Author Topic: Clarification of rules (Ghosts, Castles & Cemeteries) - with HiG - 27 09 2022  (Read 1289 times)

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5474
  • Merit: 419
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification of rules (Ghosts, Castles & Cemeteries) - with HiG - 27 09 2022
« Reply #15 on: September 30, 2022, 11:32:03 PM »
IMO, the 2x2 starting tile is in fact 4 square, normal tile. Right?

The key is the missing lines between the square spaces. This is a long-standing discussion with HiG as I understood from @kettlefish. The German castle tiles had a line splitting the tile into two halves in the beginning, but it was later removed on purpose.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2022, 02:53:05 PM by Meepledrone »
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline DIN0

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 807
  • Merit: 37
  • Carcassonne is only complete with 11th expansion:)
    • View Profile
No lines means one tile, unlike Count of Carcassonne or Wheel of fortune.

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5474
  • Merit: 419
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
If you check the inner part of the city of Carcassonne or the Wheel of Fortune, they have no lines. Just the outer part of the tiles. ;)

Offline NGC 54

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 388
  • Merit: 8
  • HiG must provide clarifications for all expansions
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia user page
Is this correct?
  • 1 City of Carcassonne tile - 6 normal tiles
  • 1 City of Leipzig tile - 1 double tile
  • 20th Anniversary River starting tile - 1 double tile
  • 1 German castle tile - 1 double tile
  • Ghosts, castles and cemeteries starting tile(s) - 4 normal tiles
« Last Edit: October 06, 2022, 02:40:57 PM by Carcassonne93 »
I translate WikiCarpedia in Romanian (https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Main_Page/ro). I have over 27,700 edits at WICA. My WICA user page: https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/User:NGC_54. See at https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Category:Finalizate the WICA pages completely translated in Romanian.

Offline Scott

  • Administrator
  • Viscount Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2994
  • Merit: 103
    • View Profile
    • CarcassonneCentral
The City of Carcassonne can be either 12 normal tiles or 1 giant tile in C1, or two 2x3 tiles in C2.

Leipzig is 4 double tiles.

There are six German castle double tiles.

The starting tile from Mists is one 2x2 tile.

Offline NGC 54

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 388
  • Merit: 8
  • HiG must provide clarifications for all expansions
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia user page
In other words...

If the dragon is placed on the 2x2 tile, it eats only from 1/4 of that 2x2 tile? Or from 4/4 from that 2x2 tile?

Offline NGC 54

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 388
  • Merit: 8
  • HiG must provide clarifications for all expansions
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia user page
Do you must place a ghost if you place the above tile (not the one marked with red)? Before answering, please note the following wording of the rules:

If you draw a tile with mist on it, you now have the option of bringing ghosts into play. It all depends on how you place the tile:
  • Expand the mist: You place a tile with mist on it such that at least 1 side expands an existing mist bank. You must then add 1 ghost to another player's meeple on the game board. It doesn't matter if you finish the mist bank. You just have to expand it.
  • Limit the mist: You place a tile with mist on it such that at least 1 misty side is placed next to an existing, mist-free tile. In this case, you must then add 1 ghost to one of your own meeples on the game board.
  • It can happen that you simultaneously expand one mist bank while limiting another. In that case you must first add 1 ghost to another player's meeple on the game board, after which you must add 1 ghost to one of your own meeples on the game board.

See https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Ghosts,_Castles_and_Cemeteries#2a._Place_ghosts.

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1734
  • Merit: 22
  • Fan of Fan expansions
    • View Profile
    • www.scifi.sk
This is not answer to last question but:
@Meepledrone you are in Esset.


By Exp 11 rules, there are two options with tile with mist.
1. You expand existing mist
2. You limit exisitng mist.


But we know, that you can place mist tile, which is not expandion existing mist, it is not limit existing mist, because it is creating ne mist.


What happend then? This need clarrification!
Check JCloisterZone Add-ons with fan expansions and also some Slovak sci/fi projects in English https://www.scifi.sk/en/

Offline Scott

  • Administrator
  • Viscount Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2994
  • Merit: 103
    • View Profile
    • CarcassonneCentral
If the mist is neither expanded nor limited, you do not need to place ghosts.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1734
  • Merit: 22
  • Fan of Fan expansions
    • View Profile
    • www.scifi.sk
I see, the beuty of that rule is here:


`you now have the option of bringing ghosts into play`


so it is not mandatory.


Cool :D

Offline NGC 54

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 388
  • Merit: 8
  • HiG must provide clarifications for all expansions
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia user page
If the mist is neither expanded nor limited, you do not need to place ghosts.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

In the image posted by me, it is limited, but it is limited by a non-misty tile... This is the question, in fact:

If you limit the mist by placing a non-misty tile, do you have to place a ghost?
« Last Edit: October 07, 2022, 12:45:55 PM by Carcassonne93 »

Offline NGC 54

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 388
  • Merit: 8
  • HiG must provide clarifications for all expansions
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia user page
I see, the beuty of that rule is here:


`you now have the option of bringing ghosts into play`


so it is not mandatory.


Cool :D

If you draw a tile with mist on it, you now have the option of bringing ghosts into play. It all depends on how you place the tile:
  • Expand the mist: You place a tile with mist on it such that at least 1 side expands an existing mist bank. You must then add 1 ghost to another player's meeple on the game board. It doesn't matter if you finish the mist bank. You just have to expand it.
  • Limit the mist: You place a tile with mist on it such that at least 1 misty side is placed next to an existing, mist-free tile. In this case, you must then add 1 ghost to one of your own meeples on the game board.
  • It can happen that you simultaneously expand one mist bank while limiting another. In that case you must first add 1 ghost to another player's meeple on the game board, after which you must add 1 ghost to one of your own meeples on the game board.

See https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Ghosts,_Castles_and_Cemeteries#2a._Place_ghosts.

This is the only option.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2022, 12:46:38 PM by Carcassonne93 »

Offline Scott

  • Administrator
  • Viscount Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2994
  • Merit: 103
    • View Profile
    • CarcassonneCentral
If you limit the mist by placing a non-misty tile, do you have to place a ghost?

The rules clearly state that only misty tiles cause the placement of ghosts.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5474
  • Merit: 419
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
In other words...

If the dragon is placed on the 2x2 tile, it eats only from 1/4 of that 2x2 tile? Or from 4/4 from that 2x2 tile?

The dragon will eat all the meeples on the 2x2 tile. The sames as when landing on a double-sized tile it will eat all the meeples on the tile except those in a special area such as the inner part of the city of Leipzig.

Offline Doom_Shark

  • Freeman
  • ****
  • Posts: 53
  • Merit: 1
  • I swear I have a life...just not right now
    • View Profile
The dragon will eat all the meeples on the 2x2 tile. The sames as when landing on a double-sized tile it will eat all the meeples on the tile except those in a special area such as the inner part of the city of Leipzig.

But the dragon still considers each occupied space for movement, correct?


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Clarification of rules (Cemeteries) - with HiG - 15 11 2022

Started by Meepledrone

1 Replies
93 Views
Last post November 15, 2022, 07:35:04 AM
by Meepledrone
xx
Exp. 11 - Ghosts, Castles and Cemeteries

Started by Meepledrone

17 Replies
861 Views
Last post October 31, 2022, 11:59:18 AM
by Scott
xx
Clarification of rules (The Bets) - with HiG - 02 11 2022

Started by Meepledrone

2 Replies
210 Views
Last post November 02, 2022, 01:10:59 PM
by Meepledrone
xx
Clarification of rules (The Gifts - part 2) - with HiG - 05 04 2022

Started by Meepledrone

2 Replies
600 Views
Last post April 05, 2022, 04:04:27 PM
by Meepledrone
xx
Clarification of rules (Castles, wagons and abbeys) - with HiG - 01 02 2021

Started by Meepledrone

9 Replies
1086 Views
Last post February 24, 2021, 12:26:49 AM
by Bumsakalaka