Author Topic: The Barber-Surgeons questions  (Read 1908 times)

Offline aenima

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 766
  • Merit: 36
  • !!!
    • View Profile
The Barber-Surgeons questions
« on: December 23, 2018, 05:37:51 AM »
Hellooooo!!!

First game with this expansion... It's very difficoult to play with and here some questions:

1 - does the Abbot go to the Barber-Surgeons fter scoring if they are free?
2 - it's clear that if there is a Barber-Surgeons on a city or street, the follower who takes the points from these takes also the points written on the barber-surgeons. But after? does the same follower go in a barber-surgeons?
3 - can I take back a follower from the barber-surgeons with a Festival tile?
4 - what happens at the end of the game?

thanky you and marry christmas!!!  O0

Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=4168.0

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Baron Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 3572
  • Merit: 209
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: The Barber-Surgeons questions
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2018, 08:07:18 AM »
Hellooooo!!!

First game with this expansion... It's very difficoult to play with and here some questions:


Hello and Merry Christmas!!!

The Wikicarpedia (http://wikicarpedia.com) provides some clarifications on the basic rules and the interaction of The Barber-Surgeons and The Festival on the following pages:  ;D

http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Barber-Surgeons
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Festival

Anyway, I reply to your questions one at a time.

Helloooo1 - does the Abbot go to the Barber-Surgeons fter scoring if they are free?

YES, the abbot goes to a free bathhouse, if available. Please check footnote #1 at http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Barber-Surgeons#cite_note-1 for more details.

2 - it's clear that if there is a Barber-Surgeons on a city or street, the follower who takes the points from these takes also the points written on the barber-surgeons. But after? does the same follower go in a barber-surgeons?

YES, if there is an empty bathhouse and the meeple is alone on the scored road or city. Nevertheless this meeple could be spared from the bathhouse if additional features were completed and you, as the player placing the tile, decide the scoring order of the features so other meeple (yours or from another player ;) ) is taken to the available bathhouse.

A meeple is alone if  there is no other meeple from the same player or from another player on the feature. Note that if a builder was on the scored city or road too, it would not interfere with the meeple moving to the bathhouse as the builder is not a meeple. Please check footnote #1 at  http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Barber-Surgeons for more details.

3 - can I take back a follower from the barber-surgeons with a Festival tile?

YES, as per The Festival rules, any of the player's figures on the playing area can be retrieved, so bathhouses are included. Please, check footnote #4 at http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Festival.

4 - what happens at the end of the game?

thanky you and marry christmas!!!  O0

The Barber-Surgeons rules do not describe any actions regarding the end of the game or the final scoring. This suggests that meeples still trapped in bathhouses at the end of the game will not be involved in any scoring. You only remove them when scoring - No other action on them is possible as you don't place any more tiles or meeples. 

Hope this helps...

Again, Merry Christmas!

Cheers!
« Last Edit: April 12, 2020, 05:32:10 AM by Meepledrone »
Questions about rules? Check WICA: wikicarpedia.com

Offline aenima

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 766
  • Merit: 36
  • !!!
    • View Profile
Re: The Barber-Surgeons questions
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2018, 02:37:27 PM »
thank you again! :)

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Baron Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 3572
  • Merit: 209
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: The Barber-Surgeons questions
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2020, 03:57:10 PM »
Helloooo1 - does the Abbot go to the Barber-Surgeons fter scoring if they are free?

YES, the abbot goes to a free bathhouse, if available. Please check footnote #1 at http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/The_Barber-Surgeons#cite_note-1 for more details.

I happend to re-read this topic by chance and wanted to add a remark.

* When scoring the abbot normally after completing a monastery or a garden it will comply with the rules and actions defined by The Barber-Surgeons. So, if there is a free bathhouse, and the abbot is alone on the feature (no other meeple landed with a flying machine, for example), then abbot will go to the free bathhouse.

* When removing and scoring the abbot before the monastery or garden is completed, then this scoring happens in phase 2. Placing a Meeple. Since it happens before phase 3. Scoring a feature, where the Barber-Surgeons actions associated to scoring take place, the abbot will elude going to any free bathhouse.

You can see the turn sequence in detail involving all these events here:
http://wikicarpedia.com/index.php/Order_of_Play

Offline Nazarentsy

  • Labourer
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Merit: 0
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: The Barber-Surgeons questions
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2021, 04:45:35 AM »
Hello!

Can I take back a follower from the barber-surgeons with a Plague of The Wheel of Fortune? And with a flea token of expansion “The Plague”?

Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Baron Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 3572
  • Merit: 209
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: The Barber-Surgeons questions
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2021, 10:04:03 AM »
Hello!

Can I take back a follower from the barber-surgeons with a Plague of The Wheel of Fortune? And with a flea token of expansion “The Plague”?

There is no explicit clarification for these interactions. Let see each case separately...

In the case of the Plague action of the WoF, the rules indicate that you remove a meeple from a tile, but not meeples on special areas such as the crown of the Wheel of Fortune. This means that a meeple trapped in a batthouse, since it is a feature located on a regular tile, could be removed by the Plague action.

On the other hand, Plague tokens affect all the meeples on a tile. This would also include meeples trapped in a bathhouse.

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 990
  • Merit: 8
  • Fan of Fan expansions
    • View Profile
    • www.scifi.sk
Re: The Barber-Surgeons questions
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2021, 11:05:10 PM »
Hmm what about Meeples traped on Sólovej Razboynik or Vodyanoy tiles?

Odoslané z SM-A202F pomocou Tapatalku


Offline Meepledrone

  • Global Moderator
  • Baron Chevalier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 3572
  • Merit: 209
  • It is full of... Meeples!!!
    • View Profile
Re: The Barber-Surgeons questions
« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2021, 03:38:17 AM »
It would be the same for all features placed on a tile for both cases... except probably one, Exp. 8 castles, where the logic may differ.

* The Plague action of the WoF would allow you to remove meeples placed in castles, as indicated in the clarifications by Christian Hermann. See the the Rules FAQ covering the basic game and Exp. 1 to 8 here:
https://sites.google.com/site/carcassonnefanseite/regeln-zu-mini-erweiterungen

* The flea tokens of The Plague would not affect meeples placed in castles.

I would like to validate the first point with HiG just in case. Another point I would like to clarify for the sake of consistency is the following: if the Plague action does not allow players to remove meeples from the crown of the WoF, other special areas (namely the cities of Carcassonne and Leipzig) should also be excluded from this action, right?  ;)
« Last Edit: May 12, 2021, 02:11:56 AM by Meepledrone »

Offline Bumsakalaka

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 990
  • Merit: 8
  • Fan of Fan expansions
    • View Profile
    • www.scifi.sk
Re: The Barber-Surgeons questions
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2021, 10:04:29 PM »
Yop. Also market of Lepzig

Odoslané z SM-A202F pomocou Tapatalku



Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
The Barbarian Report: Barber Baths of Bonusville (The Barber-Surgeons)

Started by Whaleyland

5 Replies
1511 Views
Last post January 17, 2019, 03:51:33 AM
by Whaleyland
xx
Abbey Questions

Started by rbanks88

5 Replies
755 Views
Last post July 14, 2020, 11:16:11 AM
by rbanks88
xx
Some Questions from obervet03 and my Answers about the Minis

Started by kettlefish

15 Replies
7702 Views
Last post February 26, 2013, 12:20:03 PM
by Carcking
question
Map-Chips: USA West and East - Questions

Started by grid96

3 Replies
412 Views
Last post November 11, 2020, 11:35:09 AM
by Meepledrone
xx
Carcassonne South Sea - rules questions

Started by Khonnor

6 Replies
6822 Views
Last post December 11, 2013, 05:57:06 AM
by Khonnor