Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Bumsakalaka

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 64
The note tokens are placed on features on a tile. Their effect is to add one point per token for each tile (or city in the case of fields). If you try to map this modifier to castles has no parallel, since a castle scores the same points a neighboring feature is worth.

This said, I would remove the note tokens from a small city when building a castle. Since, the would have no effect with the current definition of their scoring bonus.
This have sense. As @Snearone wrote, we have similar situation with Mage/Witch. When converted small city to castle nothing happen. At least maybe that have to be removed from board because it was placed to city not to castle. Same as for note token.

I was also thinking about that +2 to owner but this breaks also basic rules for get bonus for completed city. While city is converted into Castle it's not completed.

Odoslané z SM-A202F pomocou Tapatalku

My preference would be that the Note prevents the city from becoming a Castle.  This makes tactics with the Note more interesting, because a player with a large city could place the Note in an unoccupied city cap that is adjacent to the city, in order to prevent another player from making that city cap into a Castle.
Not bad but it also break original rules of Bards where this is not forbidden.
I think this expansion have enought of strict rules about placement so this can complicate rules at all.

I can imagine to create this idea in new fan expansion, what do think?

Odoslané z SM-A202F pomocou Tapatalku

In my opinion it should do nothing, same way as Mage/Witch does nothing after converting small city into the castle.
Ok. This sounds as precedence which we can use.

Well best way is to do nothing. Other question is that Note is there. So it has to be somehow handled.
I have no favorite of solution, maybe you or Trebuchet will find other solution.

Just notice: @Trebuchet was last time online at on July 19, 2019, 07:16:19 AM

There is Bards of Carcassonne fan expansions which can add Note token to City/Road/Field and this every note token on feature gives to Owner of feature +1 per each tile (city/road) or +1 per each city (field).

Expansion with rules and tiles can be found in download section:;sa=view;down=193

What is not covered in rules when Small City with Note is converted to Castle.
There can be multiple options what can be done, we can find good way and then we can ask Trebuchet (author of this Fan expansion) what community think.

So here is options when convert Small City to Castle
1. Nothing - note will be kept on city without any scoring effect into future
2. Note become be placed on Castle

When Note is placed in Castle there are several options to do when scoring vicinity feature:
1. Score +2 to Castle Owner due to original Feature was Small City and it will get 2 * +1 point to Owner of small city (now owner of Castle)
2. When Castle scores it will earn +1 point per tile for completed feature which fire Castle score like this Feature has that Note token - this can be intention to convert small city with note to Castle to get more bonuses
- example in vicinity of Castle is completed 4 tiles road with Inn. By default Castle scores 8 points for this road. But when Note is on Castle it gets 12 points, like in that road is placed Note.

Another question is Castle with Note at end of game, does it affect scoring of Field?
1. No
2. Add +1 for specific Castle with Note token. This means (City with Note gives not +4 but +5 resp. not +5 but +6 when pig)
3. Add +1 for each object affect scoring the Field. This means when on field are 10 objects and score of them is 30 then player scores 40 points as +1 per each object on Field.

Yes this can happen when Small City is created and none feature in vicinity of Castle is completed.

What do you think?
This expansions is in production as Addon into JCZ

General / Re: Is C2 or C3?
« on: January 21, 2022, 12:16:03 AM »
Why does Marcel Gröber replaced Anne Pätzke?
That's the question. Anyway. Work of Marcel Gröber is based on Anne Pätzke's tiles made for C2. So basic design is not changed so I think that she has to be also credited, or?

Unofficial Rules / Re: Instead of scoring.
« on: January 21, 2022, 12:09:46 AM »
Hi szjozsi79 and congrats for your first post!

This can be interesting, and need to be tested. Did you play some test games with this type of scoring?

General / Re: New Logo for WICA
« on: January 20, 2022, 06:29:51 AM »
Well for me Golden C is very slose to Original Carcassonne 3.0 logo. But Silver C on blue background is my champion :D

Strategy Guide / Re: Project 1A: Carcassonne Game Notation
« on: January 19, 2022, 10:40:31 PM »
What a report! Nice readings

Odoslané z SM-A202F pomocou Tapatalku

General / Re: Is C2 or C3?
« on: January 19, 2022, 02:37:57 AM »
images of cities has not dark roof on cards (at least on promo picture) but Monastery is new design

Official Rules / Re: Only Wagon scored with Barger-Surgeon what happens?
« on: January 18, 2022, 03:04:32 PM »
Thanks guys! ;D

I just hope the winning monk or heretic sent to a bathhouse has a brighter future than brother Berengar in The Name of the Rose... :o
Okolo. Very good reading and also great movie adaptation. Need to rewantch with children to show them really good movie. (They are not yet ready for book - one doesn't read and second read just young adult :)

Odoslané z SM-A202F pomocou Tapatalku

Official Rules / Re: Only Wagon scored with Barger-Surgeon what happens?
« on: January 18, 2022, 01:08:10 PM »
Yep! The meeple winning the challenge will go to an empty bathhouse to pay for his sin of pride.
+1 merit :D

And you forgot mention that MINDOK version has sharpen corners from C1/C2

Official Rules / Re: Only Wagon scored with Barger-Surgeon what happens?
« on: January 18, 2022, 08:37:15 AM »
Ok. Just for proof. So when happens scoring of Cult / Monastery challenge. One meeple scores and one not (basic example when not both finished feature in same tile when placed last tile). Meeple which scores goes to Bathhouse (if not finished also other feature).
Is it right?

And comment to other options in Poll
A. None in this turn (the Wainwrights quarter bonus is received this turn as an edge case) - this meet other rules but not meet rule of two meeples on same road, one sent to Wainwrights quarter and second scoring road receiving also Wainwrights quarter bonus.

B. All other roads in this turn (the Wainwrights quarter bonus is received immediately this turn) - this is con consistent with rules. Because if meeple is not in Wainwrights quarter, player cannot receive bonus (even backward) (Hmm but this can be solutions for Apps).

So solution for Apps can be: Check if there is Road scored and player has not meeple in Wainwrights quarter, give possibility to select meeple sent to Wainwrights quarter and then score other roads - this meet rule, of selected order of scoring features but app get possibility only to choose first - which get bonus. Other situation is that by placing of road can score also opposite player and he has meeple in Wainwrights quarter but after some meeple "Castling" in order of scoring he will loose that majority... but this is to other thread.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 64