Author Topic: Princess and the Dragon - Rule Clarifications  (Read 4020 times)

Offline reddalek

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Merit: 1
    • View Profile
    • The Musings of a Red Dalek
Princess and the Dragon - Rule Clarifications
« on: November 15, 2016, 08:55:19 PM »
Hi,

My girlfriend and I just finished playing our first game of the Princess and the Dragon expansion (new edition) and we have a few questions! Apologies if they are very newbie :)

We played as if the answer was 'yes' to all 5 questions:

1. After the dragon is drawn, can you move the fairy before the dragon starts to move?
(Rationale: yes, because you can place a meeple, and moving the fairy is equivalent.)

2. Can you move the fairy to a feature which is about to be completed and scored (and gain 3 extra points)?
(Rationale: same as above)

3. If you remove an Abbot from an incomplete monastery or garden while it is protected by the fairy, do you score an additional 3 points?
(Rationale: yes, because the rules say you can an additional 3 points when the feature is 'scored', not completed)

4. If you score an incomplete feature at the end of the game which is protected by the fairy, do you score an additional 3 points?
(Rationale: same as above)

5. Can you use the magic portal to take a monastery or garden which is 'incomplete' but was previously scored by someone's Abbot?
(Rationale: yes, because it is still incomplete)

Let us know if we've got any of this wrong!

Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=2967.0

Offline MrNumbers

  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1828
  • Merit: 91
    • View Profile
    • Carcassonne Latvia
Re: Princess and the Dragon - Rule Clarifications
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2016, 10:29:13 PM »
1.-3. yes
4. good question! we played our game with "no" in mind, but maybe we were wrong, as rules indeed indicate on scoring, not completing.
5. yes.

On a side note, am I the only one, who noticed that footnotes 74 and 75 (last sentence in brackets) contradict to each other?
"I never lose. Either I win or I learn." (Nelson Mandela)

Offline Paul

  • Marquis Chevalier
  • ***
  • Posts: 2490
  • Merit: 86
    • View Profile
    • sydby.com
Re: Princess and the Dragon - Rule Clarifications
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2016, 11:29:38 PM »
Regarding question 4:

The new version of Princess and the Dragon rules (Swedish version) the very first sentence for the Fairy reads: "3 bonus points for finished elements."

Hope this helps!
World record holder for a single game of Carcassonne using 10 007 tiles!

Offline reddalek

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Merit: 1
    • View Profile
    • The Musings of a Red Dalek
Re: Princess and the Dragon - Rule Clarifications
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2016, 04:29:20 PM »
Interesting. The text in the English rules is:

Quote
3. Scoring a feature
- Additional points when scoring
When scoring a feature (city, road, monastery, farm, etc.) where your fairy is assigned to one of your meeples, you score 3 additional points, regardless of whether or not you score points for the scored feature. Your meeple returns to your supply, as normal, but the fairy remains on its tile.

To my mind, 'finished' elements would throw into doubt both #3 and #4, since the element is not 'finished' just because an Abbot is removed prematurely.

Is there a higher authority I can appeal to? :)

Offline reddalek

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Merit: 1
    • View Profile
    • The Musings of a Red Dalek
Re: Princess and the Dragon - Rule Clarifications
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2016, 05:10:35 PM »
For what it's worth, I just played a game on the iOS app and it awarded me 3 bonus points for an incomplete monastery with a fairy at the end.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Must or may - The Princess (The Princess and The Dragon)

Started by Windekind

6 Replies
2695 Views
Last post March 11, 2019, 04:20:10 PM
by Meepledrone
xx
Clarifications about The Fortune Teller and double turns

Started by Meepledrone

9 Replies
982 Views
Last post January 26, 2021, 01:47:16 PM
by corinthiens13
xx
when move the dragon?in the expansion princess and dragon

Started by davide

3 Replies
1281 Views
Last post August 29, 2020, 05:41:41 AM
by Meepledrone
xx
Princess<-->Phantom rule clarification

Started by MrNumbers

18 Replies
8860 Views
Last post November 05, 2014, 11:20:32 PM
by danisthirty
xx
RGG "Princess" rule change a case of wrong trsl. or established for "retheming"

Started by Hounk

0 Replies
2410 Views
Last post July 09, 2015, 01:30:40 AM
by Hounk