Author Topic: Get the Abbott back when a Cloister is finished?  (Read 2966 times)

Offline IrrationalDesign

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Merit: 0
  • I have updated my profile!
    • View Profile
Get the Abbott back when a Cloister is finished?
« on: December 17, 2017, 09:19:56 AM »
Hello,

When you place an abbot on a Cloister, it turns into a monk, correct? Does this mean the abbot-monk returns to your posession automatically after a Cloister gets finished/surrounded, or can you only get an abbot-monk back in a turn in which you don't place another meeple?

Apologies if this has been asked before, I looked but couldn't find an answer.

Linkback: https://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=3706.0

Offline danisthirty

  • (not thirSty!)
  • Administrator
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • Posts: 6706
  • Merit: 264
  • "First to 4 points wins?"
    • View Profile
Re: Get the Abbott back when a Cloister is finished?
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2017, 11:04:26 AM »
Welcome to the forums! :(y)

I don't know what the rules say as mine are in German, but I would expect to be able to take an Abbot back from a completed cloister. I think it's only if the cloister (or garden) is incomplete that it costs you your "place the wood" part of your turn to get him back.

But I'm sure someone will be able to provide an answer with the appropriate amount of supporting evidence! ;)

Offline Vinçon

  • Vassal
  • *****
  • Posts: 74
  • Merit: 5
  • Why you have to be mad?
    • View Profile
Re: Get the Abbott back when a Cloister is finished?
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2017, 11:31:34 AM »
I'm playing the new editions and, as far as I know, the abbot acts as a regular monk when a cloister is finished.

Offline Decar

  • Global Moderator
  • Chatelain Grand Officier
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 6163
  • Merit: 275
  • Shut up and take my money!
    • View Profile
    • tehill.net
Re: Get the Abbott back when a Cloister is finished?
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2017, 11:43:53 AM »
You can read the rules here:

https://images-cdn.zmangames.com/us-east-1/filer_public/14/af/14af825c-9879-42b8-851d-35ce41df7767/carcassonne-supplement.pdf

Instead of placing a meeple, you can recall your Abbot from a Garden or a cloister.  The Abbot scores for each surrounding tile and the tile with the cloister/garden on it.

From the PDF:

The abbot also has another special ability. On your turn during action 2 (Placing a meeple), if you decide not to place a meeple, you are allowed to take back your abbot.
If you do so, you score as many points as the abbot is worth at that time, exactly like an end game monastery final scoring.

This is the advantage of the Abbot, it allows you to still score points when your regular meeple might not be able to.

Offline IrrationalDesign

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Merit: 0
  • I have updated my profile!
    • View Profile
Re: Get the Abbott back when a Cloister is finished?
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2017, 01:29:48 AM »
Thanks Danisthirty for the welcome, and others for their replies!

I read the rules, both my own and the page linked by Decar, and I'm still left with my original question unanswered (or at least without evidence)... The Abbott 'scores' like normal monk meeple, but does he also return to my posession automatically after I finish surrounding his flowerbeds/Cloister or can I only get him back by not placing another meeple?
« Last Edit: December 18, 2017, 01:32:03 AM by IrrationalDesign »

Offline Sinscerly

  • Viscount
  • ****
  • Posts: 773
  • Merit: 30
  • Loving to play.
    • View Profile
    • WikiCarpedia - Wiki-CAR
Re: Get the Abbott back when a Cloister is finished?
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2017, 01:43:55 AM »
I have played once CII as a friend of my has that version. And if it is completely surrounded than it scores immediately.
But I'm not sure so let's see the rules ;D ;)

Also there is this great rulebook O:-) , made by some of the members here. (You can also use Decar's link, wich is only the base game rules)
Downloadable here: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=292

Quote from: S-CAR
If the cloister or garden occupied by your abbot is surrounded by eight tiles, you score 9
points just like during a regular cloister scoring. Gardens are scored exactly like cloisters,
except only an abbot may be placed on gardens.

It says as regular.  ???
So a normal cloister we maymust take the monk of the cloister even if someone scores it for us. With the abbot it is the same then. ^-^
Edit: for grammar mistake :-[
« Last Edit: December 18, 2017, 04:44:32 AM by Sinscerly »
"What things can you find? Things that are hidden?
In for a new league?: 2021 New league?
Do you know The WikiCarpedia?

Offline Hounk

  • Baron
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
  • Merit: 15
  • I haven't updated my profile yet!
    • View Profile
Re: Get the Abbott back when a Cloister is finished?
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2017, 03:35:00 AM »
Scoring in Carcassonne always includes, that you get the meeple back. (Even in end game scoring, although in this case just for clarity, which features have already been scored.)

Offline Just a Bill

  • Marquis
  • ***
  • Posts: 475
  • Merit: 47
  • I'm still in beta.
    • View Profile
Re: Get the Abbott back when a Cloister is finished?
« Reply #7 on: December 18, 2017, 04:23:08 AM »
You not only may take the abbott back, but you  must. Figures may not remain on finished, scored features... unless some particular expansion rule were to specifically say that they do.

Imagine what would happen if the abbot scored his full nine points but remained on the cloister. Later on, the player would want to use his special rule to remove him and score another nine points. Clearly that wouldn't be right.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2017, 04:30:41 AM by Just a Bill »
My stuff: The Caverns of Carcassonne | Wheel of Fortune versions | True North (wind roses) | Icon facelifts | Converting CII to CI | Signposts & the Château | The Vault | Riverboats & the Whirlpool | trade list

Offline IrrationalDesign

  • Vagabond
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Merit: 0
  • I have updated my profile!
    • View Profile
Re: Get the Abbott back when a Cloister is finished?
« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2017, 06:58:15 AM »
Thanks all, it seems there's a clear consensus on what the rules dictate.  :(y)


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via furl Share via linkedin Share via myspace Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via technorati Share via twitter

  Subject / Started by Replies / Views Last post
xx
Cloister near another cloister

Started by Tani Mai

7 Replies
4911 Views
Last post November 03, 2014, 06:48:47 AM
by Tani Mai
xx
Finished some new tuckboxes.. and my collection!

Started by ooh_jim

11 Replies
5881 Views
Last post April 08, 2017, 09:42:43 AM
by ooh_jim
clip
Carcassonne II: When can i get abbot back?

Started by sunnychan16

4 Replies
4266 Views
Last post November 04, 2016, 11:19:32 AM
by Fritz_Spinne
xx
PSA: Cundco now stock alt coloured abbotts (also: WTB Grey abbott)

Started by ooh_jim

10 Replies
5726 Views
Last post February 15, 2016, 02:10:36 AM
by ARabidMeerkat
xx
Abbott as regular meeple?

Started by HeyJude01

1 Replies
1413 Views
Last post September 01, 2019, 10:49:15 PM
by Meepledrone