Author Topic: Builders and Traders rule question  (Read 3160 times)

Offline Jarle

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Builders and Traders rule question
« on: April 30, 2016, 07:52:22 AM »
Hi!

My friend and I have a disagreement concerning the completion of a city (or road) with a builder already on it.
Here I will try to illustrate the problem:

Turn 1a:

A player completes a city with a builder on it, and the builder (and followers) goes back to the supply. - So far, so good.

Turn 1b:

The player then places her second tile (with a city on it) extending an already existing city with NO followers on it. She then places her follower on the tile (city). Now she says she can place the builder on the same tile, in the same turn!

The rule she is defending this move with is:

"The player can deploy a follower to the second tile as well as to the first. If the road or city is completed by the placement of the first tile, then the player may deploy the newly-returned builder to the second tile."

Is this a legal move?


Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=2685.0
« Last Edit: April 30, 2016, 02:21:02 PM by Jarle »

Offline ny1050220

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 469
  • Merit: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Builders and Traders rule question
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2016, 08:08:49 AM »
I don't think so.
You can only place the builder in the city (or on a road) that already has your follower in (on) it.
The rule "The player can deploy a follower to the second tile as well as to the first. If the road or city is completed by the placement of the first tile, then the player may deploy the newly-returned builder to the second tile" assumes that you add your second tile in the turn to a feature that already has your follower(s) in it.

Offline Jarle

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Builders and Traders rule question
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2016, 08:19:23 AM »
Thanks for your comment.

That is my view too, but my friend says she can put the builder on the city because there already is a follower there, even though this follower got placed there in the same turn (1b). Like this:

She places her follower and then says: "Look, there is a follower there. Now i can place my builder on it too, because "then the player may deploy the newly-returned builder to the second tile."

Offline Chuck

  • Nobleman
  • ******
  • Posts: 138
  • Merit: 3
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Builders and Traders rule question
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2016, 08:36:42 AM »
You can ether place a normal follower or the builder or any other wood.

Offline Jarle

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Builders and Traders rule question
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2016, 08:42:06 AM »
You can ether place a normal follower or the builder or any other wood.

Thanks, that's what I needed to hear  :)

Offline Chuck

  • Nobleman
  • ******
  • Posts: 138
  • Merit: 3
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Builders and Traders rule question
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2016, 09:25:26 AM »
No problem. :-)


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Traders & Builders Question

Started by manolaren

7 Replies
3785 Views
Last post April 02, 2018, 12:12:41 AM
by Rosco
xx
"Traders & Builders" Expansion - Question about Rules

Started by PriusGuy2004

13 Replies
14854 Views
Last post September 21, 2013, 02:54:44 PM
by PriusGuy2004
xx
WTB: Inns and Cathedrals & Traders and Builders

Started by DavidY

2 Replies
2201 Views
Last post April 18, 2016, 09:22:04 AM
by DavidY
xx
Builders and Traders: is extending a road with builder obligatory?

Started by lucash1891

3 Replies
2496 Views
Last post June 06, 2015, 10:23:25 AM
by lucash1891
xx
Traders and Builders Dutch edition

Started by DIN0

4 Replies
1564 Views
Last post January 23, 2020, 04:59:58 AM
by DIN0