Author Topic: The Abbott (figure) placed as an Abbott (role)  (Read 474 times)

Offline Doom_Shark

  • Freeman
  • ****
  • Posts: 55
  • Merit: 1
  • I swear I have a life...just not right now
    • View Profile
The Abbott (figure) placed as an Abbott (role)
« on: March 24, 2022, 07:25:44 PM »
I presume nothing is stopping an Abbott (figure) placed as an Abbott (role) on a special monastery from being returned and scored as normal. The Abbott (figure) scores "exactly like how monasteries are scored during final scoring." So would I get the points for the alternate scoring of the special monastery if it is placed as an Abbott (role) or does it only score the normal incomplete monastery points?

Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5849.0

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5489
  • Merit: 420
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: The Abbott (figure) placed as an Abbott (role)
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2022, 01:18:51 AM »
If you stick to the rules of The Abbot, when removing and scoring an abbot meeple, you do it as if scoring a monk placed on a normal monastery at the end of the game (as indicated by the rules). The position of the abbot meeple is irrelevant, since when you remove an abbot, you are scoring the figure, not the feature.
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline Doom_Shark

  • Freeman
  • ****
  • Posts: 55
  • Merit: 1
  • I swear I have a life...just not right now
    • View Profile
Re: The Abbott (figure) placed as an Abbott (role)
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2022, 10:06:48 AM »
That makes sense, thanks. Do you think this clarification could make it onto Wikicarpedia? I didn't see it anywhere

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5489
  • Merit: 420
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: The Abbott (figure) placed as an Abbott (role)
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2022, 05:20:24 AM »
The Reference Scoring pages reflect this, for example:

https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Scoring_During_the_Game

As you can see, if you select "The Abbot" and "Monasteries in Germany / Japanese Buildings", you will allways have the same scoring for the abbot meeple. No special case for German monasteries, as you can see.

As requested, I extended this footnote to explicitly cover this case:

https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Abbot#cite_note-15

Thanks for the suggestion.

Offline Doom_Shark

  • Freeman
  • ****
  • Posts: 55
  • Merit: 1
  • I swear I have a life...just not right now
    • View Profile
Re: The Abbott (figure) placed as an Abbott (role)
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2022, 09:21:18 AM »
Awesome, thank you! I'm glad I could be of service  ;D


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
clip
The Abbot - Role on a garden

Started by Meepledrone

5 Replies
867 Views
Last post December 08, 2021, 05:40:33 AM
by Decar
xx
How many meeples can be placed one tile in a game - Challenge by LunarHexagon

Started by Bumsakalaka

10 Replies
1046 Views
Last post September 25, 2021, 04:21:55 AM
by Bumsakalaka
xx
Goldmines - can you claim gold bars on the same turn that you placed them?

Started by jungleboy

4 Replies
3947 Views
Last post September 18, 2015, 12:18:28 PM
by jungleboy
xx
A mysterious figure emerges from the shadows

Started by Scott

29 Replies
1347 Views
Last post January 19, 2022, 04:59:04 PM
by Meepledrone
xx
[WTB] Gingerbread Man figure

Started by Meepledrone

3 Replies
1027 Views
Last post October 23, 2019, 02:44:39 PM
by Sinscerly