Author Topic: Placing a meeple in the city of Carcassonne  (Read 3871 times)

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1643
  • Merit: 21
  • Fan of Fan expansions
    • View Profile
    • www.scifi.sk
Re: Placing a meeple in the city of Carcassonne
« Reply #30 on: September 11, 2022, 12:10:51 PM »
Maybe I read it wrong but:

Quote
you may place a meeple in one of the four city districts (even if the Count is in that district). Then, you may move the Count to a district of your choice within the city of Carcassonne.

There is implication. A then B when A is negative then you are not able to do B.

So if you not place meeple then you can not move count. Because you may move count as 2nd step when you place meeple in 1st step.



Odoslané z SM-A202F pomocou Tapatalku

Check JCloisterZone Add-ons with fan expansions and also some Slovak sci/fi projects in English https://www.scifi.sk/en/

Offline Carcassonne93

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 363
  • Merit: 8
  • HiG must provide clarifications for all expansions
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia user page
Re: Placing a meeple in the city of Carcassonne
« Reply #31 on: September 11, 2022, 12:35:52 PM »
Maybe I read it wrong but:

Quote
you may place a meeple in one of the four city districts (even if the Count is in that district). Then, you may move the Count to a district of your choice within the city of Carcassonne.

There is implication. A then B when A is negative then you are not able to do B.

So if you not place meeple then you can not move count. Because you may move count as 2nd step when you place meeple in 1st step.



Odoslané z SM-A202F pomocou Tapatalku

In any case, a footnote is still required. It is clear that the rules are not 100 % clear.
I translate WikiCarpedia in Romanian (https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Main_Page/ro). I have over 23,900 edits at WICA. My WICA user page: https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/User:NGC_54. See at https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Category:Finalizate the WICA pages completely translated in Romanian.

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Duke Chevalier
  • *
  • Posts: 1643
  • Merit: 21
  • Fan of Fan expansions
    • View Profile
    • www.scifi.sk
Re: Placing a meeple in the city of Carcassonne
« Reply #32 on: September 11, 2022, 12:57:43 PM »
Maybe I read it wrong but:

Quote
you may place a meeple in one of the four city districts (even if the Count is in that district). Then, you may move the Count to a district of your choice within the city of Carcassonne.


There is implication. A then B when A is negative then you are not able to do B.

So if you not place meeple then you can not move count. Because you may move count as 2nd step when you place meeple in 1st step.



Odoslané z SM-A202F pomocou Tapatalku

In any case, a footnote is still required. It is clear that the rules are not 100 % clear.


Εν οίδα ότι ουδέν οίδα :D

Offline Carcassonne93

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 363
  • Merit: 8
  • HiG must provide clarifications for all expansions
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia user page
Re: Placing a meeple in the city of Carcassonne
« Reply #33 on: September 11, 2022, 01:14:33 PM »
Maybe I read it wrong but:

Quote
you may place a meeple in one of the four city districts (even if the Count is in that district). Then, you may move the Count to a district of your choice within the city of Carcassonne.


There is implication. A then B when A is negative then you are not able to do B.

So if you not place meeple then you can not move count. Because you may move count as 2nd step when you place meeple in 1st step.



Odoslané z SM-A202F pomocou Tapatalku

In any case, a footnote is still required. It is clear that the rules are not 100 % clear.


Εν οίδα ότι ουδέν οίδα :D

The Carcassonne rules are a paradox, too. :)

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5312
  • Merit: 408
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Placing a meeple in the city of Carcassonne
« Reply #34 on: September 11, 2022, 04:18:18 PM »
Added an inline clarification and a footnote based on the rules for the 1st edition, were the dependency between the actions was totally clear.

https://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Count,_King_and_Robber#cite_note-4
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline Carcassonne93

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 363
  • Merit: 8
  • HiG must provide clarifications for all expansions
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia user page
Re: Placing a meeple in the city of Carcassonne
« Reply #35 on: September 12, 2022, 03:29:40 AM »
I do not understand why does WICA should not mention the e-mail from Andreas Kramer...

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5312
  • Merit: 408
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Placing a meeple in the city of Carcassonne
« Reply #36 on: September 12, 2022, 06:50:32 AM »
This was clarified by Kettlefish, not Andreas.

Offline Carcassonne93

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 363
  • Merit: 8
  • HiG must provide clarifications for all expansions
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia user page
Re: Placing a meeple in the city of Carcassonne
« Reply #37 on: September 12, 2022, 07:20:19 AM »
« Last Edit: September 12, 2022, 07:21:55 AM by Carcassonne93 »

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5312
  • Merit: 408
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Placing a meeple in the city of Carcassonne
« Reply #38 on: September 12, 2022, 07:51:56 AM »
Andreas made a bit of a mess by ignoring the dependency expressed in the C1 rules. In German, the dependency is still maintained in C2, but it seems that the English wording became fuzzier and "Then..." is weaker than "Additionally,..." or "Then, if you did the placement,...", that is what the original rules meant.

I discussed this issue again with Kettelfish who confirmed the rules in C2 are the same as in C1 in this case.

Offline Carcassonne93

  • Count
  • **
  • Posts: 363
  • Merit: 8
  • HiG must provide clarifications for all expansions
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia user page
Re: Placing a meeple in the city of Carcassonne
« Reply #39 on: September 12, 2022, 09:16:37 AM »
Andreas made a bit of a mess by ignoring the dependency expressed in the C1 rules. In German, the dependency is still maintained in C2, but it seems that the English wording became fuzzier and "Then..." is weaker than "Additionally,..." or "Then, if you did the placement,...", that is what the original rules meant.

I discussed this issue again with Kettelfish who confirmed the rules in C2 are the same as in C1 in this case.

Any public link to this discussion?

Offline Meepledrone

  • Owner
  • Chatelain Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5312
  • Merit: 408
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Placing a meeple in the city of Carcassonne
« Reply #40 on: September 12, 2022, 10:41:28 AM »
The discussion is on Discord (see messages related to CKR03):

https://discord.com/channels/746804004268408952/854439841663156276/947570958212956211


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Placing a knight in a city containing a mayor

Started by burtonlazars

8 Replies
1880 Views
Last post January 01, 2020, 01:22:16 AM
by Decar
question
1 Gold Meeple 1 Silber Meeple 1 Bronce Meeple

Started by nili3000042

4 Replies
694 Views
Last post March 21, 2022, 07:46:56 AM
by Halfling
clip
(Not a) Bug report: placing River II tile

Started by mike_bike_kite

4 Replies
2409 Views
Last post May 19, 2015, 02:27:28 PM
by mike_bike_kite
xx
Placing a group order for various exp

Started by What If?

22 Replies
7697 Views
Last post November 15, 2016, 11:42:29 PM
by Paul
xx
Placing the robber

Started by Procyon

2 Replies
2270 Views
Last post March 31, 2014, 05:29:30 PM
by Scott