Author Topic: Clarification of rules (acrobats & phantoms, Leipzig) - with HiG - 21-25 06 2021  (Read 137 times)

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Baron Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 3572
  • Merit: 209
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
In recent days we got the following clarification from Johannes (HiG) on the HiG Discord server.

New clarifications are here to surprise you!

Following Kettlefish's tradition...

Question in BLUE

Answer in GREEN

Still open in RED

My own comments in  MAROON


Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=5368.0
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Baron Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 3572
  • Merit: 209
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Acrobats & phantoms

[Q1.1] The phantom is considered like a normal meeple and has the same size but translucent. The Exp. 10 rules  state that only a normal meeple is allowed to be an acrobat. Is it allowed to place a phantom in an acrobat pyramid?

[A1.1] It is not allowed to place a phantom as an acrobat in a pyramid. As stated in the rules, only the standard normal meeples are allowed.



[Q1.2] The Phantom rules state that (see highlighted sentence in the German rules and the equivalent English rules below): "The Phantom can also be used alone and always counts as a normal follower." So using an phatom as an acrobat seems to break this rule then. Is this correct?

[A1.2] Even though the phantom is considered as a normal meeple, it's still a phantom. The Exp. 10 rules state precisely that no other meeple can be put there, no exceptions.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2021, 05:48:08 AM by Meepledrone »

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Baron Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 3572
  • Merit: 209
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Sending a meeple to Leipzig

[Q2] A meeple is on a road connected to Leipzig through several crossroads with a village (see image below). Can this meeple be sent to Leipzig?

[A2] The English rules state "a village", but it should be villages. So, you can send the meeple
to Leipzig in this case. The German version of the rules is more precise in the wording.

Offline DIN0

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Merit: 15
  • Carcassonne is only complete with 11th expansion:)
    • View Profile
The Phantom clarification is quite shocking. Definately goes against rational gaming intuition. It would seem that the acrobat pyramids have extra specific requirements, and go above any other feature in terms of strictness.

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Baron Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 3572
  • Merit: 209
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Yep... I think nobody will like it, but it is their prerrogative to do things like this.

They did something similar with the ringmaster: you can only get the ringmaster bonus if it is placed on a road, in a city, on a monastery or in a field... You place it on an abbey: no ringmaster bonus, you place it on a German cathedral: no ringmaster bonus... Our response at the moment was "Whaaat?". More or less they told us they decided to do so to spare themselves from thinking about all the special cases (Exp. 8 castles, German castles, you name it...). A bit sad.

At a certain point they said, they may rethink some of their decisions... I am waiting around the corner to ask them what happens when your ringmaster is on a city segment or a road on double-sized tile... You are a regular feature but the geometry of the tile does not match the one expected in the Exp. 10 rules... Mwahahahah!  >:D

Offline DIN0

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Merit: 15
  • Carcassonne is only complete with 11th expansion:)
    • View Profile
I actually recently thought about some new questions which I believe have never been answered. I will make a new topic for it.

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Baron Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 3572
  • Merit: 209
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Shoot! That is an interesting subject!  ;D

Offline DIN0

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Merit: 15
  • Carcassonne is only complete with 11th expansion:)
    • View Profile
Well thanks  ;D

Offline corinthiens13

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 664
  • Merit: 41
    • View Profile
    • Order of play in french with every major expansions, mini expansions and promo tiles :
Thanks for those clarifications.

Well... Should this phantom restriction also apply to the WoF's crown, towers, fliers, magic portals, and 20 anniversary arrow meeple placement?
Order of play in french with every major expansions, minis and promos:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=346

Divider cards for CI & CII both in French & English:
http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=535

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Baron Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 3572
  • Merit: 209
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
So far, the only limitation is placing it as an acrobat... The general rules for the phantom should apply elsewhere fo the time being.


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Clarification of rules (halflings & double-sized tiles) - with HiG - 21 01 2021

Started by Meepledrone

85 Replies
3219 Views
Last post March 16, 2021, 06:21:22 AM
by corinthiens13
xx
Clarification of rules (fields & magic portals) - with HiG - 29 01 2021

Started by Meepledrone

9 Replies
421 Views
Last post January 31, 2021, 11:21:18 AM
by DIN0
xx
Clarification of rules (roads, bridges, inns & tollhouses) - with HiG - 05 01 2021

Started by Meepledrone

4 Replies
387 Views
Last post January 06, 2021, 04:21:09 AM
by Meepledrone
xx
Acrobats animals and phantoms

Started by aenima

25 Replies
5231 Views
Last post September 10, 2017, 12:59:30 AM
by aenima
xx
Clarification of rules (Castles, wagons and abbeys) - with HiG - 01 02 2021

Started by Meepledrone

9 Replies
477 Views
Last post February 24, 2021, 12:26:49 AM
by Bumsakalaka