Author Topic: Builder's Double turn + Message #4 (Add a Landscape Tile) doubts  (Read 458 times)

ac1982

  • Guest
Ok let's say I expand a city, and my builder is in it. I perform my action, score some points and I end up on a dark tile on the scoreboard. So I get a message and it's the "Add a Landscape Tile" one. So I draw a new tile out and I again expand the same city.
Did I just earned another turn on top of the one I already earned at the beginning?
Rules say "The builder can only ever grant one double turn at a time (no chain reaction)". But I didn't use the builder to expand the city again, it was the message.
Is this correct? I am honestly a little bit confused about the correct order of play in this rare but possible case. I couldn't find precise info on the web.
  • Expand a city with builder in it = EARN A NEW TURN
  • Score points and read a message => Get message #4 = EARN A NEW TURN
And now I'm lost. I do the red turn first (but can I earn new turns, as per previous question?) and then the blue turn, and I can end up on a dark tile again and earn a new message... and so on?
I'm lost.

Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5829.0

Offline corinthiens13

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 896
  • Merit: 46
    • View Profile
    • Order of play in french with every major expansions, mini expansions and promo tiles :
Re: Builder's Double turn + Message #4 (Add a Landscape Tile) doubts
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2022, 12:54:18 PM »
See footnote #21 on https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Messages

Quote
If a tile is added to a feature with a builder and triggers the drawing of Message #4, The Message extra tile comes before the builder extra turn. If the extra tile from the Message is put on the builder's feature, this will create another builder extra turn. Thus, the events would be: initial turn => Message #4 turn => Message #4 builder turn => original tile's builder turn. (11/2013)

Hope this helps  :yellow-meeple:
Order of play in french with every major expansions, minis and promos:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=346

Divider cards for CI & CII both in French & English:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=535

ac1982

  • Guest
Re: Builder's Double turn + Message #4 (Add a Landscape Tile) doubts
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2022, 11:27:56 PM »
Thank you so much I use that wiki every day but I miss so many things! Problem, solved.

Offline corinthiens13

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 896
  • Merit: 46
    • View Profile
    • Order of play in french with every major expansions, mini expansions and promo tiles :
Re: Builder's Double turn + Message #4 (Add a Landscape Tile) doubts
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2022, 11:31:49 PM »
You're welcome  :yellow-meeple:

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5304
  • Merit: 408
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Builder's Double turn + Message #4 (Add a Landscape Tile) doubts
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2022, 08:30:51 AM »
Thank you so much I use that wiki every day but I miss so many things! Problem, solved.

Let me know what things you are missing so we can add them.

All your suggestions will be most welcome. ;D
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

ac1982

  • Guest
Re: Builder's Double turn + Message #4 (Add a Landscape Tile) doubts
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2022, 11:21:46 AM »
Let me know what things you are missing so we can add them.;D
No, *I* miss things, as in "I still have to learn a million rules!"  :))

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5304
  • Merit: 408
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Builder's Double turn + Message #4 (Add a Landscape Tile) doubts
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2022, 01:10:04 AM »
Ah! Okay... You don't need to learn everything by heart. If you have a general view of the mechanics, you just need to know how to find the answers to particular issues... ;D

Happy exploring and learning!


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Big box 2016 rule clearification - builder and message 7

Started by Mikki1211

6 Replies
1920 Views
Last post January 09, 2018, 01:25:18 AM
by Sinscerly
xx
No bonus turn for builder due to volcano tile

Started by Hounk

2 Replies
1775 Views
Last post October 02, 2015, 06:37:15 AM
by Hounk
clip
Competition Rules Clarification: When is a U-turn not a U-turn?

Started by rfielder

9 Replies
3443 Views
Last post August 28, 2014, 03:13:33 PM
by Paul
xx
Message 1 with Inns and Cathedrals

Started by PapaGeek

2 Replies
281 Views
Last post March 18, 2022, 10:44:21 AM
by Vital Pluymers
xx
Messenger message 8 question for multiple meeple

Started by Wishgabishgus

1 Replies
1627 Views
Last post July 29, 2018, 03:29:37 AM
by Decar