Author Topic: petul rules queries (WICA)  (Read 971 times)

Offline petul

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 27
  • Merit: 2
    • View Profile
petul rules queries (WICA)
« on: August 01, 2021, 05:05:55 AM »
I'd rather start a new topic here.
In case I don't understand the translation.
So that as a newcomer I don't spread nonsense.

I have a question about the following extension and paragraph:

Darmstadt Promo (1st edition) / 24
Citation:
These two church tiles are treated as cloisters. When one of these churches is completed, it is first scored the same as a cloister in the base game rules. In addition, the player who has the most followers on the church tile and the 8 surrounding tiles scores 3 extra points. In case of a tie, all players involved get the 3 points.

If I understand the rules correctly.
I understand them this way according to the picture.
Red and black both stand in the church.
Red gets 9 points.
Black gets 0 points.

Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5403.0
« Last Edit: August 01, 2021, 05:08:35 AM by petul »

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 4091
  • Merit: 263
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: petul rules queries (WICA)
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2021, 05:16:39 AM »
In this case, both Red and Black score 9 points for the Darmstadt church they share.

Additionally, Red has two meeples in the vicinity of the church, so he has the majority on those 9 tiles and receives the Darmstadt 3-point bonus for it. This majority does not affect the scoring of the church; it is just considered for the bonus.

Bottomline:
* Red and Black score 9 points for the Darmstadt church.
* Red scores 3 points for the Darmstadt church bonus.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2021, 10:46:42 AM by Meepledrone »
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline petul

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 27
  • Merit: 2
    • View Profile
Re: petul rules queries (WICA)
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2021, 05:22:24 AM »
I understand, thank you  :) :(y)

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 4091
  • Merit: 263
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: petul rules queries (WICA)
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2021, 05:26:26 AM »
No problem!  :(y)

There may be scenarios where the player receiving the bonus is not even on the Darmstadt church.

For example: Black is on the church and Red has two meeples on adjacent tiles.

* Black would score 9 points for the Darmstadt church
* Red would score 3 points for the Darmstadt church bonus.

Offline petul

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 27
  • Merit: 2
    • View Profile
Re: petul rules queries (WICA)
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2021, 05:51:13 AM »
The Czech translation has already been correctly formulated.

@Meepledrone this example of you is excellent.
I would easily add him there.

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 4091
  • Merit: 263
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: petul rules queries (WICA)
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2021, 05:55:52 AM »
Glad I could help!  ;D

Offline petul

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 27
  • Merit: 2
    • View Profile
Re: petul rules queries (WICA)
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2021, 10:16:07 AM »
I still have one question that didn't let me sleep
I will clarify the order of the move for sure.

According to the first picture:
1. Placing a tile
2. Scoring for completed areas
3. Scoring 3 extra points
4. Returning pieces from completed areas to players

Or phase 3 and 4 is reversed.

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 4091
  • Merit: 263
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: petul rules queries (WICA)
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2021, 10:59:28 AM »
You remove the meeples once the scoring is done (feature and its associated bonuses), so the order 1, 2, 3, 4 is okay. Therefore, there are no Schrödinger situations where, depending of the order the scoring is performed, you get different results.

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 4091
  • Merit: 263
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: petul rules queries (WICA)
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2021, 03:37:38 AM »
One thing: check the top right tile of the example.  ;)

Offline petul

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 27
  • Merit: 2
    • View Profile
Re: petul rules queries (WICA)
« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2021, 11:41:18 AM »
quick preparation
it didn't work out a bit

I have a better one ready for my rules.
I have a similar picture for the phantom extension.
I use the fact that some extensions have not been released in our country.
And I'm trying to make better rules.
I add a picture of the game to each rule.

Offline petul

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 27
  • Merit: 2
    • View Profile
Re: petul rules queries (WICA)
« Reply #10 on: September 17, 2021, 01:14:09 AM »
I want to point out the differences in the rules for the fairy in the turn phase 2. placing meeple.

English text:
Quote
On any turn in which you do not place (or move) a meeple, you may assign
the fairy to one of your meeples by placing the fairy directly next to it.

Czech text:
Quote
V každém tahu, ve kterém hráč nenasadí na herní plán žádnou svoji figurku (žádného druhu) ani ji nepřemístí, přestože by směl (není to tedy při přiložení kartičky sopky nebo při odstranění figurky pomocí princezny), může přemístit vílu k nějaké své konkrétní figurce družiníka na herním plánu – přiřaďte vílu těsně ke zvolené figurce, aby nevznikaly dohady. K figurkám jiných typů (opat, velká figurka, vůz, prasátko atd.) vílu přiřadit nelze.
added text marked in red


Translation:
Quote
On each turn, in which a player does not place or move any meeple of his (any kind) on the board, even though he should (not when attaching a volcano card or removing a meeple with a princess), he can move the fairy to one of his specific meeple follower on the game board - assign the fairy close to the selected meeple to avoid guesswork. It is not possible to assign a fairy to meeples of other types (abbot, big figure, wagons, ping, etc.).

I wonder if these rules are also correct.

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 4091
  • Merit: 263
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: petul rules queries (WICA)
« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2021, 01:52:30 AM »
I revisited the Exp. 3 rules in German.

Check the following excerpts:

1) Placing or moving of the fairy:

German:
Quote
Die Fee bewegen
Immer, wenn du in deinem Zug keinen Meeple einsetzt (oder bewegst), darfst du die Fee zu einem eigenen Meeple setzen. Dabei musst du die Fee dem Meeple direkt zuordnen, indem du sie dicht neben deinen Meeple stellst.

English translation:
Quote
Moving the fairy
Whenever you don't place (or move) a meeple in your turn, you may place the fairy with one of your own meeples. You must assign the fairy directly to the meeple by placing it close to your meeple.

2) The fairy and volcanos (as mentioned in the rules for the volcano):

German:
Quote
Der Vulkan (6 Plättchen): Sobald du ein Plättchen mit einem Vulkan ziehst, legst du es wie gewohnt an, darfst aber keinen Meeple darauf setzen. Du darfst allerdings die Fee versetzen.

English translation:
Quote
The Volcano (6 tiles): As soon as you draw a tile with a volcano, you place it as usual, but you may not place a meeple on it. You may, however, move the fairy.

3) Meeples and the fairy (as seen on the interactions on the last page)

German:
Quote
Sonstige: | Versetzt der Spieler die Fee, so darf er keine Figur wie Abt (Grundspiel), Baumeister und Schwein (2. Erw.), Bürgermeister, Gutshof und Wagen (5. Erw.) oder Schäfer (9. Erw.) einsetzen.

English translation:
Quote
Other: | If the player moves the fairy, he may not place a figure such as Abbot (base game), Builder and Pig (Exp. 2), Mayor, Barn and Wagon (Exp. 5) or Shepherd (Exp. 9).

Therefore these additions and additional limitations in the Czech rules are not present in the German rules:
* There is no limitation about what meeples the fairy can be assigned to
* Players are just not allowed to place a meeple (or the shepherd) if you place or move the fairy.
* You can move the fairy when placing a volcano tile

Does this clarify your question?

Offline petul

  • Villein
  • ***
  • Posts: 27
  • Merit: 2
    • View Profile
Re: petul rules queries (WICA)
« Reply #12 on: September 17, 2021, 01:40:19 PM »
explained thank you

I found out how it is with the Czech rules issued by Mindok.
Considering that the last version of the rules in Czech was released in 2016.
The wording of the rules corresponds to this.

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 4091
  • Merit: 263
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: petul rules queries (WICA)
« Reply #13 on: September 17, 2021, 02:41:15 PM »
It seems they get creative from time to time. Check Exp. 5 to see if they added the extra round to place Abbeys at the end of the game. HiG included this in BB2/3 but removed it in C2. They confirmed this decision on Discord.

Offline Allograft

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 492
  • Merit: 14
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: petul rules queries (WICA)
« Reply #14 on: September 17, 2021, 06:34:34 PM »
I like how active you are in seeking out clarification of the rules, merit from me. I'm finding it's part of the intrigue, fun, and challenge of the game :-) -  :pink-meeple:
« Last Edit: September 17, 2021, 11:25:10 PM by Allograft »


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Quizzes on WICA

Started by Carcassonne93

13 Replies
455 Views
Last post October 21, 2021, 02:29:11 PM
by Carcassonne93
xx
WICA in Romanian

Started by Carcassonne93

4 Replies
284 Views
Last post October 22, 2021, 08:36:39 AM
by Bumsakalaka
xx
Questions from comments on WICA

Started by Meepledrone

1 Replies
971 Views
Last post December 17, 2019, 02:15:27 AM
by Sinscerly
xx
WICA translation statistics

Started by Carcassonne93

10 Replies
255 Views
Last post November 16, 2021, 11:56:29 AM
by Meepledrone
question
Question about river U-Turns (WICA vs Asmodee app)

Started by corinthiens13

6 Replies
405 Views
Last post May 26, 2021, 02:21:48 PM
by DrMeeple