Carcassonne Central

Carc Central Community => Official Rules => Topic started by: jungleboy on September 18, 2015, 12:21:59 AM

Title: Goldmines - can you claim gold bars on the same turn that you placed them?
Post by: jungleboy on September 18, 2015, 12:21:59 AM
Last night I played with the goldmines for the first time. Unfortunately I got belted in gold pieces 11-4 (with one remaining on the board) which resulted in a 44-8 points difference just for the gold pieces.

Anyway, my question is: if you draw a goldmine tile and can place it in such a way that it completes a previously unoccupied feature, is this sequence of events allowed?

1. Place tile and place two gold pieces, one on the tile just played and one on an adjacent tile.
2. Place a follower on a road/city/cloister that was completed with the placement of the tile.
3. Score the points for that feature.
4. Claim the two gold pieces (and any others that may have been previously placed on a tile that involves the scored feature).

This seemed to happen quite a lot in our game, where my opponent was able to instantly claim two gold bars two or three times towards the end of the game by drawing goldmine tiles and using them to finish small roads.

The CAR does not specifically state that you can claim the gold pieces on the same turn that you placed them, but the rules seem to suggest that this is a valid move.
Title: Re: Goldmines - can you claim gold bars on the same turn that you placed them?
Post by: MrNumbers on September 18, 2015, 01:38:15 AM
I think this is a sure "yes".
There is a hint in the rules:
Quote
After gold placement, the player may still place a follower according to the normal rules.
So this statement explicitly means that scoring also occurs after placing a follower, so described plan is a completely legal move.

Also there is an order how to place a tile and distribute gold pieces.
Quote
1. Place (gold) tile
2. Place gold pieces
3. Place follower
4. Score
5. Award gold pieces

Pay attention to the word in brackets. This means that this is legal move regarding of the tile placed.
Title: Re: Goldmines - can you claim gold bars on the same turn that you placed them?
Post by: jungleboy on September 18, 2015, 06:47:06 AM
Also there is an order how to place a tile and distribute gold pieces.
Quote
1. Place (gold) tile
2. Place gold pieces
3. Place follower
4. Score
5. Award gold pieces

Pay attention to the word in brackets. This means that this is legal move regarding of the tile placed.

I don't understand why the word is in brackets. Step 1 must be a goldmine tile for Step 2 to take place.

Anyway, I like the goldmines overall, but it seems like it's a bit easy to claim two of them in one turn with a well-placed road tile.

 
Title: Re: Goldmines - can you claim gold bars on the same turn that you placed them?
Post by: MrNumbers on September 18, 2015, 11:04:18 AM
I don't understand why the word is in brackets. Step 1 must be a goldmine tile for Step 2 to take place.

This is an overall plan for any drawn tile. Step 2 takes place if applicable. E.g. place any tile, then follower, then score, then take gold, if placed tile completed the feature. If this was a gold tile, take one additional step after placing a tile - place gold pieces. The rest of the plan remains unchanged.
Title: Re: Goldmines - can you claim gold bars on the same turn that you placed them?
Post by: jungleboy on September 18, 2015, 12:18:28 PM
This is an overall plan for any drawn tile. Step 2 takes place if applicable.

Yes of course, but I think this should still be specified in the CAR :)