Author Topic: When can I place a Tower Floor  (Read 569 times)

Offline PapaGeek

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 202
  • Merit: 18
  • The box needs a highly addictive warning label
    • View Profile
When can I place a Tower Floor
« on: February 21, 2022, 01:44:36 AM »
There were four players in our first game with Towers, so we each started the game with 7 Tower Floors.  There are 18 Tower Tiles, so on average each player should drew 4 or 5 tiles.

Before playing our first game with The Tower, my understanding of the rules was based on the WikiCarPedia and Zman PDF wording:



Which says "After placing your tile, you you now have 4 actions to choose from:"

28 floors on 18 towers, so I was expecting some of the towers to get relatively high!

Then, we read the printed rules that came with the expansion:



Which says "After placing a tile that has a tower foundation, you may perform one of the four following actions:"

So, what are the correct rules?  Is the game limited to 18 OR LESS tower floors which can only be placed one at a time only when placing a tower floor tile? We played two games with Towers and only one of those towers had two floors on it!

OR, are we allowed to place all 28 floors wherever we want, creating multiple towers with 3 or 4 floors?


Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5766.0
« Last Edit: February 21, 2022, 05:21:32 AM by Decar »
Totally addicted to this game

Online Snearone

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 158
  • Merit: 87
    • View Profile
Re: When can I place a Tower Floor
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2022, 03:10:35 AM »
WICA rules are based on official HiG rules, there is a footnote [1] that states Z-Man printed rules are not correct.
https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Tower#cite_note-1
Completed: Robber's Son | Gambler's Luck | Vistas Revisited | First Wells | The Flying Machines 2
WIP: The Occult Tower | Binding Deed | Wandering Preachers | City Gates Rebuilt | New King's Orders

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5483
  • Merit: 419
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: When can I place a Tower Floor
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2022, 03:52:29 AM »
Below you can see a snapshot of the latest rules in PDF format by ZMG, updated in 2016.

The rulebooks are avialable in various languages here on CarcF:
https://www.carcassonne-forum.de/viewtopic.php?t=3501
« Last Edit: February 21, 2022, 03:55:57 AM by Meepledrone »
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline OneEyedOwl

  • Vassal
  • *****
  • Posts: 70
  • Merit: 2
  • Based in Germany, at the Swiss border
    • View Profile
Re: When can I place a Tower Floor
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2022, 04:35:20 AM »
I have the german rules from HiG here and it says that INSTEAD of placing a meeple, you may deploy a tower piece. Doesn't mention a need for the tower tile to just have been drawn.

Let's say the Rules in the english rulebook were correct, then there wouldn't be a need for the range clarification, would there?
No interest in 1st edition, but glad to help anyone looking for them. If you see something on ebay-kleinanzeigen.de and need someone to ship to your country, hit me up ^^

Offline PapaGeek

  • Duke
  • *
  • Posts: 202
  • Merit: 18
  • The box needs a highly addictive warning label
    • View Profile
Re: When can I place a Tower Floor
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2022, 05:03:03 AM »
Fantastic, Towers are going to be a lot more fun in our next game!

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Commandeur
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5483
  • Merit: 419
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: When can I place a Tower Floor
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2022, 05:04:36 AM »


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Can a Tower Floor capture more than one meeple?

Started by PapaGeek

3 Replies
428 Views
Last post May 25, 2022, 11:25:07 AM
by Meepledrone
clip
Can I place a bridge on a halfling

Started by PapaGeek

1 Replies
375 Views
Last post September 20, 2021, 02:12:10 AM
by Bumsakalaka
xx
The Fairy - can I move it when I have no followers left to place?

Started by saery

1 Replies
1828 Views
Last post September 16, 2015, 08:34:36 PM
by Fritz_Spinne
xx
Can I place more than one Bridge?

Started by PapaGeek

6 Replies
440 Views
Last post December 21, 2021, 04:39:08 AM
by Bumsakalaka
xx
Can the Robbers Son place a Phantom

Started by PapaGeek

2 Replies
314 Views
Last post August 16, 2022, 05:31:29 AM
by PapaGeek