Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - PapaGeek

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 13
General / Re: Personal tile from Marcel Gröber
« on: February 27, 2023, 03:36:52 PM »
Oh great, now I'm going to have to make one of these tiles for each member of our "four person weekly game group", which, as of two weekends ago is now a five member group!

Guess I'm going to have to take a relaxing picture of each of our members!

Should I also make Halfling tiles for each of our grand children?

Official Rules / Re: 20th Anniversary Phantom
« on: February 14, 2023, 04:01:37 AM »
Interesting Scott you were writing your reply as I was writing mine! And with different opinions!

You are saying that you can’t place your Phantom after placing your first meeple per the 20th action!

And it still leaves the question about using your Phantom as your first placed meeple when the Phantom is the only meeple you have at the start of your turn, 20th or any other tile drawn!

Official Rules / Re: 20th Anniversary Phantom
« on: February 14, 2023, 03:56:52 AM »
Actually, “The Phantom is the only expansion to date that is completely edition independent, in that it can be used with both First Edition and Second (and Third) Edition Carcassonne.”

There are no tiles with the Phantom expansion, so C1, C2, C3 has no meaning.

And “After placing a tile, the player may deploy the phantom to it as a second follower (on a second feature).”

I believe that a “normal” meeple has to be played first according to the 20th Anniversary action, then the phantom can be placed, but only on the 20th Anniversary tile.

The question really comes down to, since the Phantom has to be played second, and it has to be placed on a feature on the tile just placed, if the only meeple that you have when drawing and placing your 20th Anniversary tile is your Phantom, can you place your Phantom on that tile as the first meeple being placed in your turn?

Official Rules / 20th Anniversary Phantom
« on: February 13, 2023, 09:22:04 AM »
Both of the arrow symbol actions start with the wording “Instead of placing a meeple on the tile just placed” which clearly states that you can’t do the action and also place a second meeple on the Anniversary tile.

The Phantom rule for placing a tile is:
After placing a tile, the player may deploy the phantom to it as a second follower (on a second feature).  Thus, in one turn the player may deploy two followers to two different features of the tile he or she just placed.

There is no mention of the Phantom on the 20th Anniversary page.  Does the Phantom allow a player to place their normal meeple according to the Arrow’s action, then, if the player also has their Phantom available, place their phantom on the Anniversary tile if the feature is unoccupied?

Official Rules / Re: 20th anniversary large meeple
« on: February 12, 2023, 02:03:18 AM »
Yes, the rules say meeple, but they do not say that you can’t use an Abbot, Phantom, Ringmaster, or Wagon to add a single meeple next to another single meeple.  And, yes, for claiming an unoccupied feature, there is no rule on the size of what is on the feature when you are done, so a Large Meeple or Mayor should be allowed.

The issue deals with the wording on the double meeple tile rules that specifically states that after you have placed your second meeple, there can only be a maximum of 2 on the feature.  Adding a double meeple to a single meeple would give you the power of 3 on the feature’s tile.

Official Rules / 20th anniversary large meeple
« on: February 11, 2023, 09:07:21 PM »
The double meeple arrow says “You are allowed to add your meeple next to any of your previously-placed meeples in the playing area, so there will be 2 (there can be a maximum of 2 meeples at a time).”

The only mention of the “Large” meeple is in footnote 6 which talks about how the second meeple added to a feature is to “pay homage to the large meeple”.

So the question is, are you allowed to add your “large” meeple next to any of your previously placed meeples?  If so, it would seem to contradict the “maximum of 2 meeples at a time” provision.

But I would think that the single meeple arrow with the curved line would allow you to place your large meeple on any unoccupied, incomplete feature.

Thanks, I was able to follow the download link to search for “bards” then download the file.  I copied the zip file to my desktop and opened it.  There is basically nothing special about the tiles that have the Bard symbol on them.

We like the idea of having another way to make features more valuable, like the Inns and Cathedrals expansion, and the idea that you can only make them more valuable for the other players is even more interesting.

We are seriously considering using all 24 River I & II tiles, placing something like a gold ingot on an unoccupied feature when you draw a river tile that does not include a road or city.  Then, after all 24 river tiles have been played, there will be a number of unoccupied, extra value, features available for each player to choose from. Might make the start of each game more interesting.

This is a very interesting expansion.  The player who draws a Bards tile has to give an advantage to all of the other players, not your own advantage!

Does anyone have any of the images of the 7 tiles that were part of the Bards fan expansion?

Yes, the tiles only exist in C1 format, but the link provided on the WikiCarPedia page for the Bards expansion only pops up an error message that we don’t have “permission” to upload the file so we can see the tiles!

It would be interesting to see what features were on the original Bards tiles.

General / Re: Basis game with 73 tiles!
« on: February 02, 2023, 02:12:29 PM »
Every exra tile is fine. It enlarge game. So we play games with around 150-200 tiles. It's nice usually 3 hour game, with some glasses of wine :)
We agree with Bumsakalaka, extra tiles are fine!

Our basic game is played with the 4 River Center Scoreboard, 71 Basic tiles, 24 River I & II tiles, 18 Inns and Cathedrals tiles, 24 Trader and Builder tiles, plus 8 Flying Machine and 8 Fan Expansion Fliers; for a total of 154 tiles.  We use all 8 Meeples (one for scoring) plus the Abbot, Large Meeple, Phantom, Wagon, and builder; and of course the Bridges.

The basic game takes about 2 or 3 hours depending on the amount of wine we consume!

Depending on our mood of the day, we also have played with the 6 Besieged City tiles, 20 Big Top tile with the ringmaster, and occasionally the Halflings.

We are now beginning to consider the 15 20th Anniversary tiles.

Official Rules / Re: How many extra turns are there?
« on: January 29, 2023, 11:14:16 AM »
Yes that's right. It I recall, back in the day you could do around 8 turns in a single one if you got the right combination of tiles. Since then, and especially recently, there were a lot of extra turn mechanics added, making the potential that much greater. And all of the new additions are true extra turns, not the pseudo ones from builder or bazaar.
It would be interesting to calculate the maximum possible turns one can condense into a single turn.
And that is why I started this thread.

What if you are using the Saint Nicholas Scoreboard, you have 4 points and the other 3 players are all between 10 and 20 points.  You place a tile on your builder’s feature which is already fairly large.  On your builder second turn, you place a 20th anniversary extra turn tile to complete the builder’s feature which give you 26 points.  You are the last to pass 6 points and the first to pass 24 points, 2 extra turns, plus the 20th extra turn.  Using these 3 turns, you place your builder on another feature on one extra turn and score another builder second turn on another extra turn.  This could go on and on and on.

We are considering a house rule that you can only take each extra turn only one time per turn.  Extra turn tiles can create additional extra turns, but not if you have already taken that extra turn already on this turn! But, yes, Saint Nicholas does have two different extra turns!

Official Rules / How many extra turns are there?
« on: January 26, 2023, 08:59:28 AM »
When you expand a feature that has your builder on it, you get a second / additional / extra turn.

The 20th Anniversary Expansion includes 5 tiles that will give you an extra turn after you place that tile with its arrow pointing to another tile.

The Saint Nicholas Scoring Board has two point values that will give you an extra turn if you are the first player to reach 24 points or last player to reach 6 points.

Are there any other features / expansions that allow you to draw and place another tile during your turn?

Official Rules / Re: Can the Flier fly over empty spaces?
« on: January 18, 2023, 11:12:17 PM »
We have always followed the reply from Meepledrone that was posted in the comment section for the tower expansion:
Example 1

Example 2

Meepledrone's response was
Example 2 is correct.

You take into consideration tiles and empty square spaces when calculating the tower (square tiles being considered in this case only). "This reach goes beyond empty spaces on the board" is explaining the case of the tile numbered as 2 at the bottom. The bottom stretch from the tower has a empty space at distance 1 and a tile at distance 2. The empty space will not prevent you from capturing a meeple place on tile at distance 2 "beyond an empty space".

Note there may be several empty square spaces and each one will be considered when calculating the tower range.

and those are the rules that we follow for any movement over empty spaces.

Our group of four has discussed a house rule for this situation, if you land on an empty square, your meeple falls out of the game, and you don't get it back!  But that is NOT what meepledrone was saying in his response for the tower.

Community Rules (Meepledrone & Friends) / Tile Modifiers
« on: January 16, 2023, 07:28:12 PM »
When you need a specific tile edge to place against another tile edge, what features are available in Carcassonne to modify the edge(s) of the tile you are placing, on the tile you are placing your tile against?

The first thing that comes to mine are the Bridges from Expansion 8.  You can only place one bridge on the board each turn, but you can use a bridge to modify a single xFxF tile into an xRxR tile.

The second tile I can think of is Abbey tile from Expansion 5 which can only be placed in a four sided hole, and it automatically makes all four sides of the Abbey fit against all four sides of the hole.

The third thing I can think of in the standard games are the Halfling tiles.  The basically change the shape of the hole they are being placed into so you only have to match two sides.

There is also one other, non-standard, expansion created by kothmann call Old City.  His personal expansion includes wooden Wall and Gate pieces that can be placed on the edge of a city tile to allow a field or road to be placed directly against the city tile.

Does anyone else know of any other expansions that allow for the edges of the files to be modified as they are played?

General / Re: WikiCarPedia
« on: January 16, 2023, 07:14:44 PM »
Yes, mine is back now also

General / Re: WikiCarPedia
« on: January 16, 2023, 08:29:45 AM »
Still having the same problem even with the https

I also tried to bring it up on my TV and this is what was displayed.

I will try it later today at one of my friend's home.

Access anyway still displayed the blank page. 

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 13