Author Topic: Pendants on 2 tiles for the Abbey&Mayor  (Read 2375 times)

Offline Willem

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Merit: 82
  • Keeper of the Carcassonne Museum
    • View Profile
    • The Carcassonne Museum
Pendants on 2 tiles for the Abbey&Mayor
« on: January 21, 2018, 06:16:57 AM »
Hi everyone!
We were playing a nice little game of Carcassonne today (I lost, my girlfriend won by 16 points and i dont wanna talk about it  ;)),  and we've been discussing these 2 tiles...
Main question:
Do the pendants count for both cities on the tiles?
We've got our thoughts on it, but wanted to ask here to see what people would say :)


Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=3780.0
Join me on the journey through the history and oddities of Carcassonne, on My Instagram

Offline ny1050220

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 447
  • Merit: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Pendants on 2 tiles for the Abbey&Mayor
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2018, 06:40:46 AM »
Given that they are two separate city segments, I believe the pendant is only for the city it's in.

Offline Decar

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6402
  • Merit: 298
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: Pendants on 2 tiles for the Abbey&Mayor
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2018, 07:50:23 AM »
The new tiles perhaps make it clearer:


Courtesy of BGG

I believe the intent is the pennant is only in that city segment.

The original rio-grande rules say: "Each pennant on segments in the city earns the player 2 points."  Rather than the tile.

The new-edition rules are a little more vague, but the intention is clear I think.  The pennant scores two points when the city is completed.  Thus, I conject: If the pennant isn't in the city, it doesn't score.

Offline Sinscerly

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 788
  • Merit: 30
  • Loving to play.
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia - Wiki-CAR
Re: Pendants on 2 tiles for the Abbey&Mayor
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2018, 07:55:00 AM »
Willem, the cccf tile. That one from I&C. Does that pennant count for both cities?
I think it was meant to be only for that city piece
« Last Edit: January 21, 2018, 08:52:01 AM by Sinscerly »
"What things can you find? Things that are hidden?
In for a new league?: 2021 New league?
Do you know The WikiCarpedia?

Offline Willem

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Merit: 82
  • Keeper of the Carcassonne Museum
    • View Profile
    • The Carcassonne Museum
Re: Pendants on 2 tiles for the Abbey&Mayor
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2018, 08:36:47 AM »
Ok, i agree, the pennants only count on the specific city segment, and not for both.
We just werent sure about it, so wanted to have some reassurance.

Thanks all!

Offline Decar

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6402
  • Merit: 298
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: Pendants on 2 tiles for the Abbey&Mayor
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2018, 09:48:56 AM »
That moment where you suddenly go:  have I been playing this wrong all this time?....

Offline InTheDark

  • Nobleman
  • ******
  • Posts: 140
  • Merit: 6
  • Carcassonne! Where?
    • View Profile
Re: Pendants on 2 tiles for the Abbey&Mayor
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2018, 07:50:01 PM »
Given that they are two separate city segments, I believe the pendant is only for the city it's in.
I agree with this ruling. This is what I have always played but I decided to check the rules to be sure. I have the new edition of the expansion so I am going off the rules that came in the box.

Image of first page of rules:


Next to this CCFC tile:

is the text:
There are two separate cities on this tile. The city with the coat of arms ends after the bridge in the lower field. This is important for field scoring.
The key in this text is when it says: "The city with the coat of arms..." as that tells us that only one of the cities has a coat of arms in it!

I hope this helped :D!
« Last Edit: July 20, 2018, 05:05:58 AM by MrNumbers, Reason: Links fixed »
"Where Is the French Monasteries Mini Expansion At?" -Guy Wondering Why Game Set In France Gets Expansions Set In Other Countries.

Offline Willem

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Merit: 82
  • Keeper of the Carcassonne Museum
    • View Profile
    • The Carcassonne Museum
Re: Pendants on 2 tiles for the Abbey&Mayor
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2018, 11:43:31 PM »
I checked the SCAR, but it didn't specify. As I've got all the rulebooks, I should've checked those  ;D
Good to know everyone agrees!

Offline danisthirty

  • (not thirSty!)
  • Owner
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6800
  • Merit: 274
  • "First to 4 points wins?"
    • View Profile
Re: Pendants on 2 tiles for the Abbey&Mayor
« Reply #8 on: January 22, 2018, 04:22:21 AM »
+1 from me too. Sometimes you just need to go with your instincts where something seems clear, even if the rulebook doesn't mention it specifically.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
WTB: Abbey & Mayor, Hills & Sheep in "old" art style

Started by DrManhattan

1 Replies
830 Views
Last post July 07, 2019, 02:05:06 PM
by Halfling
xx
Abbey & Mayor League - Group A

Started by danisthirty

76 Replies
17664 Views
Last post June 23, 2015, 03:26:27 AM
by Carcking
xx
Abbey & Mayor (old edition) in our FLGS

Started by MrNumbers

0 Replies
928 Views
Last post January 15, 2018, 01:29:59 PM
by MrNumbers
xx
Abbey & Mayor League

Started by danisthirty

32 Replies
10508 Views
Last post June 21, 2015, 11:03:16 PM
by danisthirty
xx
Abbey & Mayor: counting cities at the end of the game with farms and barns

Started by HansLobik

6 Replies
2459 Views
Last post January 03, 2017, 11:57:35 AM
by Decar