the city has 2 coats of arms. Both players should share the majority, but the mayor is on a hill, so the tie is broken and only Yellow scores 20 points for the city ( ( 8 tiles + 2 coats of arms) x 2 points = 10 x 2 points).

Bottlomline:
* Red scores no points
* Yellow scores 26 points (6 points for the Cash Out gift + 20 points for the city)

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5854
  • Merit: 433
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« Reply #160 on: March 05, 2023, 12:37:57 AM »
I know you were expecting this moment of the week! ;D

Have a great Sunday full of fun games!!! :(y) :(y)

:yellow-meeple: :neutral-meeple: :brown-meeple: :white-meeple: :orange-meeple: :pink-meeple: :violet-meeple: :gray-meeple: :red-meeple: :green-meeple: :blue-meeple: :black1-meeple:

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5854
  • Merit: 433
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« Reply #161 on: March 05, 2023, 12:38:07 AM »
Question #05: Red places this abbey. The player has the following questions:
a) Can Red move the ferry and complete the road network?
b) If so, how many points does each player score if you apply the advanced variant rules for the labyrinth?
c) Can Red occupy the abbey with their wagon afterwards?



Answer #05: By placing the abbey, Red cannot move the ferry, since the road is not actually being extended. This said, the answers would to the questions are:
a) No, Red cannot move the ferry and complete the road network.
b) Since the road is not completed, no player scores points in this scenario.
c) Since the road is not completed, the wagon cannot move to the abbey on and adjacent tile from its current location.

Note that Red would need to place a meeple on the abbey to occupy it right away since moving the wagon after scoring is not an option in this case.

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5854
  • Merit: 433
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« Reply #162 on: March 12, 2023, 03:03:47 AM »
Hello everyone!

This wonderful Sunday (at least in Madrid... sunny day... 21ÂșC... a terrible experience outdoors ;)) deserves another solution to a Sunday Quiz question!

Have great day!  ^-^ ^-^ ^-^

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5854
  • Merit: 433
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« Reply #163 on: March 12, 2023, 03:04:31 AM »
Question #06: Red places this tile. How many points does each player score?



Answer #06: The tile placed by Red completes this city with 9 tiles and 2 coats of arms. The city is occupied by 4 meeples, some of them placed on hills:
* Blue has two normal meeples, one of them placed on a hill.
* Red has a mayor with strength 2 (due to the 2 coats of arms) placed on a hill.
* Yellow has one normal meeple placed on a hill.

In this scenario, both Blue and Red share the majority with two majority votes each against Yellow, who only has one majority vote. However, this tie cannot be broken since Blue and  Red have one meeple on a hill each -the strength of the meeples placed on hills is irrelevant. Therefore, both Blue and Red score 22 points for the city ( ( 9 tiles + 2 coats of arms ) x 2 points = 11 x 2 points ).

Bottomline:
* Blue scores 22 points for the city
* Red scores 22 points for the city
* Yellow scores 0 points for the city

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5854
  • Merit: 433
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« Reply #164 on: March 19, 2023, 06:08:38 AM »
Hope you are having a wonderful Sunday!

Here you are another answe to the Sunday Quiz to you can boost you enjoyment even more...  8)

 :neutral-meeple: :brown-meeple: :white-meeple: :orange-meeple: :pink-meeple: :violet-meeple: :gray-meeple: :red-meeple: :green-meeple: :blue-meeple: :black1-meeple: :yellow-meeple:


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
UK Carcassonne Championship 2022 - NEC, Birmingham 05/06/2022

Started by wallaceprime

21 Replies
1949 Views
Last post June 20, 2022, 04:06:23 AM
by wallaceprime
clip
Easter Bunny Quiz 2022

Started by Meepledrone

16 Replies
5580 Views
Last post June 12, 2022, 12:04:03 PM
by Meepledrone
xx
Superbowl Sunday: 2-player game (base game + I&C)

Started by Scott

4 Replies
4125 Views
Last post January 31, 2015, 10:36:40 AM
by Scott
xx
Clarification of rules (Ghosts, Castles & Cemeteries) - with HiG - 27 09 2022

Started by Meepledrone

35 Replies
2200 Views
Last post October 12, 2022, 11:09:56 PM
by Meepledrone
xx
Clarification of rules (Cemeteries) - with HiG - 15 11 2022

Started by Meepledrone

1 Replies
254 Views
Last post November 15, 2022, 07:35:04 AM
by Meepledrone