Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Topics - Sir Lose-a-Farm

Pages: [1]
1
Official Rules / Can bridges lead to an open field?
« on: September 28, 2022, 02:56:35 PM »
Basically, is the placement of bridge A legal? All of the example we can find show bridges leading to roads, but the rules only say that both of the bridge's ends must stay on a field, not that it has to lead to another road. But this feels weird because basically "kills" a road, that is now uncompletable.


2
Official Rules / Two castles close to each other: what happens in this case?
« on: September 28, 2022, 02:49:24 PM »
Look at the following scenario:



Let's say gray close the road by placing a tile in the yellow X spot.
How many points do they get? How many points does green get instead?

3
Sorry if this is already answered somewhere, we couldn't find a solution.
In a 2-people game involving the Tower expansion, they start with 10 tower floors each. My question is simple: what if one player draws 11 tower tiles? Two possibilities:
  • the tile is played like a normal, non-Towery tile, without any Tower action allowed
  • the player is allowed to get another tower floor from the box and play their Tower action of choice
Given that everyone can use their own house rules, what's the "official" answer? Thanks.

4
So, since I've started my quest of collecting every piece of the game, I more or less managed to find everything here or there (Amazon, eBay, Vinted, here on this forum...) but I'm failing to find a decent copy of the C1 version of Hills and Sheeps.
It's very frustrating because it's the only "major" piece of Carcassonne that I'm missing, but it's nowhere to be found (unless you want to spend 150 USD for it).
I'm totally OK with "minor" pieces to be hard to find or expensive but why is this particular extension so unfindable at a decent price? Even The Catapult is way easier to find than this.

5
Official Rules / Clarification about Wheel of Fortune taxation method
« on: September 19, 2022, 03:11:38 PM »
Quote
Every player receives points for his knights. For each knight, the player earns 1 point for each pennant in the city, plus 1 point for each of their knights in the city.

A question: are separate cities counted separately or together? Look at the following scenario:



If counted separately, the two pink cities are worth 2 points each, for a total of 4. If counted together, they are worth a grandtotal of 8 points. What's the correct one?

6
General / Where to buy spare Carcassonne tiles?
« on: September 15, 2022, 07:30:06 AM »
I know Cundco offers spare parts but it's 5€ shipping for one (1) tile. Not really a good deal. 
I'm also aware I could forge my own tile by printing and glueing and cutting but I'm really terrible at bricolage & do-it-yourself activities. I'd rather buying one.
Any other places?

7
I'm proposing a quick "real time" event to celebrate the coronation of King Charles III. Your mission - should you choose to accept it - is to play a game of Carcassone, strictly following these simple rules:
  • Take any 72-tiles, base version of the game, and remove two random tiles, without looking at them. The 70 remaining tiles will symbolize the 70 years of reign of Elizabeth II.
  • Add the whole "The Princess & the Dragon" content in. Why? It's the 3rd main expansion, and we're celebrating Charles III!
  • Add the 2 King & Robber tiles and markers (just the two special tiles and related rules, no other content)
  • You must provide a picture of the final map, and your scoring
Let's play!

8
First of all, I'm talking about the instruction paper that's included in this version of the game:



The very first thing that it says is "De verschillen ten opzichte van de originele versie zjin in het rood aangegeven". This means "The differences from the original version are highlighted in red".
And indeed many parts of the istructions are highlighted in red, like for example the use of a pig. I don't understand, isn't THIS ONE the original version of the Wheel of Fortune expansion?

Then I keep reading and the very next thing it says is: "speelmaterial: 72 landtegels (waaronder 1 startkaart met donkere achterkant)". This means "Contents: 72 land tiles (including 1 starting card with dark back)".
Fact is there isn't any starting tile with dark back (the wheel of fortune tableau is the starting tile).

Did I get a flawed copy of the game or am I just missing something out? Thank you to anyone who will help me understand.

9
General / Sorting through the rivers
« on: September 03, 2022, 04:25:58 AM »
So I was sorting my collection around and I decided to collect all of my rivers in one place. Here's them all (BB = Big Box, e6 = Expansion #6, BG = Base Game):



I have some doubts. Please help me understand if I "got it right".
  • "BB2" and "e6 C2" are both RIVER II, the one included in the various Count, King and Robber editions.
  • "BG1", "BG2", "BB6", "BG3" and "BB7" are all, for all intents and purposes, RIVER I, no matter of the small differences among editions (added gardens from BG2, added monastery on BG3 lake tile, added road on source tile from BG3)
  • "20th" is an edition on its own, called RIVER 20TH, with a double tile and more/different normal tiles.

Is this all correct? There is no such thing as RIVER III, right?

10
General / Playing a game with 3 copies of the same "expansion"
« on: August 17, 2022, 05:30:15 AM »
The title for this thread is an obvious take on this other discussion...

I just realized I now own the base game in three different versions: C1 (Big Box 2), C2 (Big Box 6) and C3 (20th Anniversary). After the success of the aforelinked game I couldn't help imagining how a game containing all 3 at the same tile could feel like.

Has any of you ever tried this, or something similar? The game would use ~215 tiles and probably wouldn't require any special house rule since it's only tiles from the base game (good luck counting them!). 

11
General / Playing a game with 2 copies of the same expansion
« on: August 14, 2022, 12:28:17 PM »
Now that we own "Inns and Cathedrals" and "Traders and Builders" twice (as part of Big Box 6 and as standalone expansions) we were thinking about playing a game comprising of:
  • Base game (+farmers +abbott)
  • Inns and Cathedrals twice
  • Traders and Builders twice
Do you ever do this or anything similar to this? We were considering in particular whether some home rules were required. For example:
  • 10 points for collecting the most of a type of goods may be not enough anymore (number of goods is 2x the usual), and we are thinking about making them 20 or 15.
  • Should we be allowed to use two builder meeples?
  • What about two pigs? Does this make any sense anyway?
but most importantly:
  • Can FOUR chatedrals in the same game be considered a crime of war and be investigated by the UN?

12
Official Rules / Two questions about the Market of Leipzig
« on: August 12, 2022, 02:43:18 PM »
Today we've played for the first time with the Market of Leipzig expansion and we like it, but it left us with two doubts. Please pardon us if this has been already discussed or explained somewhere else, we couldn't find a unique answer for these.

Look at this image:


Question 1. The pink player already completed the road connected to Leipzig in a previous move (pink portion of the road). If the green player puts the bottom-left tile and puts a meeple where the green star is, is that AGAIN considered a road connecting to Leipzig?

Question 2. If the answer to question 1 was YES: if the green player decides to score the points instead of sending their meeple to Leipzig, do they get 2 or 6 points?

Thank you!

13
Hi. Sorry if this has been discussed before. Is the data from the inventory tables on this page up to date? My collection is quickly growing and I'd like to have a complete and reliable list to check what I have and what I don't have. Thank you to anyone willing to reply me.

14
Let's say this is the situation after one player gets the Shield Crop Circle tile:

If another player gets the second Shield Crop Circle tile, can a third red or green meeple be placed on the tile where there are already two?

The wiki says: "you may only place the meeple in a feature where at least one of your indicated meeples is already present" so I think this is possible but we'd like to be sure. Any help on this? Thanks!

Pages: [1]