Author Topic: Can bridges lead to an open field?  (Read 272 times)

Offline Sir Lose-a-Farm

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 171
  • Merit: 8
  • Days since last game: 0
    • View Profile
Can bridges lead to an open field?
« on: September 28, 2022, 02:56:35 PM »
Basically, is the placement of bridge A legal? All of the example we can find show bridges leading to roads, but the rules only say that both of the bridge's ends must stay on a field, not that it has to lead to another road. But this feels weird because basically "kills" a road, that is now uncompletable.



Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=6094.0
I forgot to score the fairy bonus point. Again.

Offline ny1050220

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 455
  • Merit: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Can bridges lead to an open field?
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2022, 03:11:18 PM »
The official rule does not seem to mention this, but my understanding is that the spirit is that bridge A is illegal. A bridge is essentially an elevated road that connects to a road or another bridge, which ultimately connects to a road. As you said, bridge A kills a road at the edge of a tile, which does not happen other than in the rare case of an Abbey.

Offline corinthiens13

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 933
  • Merit: 47
    • View Profile
    • Order of play in french with every major expansions, mini expansions and promo tiles :
Re: Can bridges lead to an open field?
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2022, 09:20:53 PM »
Correct, the road has to be continuous, so bridge A's placement is illegal  :yellow-meeple:
Order of play in french with every major expansions, minis and promos:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=346

Divider cards for CI & CII both in French & English:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=535

Offline DIN0

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 807
  • Merit: 37
  • Carcassonne is only complete with 11th expansion:)
    • View Profile
Re: Can bridges lead to an open field?
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2022, 11:03:36 PM »
Bridge is a road, so no it cannot lead nto a field.

Offline Sir Lose-a-Farm

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 171
  • Merit: 8
  • Days since last game: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Can bridges lead to an open field?
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2022, 10:16:32 AM »
The official rule does not seem to mention this
We were misled by this. Sometimes the rules imply something but in the heat of the game we tend to read them strictly. Thanks to your clarifications

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1734
  • Merit: 22
  • Fan of Fan expansions
    • View Profile
    • www.scifi.sk
Re: Can bridges lead to an open field?
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2022, 12:05:35 PM »
The official rule does not seem to mention this
We were misled by this. Sometimes the rules imply something but in the heat of the game we tend to read them strictly. Thanks to your clarifications

Haha. Don't worry, this will be never ending process. I realized just this week, how is computing tie on feature with Hills from Exp 9.
Check JCloisterZone Add-ons with fan expansions and also some Slovak sci/fi projects in English https://www.scifi.sk/en/

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5474
  • Merit: 419
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Can bridges lead to an open field?
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2022, 03:10:04 PM »
There are many key nuances, important tiny details and edge cases hidden all over the rules... A maze within a maze.

Disclosing and exploting all these details is part of the fun.
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Possible lead on The Cathars, The Tunnels and others

Started by JT Atomico

6 Replies
3024 Views
Last post November 24, 2015, 03:21:25 PM
by danisthirty
xx
Bridges, Castles & Bazaars League: Bridges

Started by MrNumbers

25 Replies
7682 Views
Last post March 16, 2017, 03:23:09 PM
by MrNumbers
xx
field with barn question

Started by nelwina

5 Replies
728 Views
Last post November 18, 2020, 02:47:12 PM
by Meepledrone
xx
Action when extend field by Shepherd: C1/C2 variants

Started by Bumsakalaka

2 Replies
563 Views
Last post October 20, 2020, 03:34:29 PM
by Bumsakalaka
question
Place farmer on a single tile field

Started by Gerry

6 Replies
4152 Views
Last post August 13, 2014, 12:41:44 PM
by Gerry