Author Topic: Message 1 with Inns and Cathedrals  (Read 338 times)

Offline PapaGeek

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 202
  • Merit: 18
  • The box needs a highly addictive warning label
    • View Profile
Message 1 with Inns and Cathedrals
« on: March 18, 2022, 08:17:58 AM »
The Rules for (1) Shortest Road: say that if I have a highwayman on more than one road, I have to choose the road that is worth the fewest points, then score it as I would during final scoring.  The footnote (2) says:

The scoring for Messages 1, 2 and 3 only considers those points related to the feature. No bonus associated to any meeples placed on the feature are taken into consideration, since the focus of this message is scoring the feature. Those bonus points for meeples would be scored when the feature is properly scored.

SO, what does this all mean if one of my incomplete roads has an Inn on it?

Let’s say that the road has 3 tiles so far.  When I am looking for my road with the fewest points, does this road count as 6 points, 3 points, or 0 points?  If it does count as 0 points, am I forced to choose it as my road with the fewest points making my message worth zero?

And while we are at it, How does Message 2 work with a city with a Cathedral?


Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5838.0
Totally addicted to this game

Offline OneEyedOwl

  • Vassal
  • *****
  • Posts: 70
  • Merit: 2
  • Based in Germany, at the Swiss border
    • View Profile
Re: Message 1 with Inns and Cathedrals
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2022, 09:27:56 AM »
You count them as if it was the End of the game right now.

The Inn and Cathedral are a part of the feature. the german rules for BigBox6 even mention those cases. 0 Points if you have one. You do not count fairy bonus and similar additional scorings.
No interest in 1st edition, but glad to help anyone looking for them. If you see something on ebay-kleinanzeigen.de and need someone to ship to your country, hit me up ^^

Offline Vital Pluymers

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 174
  • Merit: 2
  • The King
    • View Profile
Re: Message 1 with Inns and Cathedrals
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2022, 10:44:21 AM »

If it does count as 0 points, am I forced to choose it as my road with the fewest points making my message worth zero?


You can always choose to go for option B and take 2 points.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Big box 2016 rule clearification - builder and message 7

Started by Mikki1211

6 Replies
1960 Views
Last post January 09, 2018, 01:25:18 AM
by Sinscerly
xx
Inns and Cathedrals and Traders and Builder Tile - Changes

Started by Decar

45 Replies
25822 Views
Last post January 05, 2016, 04:37:35 AM
by quevy
xx
Can you get Message when you get negative points?

Started by Bumsakalaka

8 Replies
476 Views
Last post August 14, 2022, 10:49:21 PM
by Scott
xx
Builder's Double turn + Message #4 (Add a Landscape Tile) doubts

Started by ac1982

6 Replies
537 Views
Last post March 12, 2022, 01:10:04 AM
by Meepledrone
xx
Special message from Chris Korfmann

Started by Scott

3 Replies
3085 Views
Last post February 12, 2013, 11:23:41 AM
by gantry