Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Meepledrone

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 286
1
Quizzes, Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« on: Today at 12:35:15 PM »
I'm just posting the answers...  Are you going to try them all? ;D

2
Quizzes, Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« on: Today at 02:57:27 AM »
Question #01: Red has two meeples left in their supply and these two gifts cards. If Red draws and places this tile, the player has the following questions:

a) Is it possible for Red to take over the city?
b.1) If possible, what sequence should Red follow?
b.2) If not possible, what sequence should Red follow to score some points for the city at least?
c) How many points would each player score?



Answer #01: Yellow has the majority in the city but Red wants to close the city and score points for it.

Red can take over the city by adding meeples to it. In order to do so, Red should open a Change Position gift as soon as the tile is drawn and move the Red Farmer from the field into the city. At this point, Red would share the city with Yellow when completed.

Since Red has two meeples in their supply, when Red places the tile, he should activate the Add Meeple symbol and add a second meeple to the city next to the farmer turned into a knight.

The completed city is worth 12 points ( (5 tiles + 1 coat of arms) x 2 points = 6 x 12 points )

Note:
* The Add Meeple action has no limitation if the target meeple is in a feature completed by the tile placement. The Place Meeple action in the 20th Anniversary Expansion has this limitation however, following the lead of magic portals: the Place Meeple action can only add a meeple to an uncompleted, unoccupied feature. The Add Meeple action does not require the meeple is added to an uncompleted feature when the tile is placed.

So the answer to the questions is as follows:
a) Yes, Red can take over the city.
b.1) The sequence to take over the city is:
   1) Open a Change Position gift to move the Red Meeple from the field to the city
   2) Add a Red Meeple form the supply next to the meeple just placed in the city by activating the Add Meeple symbol.
b.2) N/A
c) Red scores 12 points for the city. Yellow scores no points after losing the majority.

3
Quizzes, Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Sunday Quiz 2022
« on: Today at 02:57:09 AM »
What about answering all these Sunday Questions?

Today is a great Sunday as any other to start doing so...

Bear with me... Your comments are most welcome!

 :yellow-meeple: :neutral-meeple: :brown-meeple: :white-meeple: :orange-meeple: :pink-meeple: :violet-meeple: :gray-meeple: :red-meeple: :green-meeple: :blue-meeple: :black1-meeple:

4
The issue is that they used the ZMG rules as source material, which included this very same error. :o

5
I just found this official FAQ covering MoC on Dized (the company preparing tutorials and digital rules for Carcassonne and other games):

https://rules.dized.com/game/_1ZD1vKwSSOMSXmHbfRsLA/faq

Don't know if it provides anything out of the ordinary.


6
General / Re: Tile List updated on Cundco.de
« on: February 01, 2023, 02:16:21 PM »
The tile list on Cundco.de has been updated again:

https://cundco.de/media/pdf/8a/3e/a1/Plattchenliste-24-01-2023-1.pdf

Have fun!

7
WOW @Challa007 !!!

This looks amazing! Impatient to start working on this...

+1 merit from me.

8
Official Rules / Re: How many extra turns are there?
« on: January 29, 2023, 05:16:26 AM »
Is this where ChatGPT steps in? :o

9
Great review!

+1 merit from me.

The wording of English rules is awkward and riddled with mistakes. The wrong image explaing how you extend or limit the mist is mindblowing. Who did the proofreading? Nobody? It seems they sent the rules to press with no time to check them. I pity those players who may try to understand the game using only the rulebook. ( @PapaGeek can tell you his experience with a similar case with the printed rules for The Tower in C2. ) :'(

We still have to add some corrections and clarifications to WICA, based on the experience gained by some members like @Challa007. I count on her for this!


10
General / Re: What to do with Carcassonne Tile Press Out Sheets...
« on: January 29, 2023, 03:27:53 AM »
I keep the frames too, along with the rules in paper. I keep all the minis in an empty BB6 and the rest in their corresponding boxes (this is the case for the base game and the major expansions).

Nothing is wasted. Nohing is tossed away. O0

11
Official Rules / Re: How many extra turns are there?
« on: January 29, 2023, 03:24:02 AM »
There is a small difference between
1. The double turn (it is an extended turn where you play two tiles)
2. The extra turns provided by other expansions:
   - Mini #2 - The Messengers
   - 20th Anniversary Expansion
   - Saint Nicholas Scoring Board
3. The nested bazaar round

We have clarifications about how double turns mix with bazaars and messages:
* Each player in a bazaar round may have a double turn even if the active player was performing a double turn.
* A message triggering an extra turn may become an double turn even if the active player was performing a double turn.

In the other cases, it would be recommendable to defer the extra turn until the current turn ends. Note a bazaar round may take place between the first and second part of a double turn, as per the rules provided by HiG. So plenty of gaps to fill.

12
General / Re: WikiCarpedia or Wikicarpedia?
« on: January 23, 2023, 01:27:44 PM »
It may not be used consistently and maybe we should stick to one:
* WikiCarpedia refers to the Carcassonne Enciclopaedia concept as rhe original project name. It is more formal.
* Wikicarpedia refers to the site or domain. It is more common.

Any preferences?


13
General / Re: WICA needs updates (Exp. 11, The Bets and others)
« on: January 21, 2023, 03:09:15 PM »
Step by step...  8)

14
Official Rules / Re: Can the Flier fly over empty spaces?
« on: January 20, 2023, 02:33:01 PM »
We have always followed the reply from Meepledrone that was posted in the comment section for the tower expansion:
Example 1

Example 2


Meepledrone's response was
Example 2 is correct.

You take into consideration tiles and empty square spaces when calculating the tower (square tiles being considered in this case only). "This reach goes beyond empty spaces on the board" is explaining the case of the tile numbered as 2 at the bottom. The bottom stretch from the tower has a empty space at distance 1 and a tile at distance 2. The empty space will not prevent you from capturing a meeple place on tile at distance 2 "beyond an empty space".

Note there may be several empty square spaces and each one will be considered when calculating the tower range.

and those are the rules that we follow for any movement over empty spaces.

Our group of four has discussed a house rule for this situation, if you land on an empty square, your meeple falls out of the game, and you don't get it back!  But that is NOT what meepledrone was saying in his response for the tower.

Yep, Example 2 is the correct approach. The tower range considers spaces in the grid no matter if occupied by a tile or not.  The same happens with flying machine trajectories. They consider spaces in the grid no matter if occupied or not.

When dealing with double-sizd tiles and Halfings in C2, both towers and flying machines count squire spaces, maybe occupied by one or two Halflings or half a double-sized tile. Lovely, isn't it?

15
Official Rules / Re: Can the Flier fly over empty spaces?
« on: January 20, 2023, 02:27:25 PM »
We have an example that covers flying machines and square gaps as part of the clarifications about Halflings. The example in C1 was provided by Kettlefish to illustrate how to deal with triangular gaps comapring them with square gaps... I include the C2 version to show it is also valid.

Check the section about Flying Machines here:
https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Halflings#Other_expansions

Quote

Example 1:  This image shows how square tiles and holes are considered when calculating the flier distance for a horizontal trajectory. This example follows the official rules.

We should include this also in the Flying Machine rules, right? ;)

Note: The issue is that depending on the context, HiG sometines uses the term "tile" to indicate [empty] spaces, for example, when describing the vicinity/fief of a castle. So this may b the same case for flying machine trayectories or tower ranges. Haven't we discussed other dualities such as the one affecting the term "follower" or "meeple" in the past? It may refer to "normal meeple" or to "any meeple" depending on the context... >:D

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 286