Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Topics - SxN

Pages: [1]
1
General / Translations
« on: May 20, 2021, 03:55:02 PM »
I think I need a bit of direction of how this forum feels about translating material from elsewhere. There are several aspects that I have in mind:
- do we need the author's permission? What if the author is unknown or impossible to reach? I'm in favour of doing reasonable attempts to contact the author, but if that fails, the document is in public domain, it just happen to be in a language other than English, so, I'll go for it
- will the translation be formatted to this forum's template, or it should preserve the original form of presentation? I'm in favour of preserving the original presentation
- how about wording? Is it preferred to capture the original idea only, or verbiage too? What I have in mind is points of ambiguity in the original which may be easy to clarify with the 20x20 hindsight, interactions with newer expansions, as well as the turn of phrase, which I find in some rules to be more like a legal contract and less like a set of rules meant for fun and entertainment. I'm in favour of clarifying what was not clear, updating interactions as much as possible, and be precise, but light (I know, the two sometimes do clash)

So, what do you think?

2
Unofficial Rules / City Council - Veto
« on: May 04, 2021, 09:06:05 AM »
I'm guessing the City Council expansion was proposed, discussed and finalised on the old forum. Here, I searched, but did not find much.

It is stated in rules that the Veto tile cannot close a feature. But... the tile can be surrounded completely by city tiles, becoming an integral part of the city. Is such a city complete then? The rules are specifically mentioning the city wall only.

3
Official Rules / Errare humanum est
« on: April 13, 2021, 07:36:22 PM »
Hi All,

Here is the scenario: player places a tile in a wrong way (one of the edges does not match its neighbour). Nobody notices: too many bridges, big meeples, barns, the fairy... plus all the conversations and laughter and food and drinks... you know what I mean.The game goes on, perhaps features are scored with the wrong tile.

Later, someone sees the mistake - same player or another one, doesn't matter. What is the right approach?

4
General / Lost expansions?
« on: April 06, 2021, 03:12:48 PM »
Hi All,

Does anyone know what happened to the Donjon?

http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4613.msg68343#msg68343

Also, same question about Carcassone (sic) Communis:

http://carcassonnecentral.com/forum/index.php?topic=2269.0

Thanks,
SxN

5
Unofficial Rules / King's Passing
« on: February 28, 2021, 08:40:12 AM »
I think I need help understanding how this expansion should be played. As I get it from JPutt's rules, each player sets aside one meeple in a competition to inherit the throne of an ailing king. As the game evolves, it is possible to lose more meeples in this endeavour, depending on what's written in the cards, so to speak. Not clear to me what happens if there are no meeples in stock, as they are on the map: does the player give up a feature to help the king?

After a player reaches step seven on the additional tracking board, the game ends? I mean, the main Carcassonne game? What about being the new king?

Thanks, SxN

6
General / Seas and Oceans
« on: February 20, 2021, 06:10:55 PM »
Based on what I learnt so far, there are three "families" of seas and oceans:

Family 1:The Ocean (Skipboris) - a huge group including
 - The Ocean
 - Men of the Sea
 - Turbulent Waters
 - Deltas
 - Buried Treasures
 - potentially one more component, alluded to, but not named in the rules version I have

Family 2: Even bigger one (Squiffything, Wolnic, Oldbonz)
 - The Coast starts one main branch
   - The Coast: Catch of the Day
   - The Coast: Cities by the Sea
   - The Coast: Coastal Forests
   - by style, I'm guessing Coastal Bridges belongs here too (Wolnic, is this yours?)
 - Sailing the Seas starts the second branch
   - Sailing the Seas: Reefs
   - Sailing the Seas: Trade Routes
 - Masters of the Ocean starts the third branch
   - Masters of the Ocean: 3 Barons
  - by style and French name, I think Monastère Océanique (Sea Monastery) belongs here as well (Oldbonz?)
  - again, judging by style and language, I think Portailes (Gates) belongs here too (Oldbonz?)

Family 3: (Hawkinssable)
  - Pirate Coast

Moreover, I found the attached image, which seems to be out of the first family, The Ocean (but not sure).

1. Am I missing any expansion with the Sea/Ocean theme? Would you know if Skipboris published some other component(s)?
2. Am I attributing properly and placing in the right family the expansions I'm guessing?
3. Does anyone know anything more about the land/sea interface attached?

Thanks, SxN

7
General / First I thought it's a joke...
« on: February 14, 2021, 07:59:38 PM »
... but no, El Caganer (The Pooper) is a real tradition. Google it, it's a worth little research.

Meanwhile, the Carcassonne connection: https://carcassonnepiezadeinicio.blogspot.com/2015/12/noticion-devir-apuesta-por-la-expansion.html

8
General / Little gem on BGG
« on: February 14, 2021, 06:06:55 PM »
Maybe veteran players know of this; for me it is a nice discovery:

https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/114286/carcassonne-score-track-and-starting-board#

Perhaps a bit difficult to reach with a large game...

9
Official Rules / The Princess and The Dragon
« on: February 09, 2021, 04:31:49 AM »
Reviewing the rules captured on Wiki, I noticed the followings:

<C1 only>
- If a player draws a tile with a princess, it may be placed according to the usual rules.
Shouldn't that be rather a "must"? I don't think it is optional.

- When a tile with a volcano is placed, the player may deploy:
I think it's intended like this: "When a tile with a volcano is placed, the player may deploy the following figures to the tile:". Would also be consistent with the section following.

<C1 only>
- A follower to the (The Wheel of Fortune)
The C2 version is clearer: A meeple to the Wheel of Fortune (The Wheel of Fortune)

Finally, thanks to magic portals, more than one follower may end up on the same tile, albeit on different features. Imagine a tile with two road segments ending in a cloister and surrounded by two fields. Blue may have a claim on one road segment, Green on the other, Red on the cloister, Black as farmer on one field, Yellow on the other field. Quite a busy place, but possible, as I understand the rules. If now Blue decides to bring the Fairy to this party, then:
- the +1 point bonus applies to all the players for as long as at the beginning of their turn the Fairy is on that tile, regardless who placed her
- protection from the Dragon applies to all players, as the Dragon is prevented by Fairy to step on that tile
- the +3 bonus at feature closing applies to whoever closed the feature thanks to Fairy proximity. However, the Fairy is leaving the tile and follows only Blue when closing their road

Well, such an approach would be inconsistent with the one described for The Flier. Then again, it would be consistent with the exception noted there:

The Flier (Flying Machines): Only one follower can be "next to" (or connected to) the fairy. Thus, only one follower will receive points from the fairy. Even if another follower is placed in the same feature on the same tile (as with the Flying Machines), this would not be considered "next to" the fairy. Landing a follower on an acrobat pyramid would be the exception to this rule.

So, what's the right way for portals?

10
General / Curious about old expansions and variations
« on: February 04, 2021, 10:50:17 AM »
Hello,

The old CarC site has a post mentioning several variations and expansions: http://carcassonnecentral.com/forum/index.php?topic=737.0.

Most of the links there (or subsequent ones) seem to be broken. Does anyone have access to these expansions and variation rules? If so, would it be possible to share them?

Thanks, SxN

11
Official Rules / Rules about bazaars (Bridges, Castles and Bazaars)
« on: January 31, 2021, 03:14:56 PM »
I am checking the rules for Bazaars (1st edition) as described in Wikicarpedia, The example states on the last bullet (star?) that
Quote
There is now only one tile left, which GREEN receives for free.

Shouldn't that be "RED receives for free" instead? All players should have their tile, shouldn't they?

Things are mirrored in the new edition the same way, albeit with other colours. Am I mixing up things?

12
General / How many tiles are left?
« on: January 26, 2021, 05:26:48 AM »
I like to play Scrabble. The analogy with Carcassonne is remarkable: both are tile placing games, for both there are certain rules on how tiles are layed and then there are scoring rules. For both, players take turns in randomly selecting the next tile (perhaps plural in Scrabble's case) out of the set of unplayed tiles.

In Scrabble's case, the tile's distribution is printed on the board: how many A's, how many B's, etc (dependent on language). Carcassonne does not do the same, but should it? There is a difference between knowing that a certain tile configuration (say CRFF) is in the bag or it isn't, versus hoping that it is in the bag (or isn't). For competitional Carcassonne, knowing how many tiles of each configuration are and calculating what is left in the bag may be a skill differentiating the Champion from the rest of the crowd. For home games, with friends, with kids, with all kind of expansions, it might be useful to have this information stated somewhere (and somehow).

Would this spoil the game, will it be in Carcassonne's spirit, or maybe it is a matter of taste? What do you think?

13
Unofficial Rules / A History of Carcassonne: Grand Campaign
« on: January 12, 2021, 09:47:18 PM »
Hello Experts,

I was looking at this epic expansion by Whaleyland and got a bit confused on the scoring section; hoping you can help me figure it out.

Quote
Scenario Scoring
    After each scenario, scores are determined following the standard rules of the base game and
    any included element(s). Points for the campaign are then awarded as follows:

        First Place — 10 points
        Second Place — 6 points
        Third Place — 3 points
        Fourth Place — 1 point


    These points are placed on the Campaign Ledger that tracks all ten games of the campaign.
    At the end of the campaign, these points are added together to determine the winner of the
    campaign. The highest score wins. If there is a tie, the player who ranked first the most times
    wins.

    After each scenario is ended, the winner also receives a reward that they may use exclusively
    in the following scenario (see the individual scenarios for rewards). In subsequent scenarios,
    all players receive the special benefit. Special benefits are cumulative and remain for the rest
    of the campaign. Benefits are used following their standard rules as printed in their expansion
    rules.

    The player with the lowest cumulative score (based on the points on the Campaign Ledger) is
    the first player in the next scenario.

Grand Campaign Scoring
    After completing each campaign, continue onto the next campaign. Record final campaign
    points on the Grand Campaign Ledger after each campaign is completed. In addition,
    players receive +1 point for each scenario that they won in a campaign.

What I understand is that this is a bit like tennis, but instead of game, set, match, it is organized as scenario, campaign, match.

Scenario points are those resulting from "traditional" scoring of a Carcassonne game. The winner of the scenario gets rewarded by a benefit (one scenario before the other players). Also, the next scenario is begun by the player with the least cumulative score from all the played scenarios in the current campaign.

After playing the last scenario, the scoring for the campaign is the cumulative score of the 10 scenarios. The winner is the player with the most points. In case of tie, out of the potential winners is chosen the one with the most won scenarios.

Once the campaign winner is known, it receives 10 more points, the second place gets 6 more points, 3 points extra for the third place, and 1 for the fourth.

The score for the match is the sum of all the points earned by player in campaigns. On top of that, there is a 1 point bonus for each won scenario.

After all this additions, the victor is the player with the best score.

Is this how it works?

Thanks!

14
Official Rules / Back to the basics - scoring roads and cities
« on: January 02, 2021, 04:49:32 PM »
As a new :yellow-meeple: that I am, I started to explore the world of Carcassonne. This way, I learnt of the existence of a CAR. "Hooray", I said to myself, and, like troubadours, built myself a road to go to the city hosting it as a precious treasure. Actually, I found it with the help of the CarF (learning the lingo on the go :) ).

After this adventure, I wanted to score myself, but... version 7.4 of S-CAR (which I believe is the latest and the greatest) left me confused  ???... It states on the top of page 14, with an illustrated example, that for roads I shall award myself road segments, for a total of four points in the square tile placement provided, and three for the vertical one. Cool! So, I played it wrong all along (awarding points for tiles instead), but new meeples are supposed to learn, right?

However, on page 16 knights get scored 8 points for a square configuration, counting tiles, not city fragments. Hmmm...

Was curious and checked the history: the same scoring is stated in version 4.0. This seems to have some deep roots :)

For consistency, shouldn't same rule apply to both roads and cities?

Pages: [1]